We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kynance House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 164: English reviews
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, restricted off road parking but better than parking in the road. Great breakfast, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Walking distance to local restaurants, cafes and pubs. Close to the Hoe with great views and walks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the review John. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you liked our breakfast. We can't wait until your next visit.

Wallington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Absolutely amazing customer service!!!! The manager was lovely and really went that extra mile to deliver a fantastic service. Lovely, helpful and friendly. Very grateful for the extra help and will be staying here when next in Plymouth!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgia_Naldrett
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, Georgia. We can't wait until your next visit. Have a great New Year!

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Kynance house Plymouth. Is a nice friendly place. Extremely polite always willing help and make laugh. Kynance makes me feel at home. I keep going back. Kynance house review is excellent 5+* from me. Keep up the good work Kynance ☺☺

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona-rose123
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review - it's always nice to hear from regular guests! We re all looking forward to your next visit.

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

One night stay with a group of friends. Was worried about what I would find after reading previous posts. I shouldn't have worried the room was clean and tidy. Obviously its a fairly old building so everything was not going to be perfect but for our purpose (night out in Plymouth to celebrate a birthday) it was a decent place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PIJK D
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We are all glad that you stayed here with us - it's true that reviews are totally subjective, so it's good that you chose to come here and see for yourself. It was good that you all enjoyed your stay here and, when you are planning for the next big...

Horndean, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Kynance recently and it's an experience I would rather forget! The hotel was dated and smelled musky and dirty. Our room was absolutely filthy, with stains on the floor and surfaces, dirty curtains and a broken window. Our room didn't get cleaned and we weren't given more tea or coffee - we didn't even get clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth1296
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, although, from what you have written, I find it difficult to believe that you stayed here with us, as, from the list of your problems, I would have thought that you would have talked to any of my many members of staff about your concerns, as they do seem...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Like stepping back in time, this place hasn't been decorated or had any new furniture probably since it was opened in the 50's. Our room had a broken window catch, smelt musty, had old mis-matched furniture, looked tatty, had blood on the shower room wall and most certainly was not worth the £75 per night. How this place continues to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _ingrid_wright11
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us, although some of your comments make difficult reading, as we always hope that our guests enjoy their stay with us. To answer a few of your many comments -we do not provide anything other than soap in the bathrooms because of the potential allergy problems with our guests - if we had known that you...

Wimborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

What a perfect B&B ,we went for an overnight stay in Plymouth to visit our daughter at Uni.We wanted a place that would take dogs too! We have a small well behaved dog and wanted the perfect place near The Hoe for walking him. This place was absolutely perfect! The staff and owners were so welcoming, nothing was too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsfenemore
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us - I will pass your comments on to our housekeeping and kitchen staff - we always let them know when they have been singled out for praise. It was lovely having you stay here and we all look forward to your return visit.

Reviewed 1 November 2016

The only good thing about this place was the fact we could take the dog. This place was poor, the sheets seemed clean but everything else was not worth the money, the door did not shut properly, neither did the window that was on ground floor and in the car park, there was old water in the kettle that made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review - It seems as though you didn't enjoy your stay here with us very much and I am sorry about that, although I'd like to address your comments. After checking the door and shower in your room, they are both in perfect condition, as is the window which, as you...

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay very friendly Thoroughly recommend Great place to visit travelled down from Buxton Recommended local placed to see and visit Will stat there again when going down to see the boats. Welcome Hosts

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - it's lovely to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us, and I'm glad we were able to help you with the vinegar factory! Although it is a long way to travel, we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic Wee BB such a welcoming, relaxed environment. The staff especially John and the two females in kitchen so courteous. Very clean, old traditional style house but great value for money & the breakfast is great. Thanks John for having us. R&G

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillyv7
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us. We are all so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we are all glad that the Passing Out parade for your son went so well and that we were able to set you up for the day with our breakfast. Although we are a long way from you, it would be great...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
731 reviews
0.4 km away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#7 of 83 in Plymouth
221 reviews
0.4 km away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#3 of 83 in Plymouth
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#6 of 83 in Plymouth
267 reviews
2.0 km away
The Phantele Bed & Breakfast
0.1 km away
Ashgrove House
Ashgrove House
#70 of 83 in Plymouth
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kynance House is a 3 star, family run Bed and Breakfast based on The Hoe, Plymouth. We have 26 comfortable en-suite rooms to offer, with free, unlimited, in room wifi and a delicious breakfast is also included in the price. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kynance House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 107-113 Citadel Road | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $78 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kynance House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kynance House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kynance Hotel Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kynance House Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kynance House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask the staff they will always help you.”
 of 5 bubbles Suebagger, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book somewhere else!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Bayleywillow, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“location overlooking car park at back”
 of 5 bubbles prossersonia, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in room 11 overlooking car park - was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Teresa3265, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Im sure staff will allocate the best room available”
 of 5 bubbles westie38, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5