We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Firs Guest House

Booking.comUSD 76*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Firs Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Firs Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 40: English reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Arrived very late and left very early so can't comment on service or breakfast. It was cheap compared to other city venues, but dated rooms. There is better value to be had if you stay over the river in Torpoint in my experience.

Thank Joe S
Reviewed 14 July 2015

I stayed for one night on business. Everything about this place was average, also the bed was uncomfortable, and the pillows were hard. The fried breakfast was greasy. The location is good though. I will not stay here again.

Thank SouthamptonMaggot
sassy W, Owner at Firs Guest House, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't not enjoy your stay. Regarding the breakfast every thing is grilled other than mushrooms are cooked in butter and oil . There are four different chooses regarding how you would like your eggs cooked. We pride ourselves on our cooked breakfast

Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Check in is after 5pm, we arrived after a full day on the Hoe at 6 pm. Host very helpful. Clean double room with en-suite. Comfortable big bed. Tea making facilities. Room on top floor was quiet. Nice hot breakfast plenty of choice, cereals and juice available. Close to the Hoe with children's play park next door. There is scaffolding...

Thank Robert M
sassy W, Owner at Firs Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Glad you enjoyed your stay. we have since up graded the bed in the room you stayed in to a large king size bed. The scaffolding is scheduled to be removed on 2nd July . My husband has been working very hard painting the front of the house for the last month . If you happen to visit again...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

Booked via Hotels.com.for a single room Expected a single bed and shared bathroom but was pleasantly suprised to find I had a double bed ensuite Not sure if it was the oweners or hotels.com that changed it but thank you especially as I only paid £35 for the room Nice room, comfy bed and a nice shower Breakfast was very...

1Thank jeffgilla
sassy W, Owner at Firs Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you or the lovely review. We sometimes put guest in double en-suite room if we have rooms available. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

Last minute booking at the firs due to a call out in the plymouth region what can I say read the reviews and feared the worst. However was met with a smile and and happy even though I checked in at quarter to nine rare I get a smile from a bed and breakfast when I check in that late....

2Thank Peter B
Reviewed 2 November 2014 via mobile

We had a one night stay here for my husband's sisters graduation. The location is good. Not far from the water front and not to much of a walk from the city centre. We had an en suite room which was ok. The room was basic with tea and coffee making facilities and the bed was clean and comfortable. The...

Thank Obmik22
thefirsguesthouse, Owner at Firs Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Just replying to your review, Just to inform you we do not have any dark furniture in any of the rooms.We only have light pine furniture . All rooms have been freshly painted in magnolia . we recently on September 9th 2014 had a over night stay from the AA hotel inspector and the Hotel inspector was delighted with...

Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

The booking was incorrect. We book an en suite but upon arrival were told thet the roon was a single with no bathroom. We were moved the next day after dealing with hotwls . Com who also booked another room of ours at an incorrect price. The breakfast was not full English like expected but international and cold. The service...

Thank amerikano89
sassy W, Owner at Firs Guest House, responded to this review

sorry so long responding. When the booking was made on line a booked a standard double room was booked. A couple days before your stay gentleman telephoned who said he was a friend of yours and had booked the room for you and asked if it was ok to bring a travel cot I said that was fine . When...

Brittany, France
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We arrived late at night after a long ferry trip , and received a very warm welcome. The two bedrooms were spotlessly clean, and the owner went out of her way to make us comfortable. If you are looking for a B and B with ultra modern, sleek decor, and a sniffy, neutral atmosphere, then this Bed and Breakfast isn't...

1Thank Frances M
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This accommodation has to pass a health check this month; it needs to! Highly priced for what was on offer. Friendliness does not count for a lot in the 21st Century, when the state of the place is jaded, dull and questionably clean.(Carting luggage up 3 flights of stairs after a long journey is not awe inspiring): I certainly don't...

Thank Deke7777
sassy W, Owner at Firs Guest House, responded to this review

Your brother Derek booked the room for both of you . I did explain to him the room was at the top of the house. Your brother had previously booked and stayed on a regular basis at The Firs. The room you stayed in had just had, had a complete refurbishment en-suite shower room fitted . Your comments on expecting...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here last week, very last minute. The guest house were extremely accommodating, great value for money, clean and very friendly. They got up early to serve us an excellent breakfast as we had an early start. Would definitely stay there again. Thanks!

Thank melted1975

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (1)
Room/Suite (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 km away
George Guest House
George Guest House
#44 of 78 in Plymouth
31 reviews
0.0 km away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#15 of 78 in Plymouth
94 reviews
0.1 km away
Old Pier House
Old Pier House
#35 of 78 in Plymouth
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Poppy's Guest House
Poppy's Guest House
#6 of 78 in Plymouth
156 reviews
0.1 km away
The Moorings Guest House
The Moorings Guest House
#30 of 78 in Plymouth
91 reviews
0.3 km away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#7 of 78 in Plymouth
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Firs Guest House

Address: 13 Pier Street | West Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $77 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Firs Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Firs Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Firs Guest House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Wells, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Firs Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms ok, very quiet. The hotel rating doesn't work, excellent on Service, Cleanliness and Sleep Quality.”
kimjones619, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the top of the house are the best!”
369KimG, 9 Sep 2012 | Read review
“have a chat with Leslie and Tony and describe to them what do you need in advance so they can help you to feel more comfortable at your stay there!”
JacquelineInstone, 29 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Talk it over with Lesley.”
Susan1953Pinder, 24 Sep 2011 | Read review
“Book into another place”
irisgorgeous, 3 May 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
USD 76* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 76
PricelineUSD 76
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates