We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Start your review of Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins
 Click to rate
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Cabins very small. The one we were in slept six but it was just my husband and I wouldn't have liked six in there not enough room. Dogs must be on leads at all times so restricted. Fabulous walks though. Wouldn't stay longer than a week.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 310,153
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolute rip off. Shower was supposedly checked. Nothing more than a drip couldn't have met hygiene regs. People were very rude and always trying to get their small charge. Avoid at all costs. You have to pay upfront for your stay and if you no longer need the lodge like myself there is no way of a refund or a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrevans1987
churchwood, Owner at Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins, responded to this review

We wondered if you would post a review, as it is some time since you left. The facts are that you booked a three-night stay with us while you were doing a job nearby. When that fell through, you wanted to leave and asked for a refund or to use the unused two days later. As our reception staff politely...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to Churchwood Valley many times and we are going again in June 2017. The people who run it are very helpful and friendly, the cabins are always clean and well set-up, it is great for the dog, and we will carry on going back for years to come. Don't go if you don't like birds - there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackrobson97
churchwood, Owner at Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, we are delighted that you enjoy your holidays with us. We are indeed a haven for wildlife and we have guests who return year after year and love their break in such a peaceful, natural setting. We look forward to seeing you again in June.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my family have visited Churchwood Valley for 30 years and not once have we been disappointed. The cabins are well equipped and comfortable with everything you could need to relax, sleep and eat for your holiday. Beds comfortable and living areas cosy, plenty warm enough or heaters provided if you feel the cold. Oven, Microwave and fridge with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
churchwood, Owner at Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins, responded to this review

What a wonderful review! Thank you, you have perfectly summed up what makes Churchwood such a popular holiday destination. We do appreciate feedback from our guests. Here's to the next 30 years!

Wimborne,Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We have just returned from a family get together at Churchwood Valley. I believe this was our 40th year. We have had holidays with up to 4 generations and celebrated some big anniversaries and birthdays here. This time 4 of us stayed in the Garden Lodge and 2 slept on High Road. The Lodge is comfortable, well furnished, well equipped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennie K
churchwood, Owner at Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins, responded to this review

That you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry if you found the dishwasher on the small side. We do appreciate customer feedback and will take your comments onboard. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights in March with my young dog. The A2+ cabin was very comfortable, clean and was appropriately equipped. The price, I thought, was very good for the accommodation. The patio area is a real bonus and I managed to sit out for a while even in March. The staff and owners are most attentive and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
churchwood, Owner at Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Churchwood is a popular holiday spot for dog owners, and the walks are wonderful. We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us, and hope that you will be tempted to visit again soon.

Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

I hate to write this review as the owners and staff were super friendly and accommodating when we booked, however as seasoned Holiday Park Managers ourselves, we were seriously disappointed and concerned about the conditions on this park and the standard of the lodge we stayed in. We know it was end of season but paid a reasonable price for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MountainsToClimb
Sam S, Front Office Manager at Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins, responded to this review

It sounds to me from reading this review that you had a bad journey. Churchwood is off the beaten track but most people find our instructions are clear and easy to follow and they find the site map is straightforward too. Street lights are deliberately low key and downward facing so as not to cause light pollution. The outside light...

Reviewed 4 January 2017

we stayed here over New Year with two teenagers and two dogs. The cabin was one of the cleanest holiday lets I have stayed in and was well equipped with everything you might need, cooking utensils, pots and pans, etc. We also paid for a towel pack which was great and included tea towels, which we didn't expect. The beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debradeexx
churchwood, Owner at Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always appreciate customer feedback, but we would have been able to solve (almost) all the issues you raise if you had only mentioned them to us at the time. There are bins for dog waste (right next to the dog walking area, plus others), and we do...

Llangollen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting our son for Christmas. We rented a one bed cabin with 2 single beds. Our dog was welcomed at £5.00 extra. The Cabin cost £86.00 per night. The site is very sloppy but parking is available adjacent to the cabin. The cabin was very small, heating was on but we felt it would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davidcogan39
churchwood, Owner at Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am not sure if you booked via our website, or if the accommodation was booked for you by someone else, but our website and brochure both make it *very* clear that the site is hilly and that anyone with mobility problems should contact us so e can suggest the most suitable cabins. While the...

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

First time for us and the hound in Devon, from first to last we loved it, beautiful place, relaxed? So relaxed it's in last week :-) fantastic people, just the best UK holiday I've ever had, if you don't go there, honestly, it's your loss, brilliant place. :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean E
churchwood, Owner at Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review - thank you very much! Delighted that you, and your dog, enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon!

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.6 km away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 km away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
512 reviews
9.5 km away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,263 reviews
10.4 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,859 reviews
21.7 km away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Churchwood Valley is a beautiful, natural wooded valley running down to the sea at Wembury Bay in South Devon. Look closely and, hidden among the lush green foliage, you’ll see wooden cabins nestling on the hillside… A haven of peace within an environmental paradise, Churchwood Valley is a few minutes’ walk from a safe family beach and the South West Coast Path. If ‘getting away from it all’ is the most important part of your holiday – Churchwood Valley is for you. Each holiday cabin has its own plot on the hillside, surrounded by trees, flowering shrubs, hedges and rustic fences. By moving no further than your armchair, you’ll see delightful displays of bird life, and a trip to your private patio may well afford a glimpse of badgers, foxes, squirrels and other wildlife. There are no discos, bars or cafes – just rock pools, wildlife and breathtaking scenery. Secluded it may be, isolated it is not. Churchwood’s licensed shop sells a wide range of food and drink, beach toys, gifts and many other products, so you don’t even need to leave the site for those ‘essential’ items. We also have a fully equipped launderette. PLEASE NOTE: The naturally hilly landscape of Churchwood Valley means that only a few of our cabins are suitable for those who are disabled. If ease of access is important, please discuss this with our staff when making your reservation. MOBILE PHONES & WIFI: Due to the naturally hilly landscape, there is NO mobile phone coverage at Churchwood Valley. We do probide WIFI for a small fee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins

Address: Wembury Bay | Wembury, Plymouth PL9 0DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $96 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins Hotel Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Southampton
South Wales
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a pine lodge”
310153, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“All the cabins are lovely”
jackrobson97, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“If you are less mobile ask for advice when booking, some of the cabins would not be suitable.”
JennieK78, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to ask if mobility an issue”
  • view from cabin
  • view from cabin
  • kitchen
  • kitchen area
  • bathroom
  • bathroom
  • bathroom
waterbabe65, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Nearly all cabins are well situated but the site has some steep slopes”
arthur638, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
LateRooms.com
Booking.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates