We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

826 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 814: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Great bed and cosy, clean room. Towels lovely and fresh. Decor is a little dated and a facelift would help but this did not spoil our visit. The bar area could also do with a revamp.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazwo
Management response:

Dear kazwo, Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We appreciate your super comments on our room comfort and amenities. However, please accept my apology for any disappointment with various aspects of our décor. We are very aware of these current shortcomings but I am able to assure you that we are formulating fianl plans...

Polmont, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Poor hotel. Poor services and poor menus. In November in a cold spell and no heating before 6am. Hotels are supposed to be 24/7 this isn't. Response was basically "heating starts at 6" and that's your lot. Internet never went above 1.2Mbs and again that's what you have. The menus were boring and old fashioned (like the room!) and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steuart64
Management response:

Dear Steuart64, Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback on your recent experiences at our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apology for any discomfort you experienced with our current 24-hour heating plan. As we discussed on the telephone yesterday, we were clearly lacking in our selected timings with the current cold snap and as a result, we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night Saturday 19th November 16 . I had booked a club room initially at a cost of £132 for one night for two including breakfast. There was also an option to upgrade (if avaliable) to a delux room for just £6 extra. We arrived a little after one pm and check in was quick and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mattyc762
Management response:

Dear mattyc762, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a detailed response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your constructive feedback and we are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay. I am so pleased to read your comments on your room move and particularly delighted that you were able to enjoy one of our...

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel location is good for shopping, but it's by a busy dual carriageway and opposite a building site. The hotel furnishings are dated, but very clean and can't fault housekeeping. Check in was quick and easy, no problems there. My problem was noise coming from within the hotel, a dinner dance, I could hear all the music and DJ...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maston1967
Management response:

Dear maston1967, Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback on your recent experiences at our hotel. Although I am aware that Hannah has had conversation with you and arranged a mutually agreeable resolution, please accept my sincerest apology for the lapses in standards and noise disruption that you experienced during your stay. Please allow me to assure...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The hotel was modern and well appointed. The room was clean and in a good state. The shower was strong and hot. The bed was nice and comfy. Didn't have dinner there but the breakfasts were terrific for their buffet. Used the gym on both days and found...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin R
Management response:

Dear Kevin R, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback, particularly on our level of cleanliness and our breakfast offering. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust that you will stay with us again on your next visit...

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Copthorn hotel, Plymouth over the October half term and had a really nice time. The food was excellent and the staff was always polite and helpful. Our kids enjoyed every minute of their stay and would love to go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank srimal75
Management response:

Dear srimal75, Thank you for taking the time to submit a positive review after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback, especially on our food quality and staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Plymouth. Kind Regards, Trevor...

plymouth devon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the restaurant within the Copthorne Hotel last night and I have to say it was wonderful, the menu sounded delicious and the staff were attentive from start to finish. I ordered the duck terrine for starters and it was quite possibly one of the nicest starters I've had in years, I followed this with the pork cook 3...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank es30
Management response:

Dear es30, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent visit to our Bentleys Restaurant. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your meal with us so much as well as receiving such friendly and efficient service from our staff. I am particularly pleased...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked ahead and made a few requests.I have stayed here a few times and found it lacking in a number of areas. On check in I found the gentleman very helpful and accommodating And he happily moved my room as my son wanted a view of the fireworks.the room was clean,beds comfortable, room warm.I stayed on forth floor.I have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
Management response:

Dear Richard C, Thank you so much for your delightfully detailed review of our hotel after your recent stay. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us again, particularly the views of the fireworks from your room. I am particularly happy to see that you were able to see the improvements we have been making to...

Welwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whilst this might not be the most up-to-date hotel crammed with gadgets it is a lot, lot better than many of the reviews lead us to believe. We travelled by train and this hotel could hardly be better situated as it is a few minutes from the station towards the town centre - which is about 10 minutes away. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Management response:

Dear John D, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all of our guest's feedback as it assists us in maintaining consistent standards of service and hospitality. Please accept my apology for the unfortunate lapses in service attentiveness at breakfast during your stay. I am able to assure you with...

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel was clean staff very good and helpful didn't eat in the hotel so cant comment on the food it is in a good location although the parking was very hard to find there was one space outside the hotel witch i got but had to pay £7.50 for an overnight stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muriel m
Management response:

Dear muriel m, Thank you for your valuable feedback received after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your commentys and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apology for any inconvenience caused by our parking arrangements. We have a total of 60 parking bays within the hotel but they can occasionally be...

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,019 reviews
4.6 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,675 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
1,317 reviews
0.9 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
689 reviews
1.0 km away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bentley's Brasserie
Bentley's Brasserie
Cuisines: French, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Address: Copthorne Hotel Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 1AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $84 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Copthorne Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel Plymouth staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Plymouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Forth floor best views but ask to be on hoe side.”
 of 5 bubbles O2776LUrichardc, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Looking towards the sea and higher up.”
 of 5 bubbles U2829VWjohnd, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A place to stay if you want to be well looked after”
 of 5 bubbles victoriakeast, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“in the town centre”
 of 5 bubbles roy_clough46, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“South side corner rooms are larger and have 2 windows with good views.”
 of 5 bubbles ranjanm779, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay