We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

849 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 837: English reviews
Cornwall
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

A nice hotel which is perfectly located in Plymouth town centre so don't expect it to be quiet outside. Room was a little dated but clean and amazing shower. Good value for money although I hate it when a hotel charge you extra for parking in their own car park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noodleburger
Management response:

Dear Noodleburger, Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the showere in your room. However, please accept my apology for any frustration caused by our parking charge - this is unfortunately a nominal charge which we levy as return on our overall...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Quick and efficient check in, reception areas clean and tidy. We didn't try any of the facilities or eat at all so can't comment on them. The room was a bit dated but perfectly functional and clean (no peeling paint or anything like that just 90's style furnishing). Hot powerful shower, tea and coffee facilities. We were hardly at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
Management response:

Dear Kate K, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay - we trust that you equally enjoyed your night out. I am glad to read that you will stay with us again on your...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the second time I have been booked in to this awful hotel What a awful place,noisy,I was moved out of my room as the fan in the bathroom would not switch off,the secondary double glazing would not close fully. The room they moved me to there was a fridge in the room when the fridge switched on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denis-Carol
Management response:

Dear Denis-Carol, Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. Please accept my apology for your disappointment with the noise disruption caused by the extraction vent in the bathroom, the external city noise and the fridge in your room. Our central bathroom extractors are automated to run from 06h00 - 12h00 but I have asked my...

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 1 night for work. I paid the additional money for a club room and I'm not sure really what the extra money was for. The room was a good size and comfortable, but nothing special, just a usual bland city centre hotel. The view of the uni halls of residence construction site was a bit of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iro999
Management response:

Dear iro999, Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. I sincerely appreciate your detailed feedback and I am disappointed that we evidently did not meet your expectations in a number of areas. Please accept my apology for your disappointment with aspects of our club room package. I am particulalrly disappointed to read of the unfortunate...

Gower Peninsula, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Twin room was comfortable, breakfast buffet very good. Windows open, so you can regulate the temperature! Location is great for city centre, its right opposite the University. Parking on site to (for a little extra).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
Management response:

Dear Martin C, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback, particularly on our breakfast and location. I am glad to see that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust that you will stay with us again...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a one night stay at the Copthorne with friends. There is a charge for parking which had not been mentioned when we booked and I haven’t found any mention of it on the website. We were first aware of it when we drew up at the security gate to the underground car park where there is a notice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonja P
Management response:

Dear Sonja P, Thank you very much for your wonderfully detailed review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all of your constructive feedback as it will assist us in maintaining our standards of service and hospitality. Thank you most of all for your kind compliments on our staff (although somewhat over zealous in serving your brreakfast...

Epping, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Central location and nice rooms. Lovely breakfast and restaurant staff very nice BUT if wedding on the lobby and ground floor are busy and noisy . Not too sure it is very assessable for wheel chairs or prams

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PDent2014
Management response:

Dear PDent2014, Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely apprecaite your kind compliments on on our rooms, location and particularly our staff and breakfast. However, please accept my apology for any noise disruption caused by the function we were hostin on our ground floor during your stay. I am able to assure you...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a wonderful trip to Plymouth for the children but I can't thank the staff enough for there kindness to my greatgrand-daughter.the staff in the breakfast room were marvellous and I can't fault them.thank you Copthorne I will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback, particularly on behalf of our staff; I am so glad that they contributed to your family's enjoyment of your Christmas break. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look...

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a really lovely night.no corners cut on the decor ,food was excellent,the staff worked hard.the disco was good.couldnt felt it at all.we live local but pushed the boat out with a stop over.glad we did.reasonably priced to.was not respecting it to be so good.down side was ,the dance floor was small,and a few gatecrashers came in from the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
Management response:

Dear Linda C, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response on your visit with us over the New Year. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and we are so glad to have contributed to a super celebration for you. We are delighted to see that we will be seeing you again later this year. Kind...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a three day break and we thoroughly enjoyed it ,the location is perfect everything is in walking distance.Our room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel also breakfast was delicious with a great choice of dishes .All the staff were very friendly and very professional.My only reason for the one star deduction is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendy p
Management response:

Dear wendy p, Thank you for your valuable feedback received after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apology for any inconvenience caused by our current WIFI quality. We are aware that this is an area that we need to upgrade and...

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,078 reviews
4.6 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,710 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
1,340 reviews
0.9 km away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
547 reviews
0.9 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bentley's Brasserie
Bentley's Brasserie
Cuisines: Bar, French, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Address: Copthorne Hotel Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 1AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $71 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Copthorne Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel Plymouth staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Plymouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you decide to stay select a room away from the busy road.”
 of 5 bubbles Denis-Carol, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor overlooking city.”
  • View towards Drake's Island, Plymouth Sound.
 of 5 bubbles 412davet, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is a bit tired and is getting done up but its always clean, central and friendly. Rooms are quiet and clean.”
 of 5 bubbles JG0nzalez, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Forth floor best views but ask to be on hoe side.”
 of 5 bubbles O2776LUrichardc, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Looking towards the sea and higher up.”
 of 5 bubbles U2829VWjohnd, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay