We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Hotels.comUSD 72*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

904 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 890: English reviews
Start your review of Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stay here weekly. Majority of staff are amazing, helpful and polite. However I have found a selected few are rather blunt and rude. Rooms are spacious and clean however have had issues with getting a twin instead of double room. As I'm told it's due to availability even though I have pre booked last year. The car parking is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzie B
Management response:

Dear Suzie B, Thnak you for posting a review after your recent stay with us. I am very appreciative of your positive feedback on the service and friendliness you have experienced from the "majority" of my staff as well as our convenient location and cleanliness. However, I am very disappointed to note the issues you have raised on the room...

Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at the Copthorne Hotel recently with my family for 3 nights. Unfortunately there were no family rooms, so we had 2 rooms. Not a massive issue and this did work to our advantage! Kids loved being in separate rooms phoning each other. The rooms are a good size with 2 single beds. The room also had 2 tub style...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dicpenderyn
Management response:

Dear Dicpenderyn, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive and detailed response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback, particularly on our staff (mairita in particular), our room standards and convenient location. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

5 of us stayed at The Copthorne Hotel in Plymouth for 3 nights this weekend, to visit friends in Plymouth. The buffet breakfast was amazing the staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and we will be going back there for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and we are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We trust that you will stay with us again on your return to Plymouth. Kind Regards, Trevor Vels | General...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here over the Easter weekend. Good location and clean. However the shower although not a 'power shower' to begin with deteriorated as each night/morning progressed to a trickle by the last day. Obviously the hamsters were tiring by then to keep the power going in their little wheels! This applied to the lighting also which made me hark back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave_and_Jules_10
Management response:

Dear Dave _and_Jules_10, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all of our guest's feedback as it assists us in maintaining consistent standards of service and hospitality. Please accept my apology for the unfortunate lapses in breakfast standards that occurred during your stay. I am able to assure you with...

Lanner, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After three trips around the roundabout finally managed to park and was greeted by a lovely receptionist, we were able to get into our room early which was a bonus and parked in the very secure car park.the hotel it's self is a little bit tired and in need of a bit of updating (don't we all) the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
Management response:

Dear Sharon L, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive and detailed response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and we are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay. I am so pleased to read that you so enjoyed your room and most particulalrly, your wonderful comments on our staff...

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is within a ten minute walk from the train station, and a couple of minutes into the shopping area.it was booked by my company so we had easy access to our conference venue. It was clean although a little dated in terms of bedroom decor. Staff were friendly overall, dining staff seemed new and under trained for their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel K
Management response:

Dear Hazel K, Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. I know my staff will be delighted to read your positive comments on their friendliness and service. However, please accept my apology for any frustration with our current parking access. The local council recently made significant changes to the one-way road system which has cut...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel staff are without a doubt amazing, very helpful, happy and nothing is too much. They where always friendly and always smiling 😀 The rooms however are very dated and need refreshing, it doesn't help with a new student building being built next door. If you are in a room facing the new student building whatch out for builders...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
Management response:

Dear Joanne S, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all of our guest's feedback as it assists us in maintaining consistent standards of service and hospitality. Thnak you very much for your kind compliments on our wonderful staff and their helpfulness and friendliness. I know they will all be...

bournemouth
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ideal location. Comfy bed, lovely shower. The staff could not be more helpful. Had a wonderful overnight stay for our anniversary. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, with good selection. The car parking area is small, but we had no problem parking and we were happy it was secure with cameras, underground, with access to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shrh
Management response:

Dear shrh, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a detailed and positive review after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your super feedback and we are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay. We trust that you will stay with us again on your return to Plymouth. Kind Regards, Trevor Vels | General Manager

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is located in the town centre, next door to a large Sainsburys. Its not the prettiest of locations or buildings, looks very worn outside and well over due for a make over inside. The staff were very welcoming and check in was efficient. I had a corner room with far reaching views of the Sainsburys car park and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SurreyMB
Management response:

Dear SurreyMB, Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your candid but very balanced feedback on your stay. We are very aware of our current shortcomings in respect of our dated decor and fully accept that we need to refurbish in most areas. However, I am able to assure you that this...

Bristol
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No point in posting a picture, it was just a curly in the sink. Washed it away job done. Other than that room was fine. TV had good reception. Shower was good, albeit the shower curtain bit flimsy. Noisy fridge so turned it off. Fan in the bathroom ran full tilt no oblivious way of turning it off. Breakfast busy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GuliverSantinni
Management response:

Dear GuliverSantinni, Thank you very much for your detailed review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all of our guest's feedback as it assists us in maintaining consistent standards of service and hospitality. However, please accept my apology for the unfortunate lapse in cleaning standards that you observed in your bathroom during your stay. I am...

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,233 reviews
4.6 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,823 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
583 reviews
0.9 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
739 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bentley's Brasserie
Bentley's Brasserie
Cuisines: Bar, French, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Address: Copthorne Hotel Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 1AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $95 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Copthorne Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel Plymouth staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Plymouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner rooms have fantastic views.”
shrh, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rear rooms are overlooked, front rooms face the main road”
Janboy21, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 135 is very drafty windows. Has 2 armchairs but too low for us. Older people could be stranded in them. Beds comfy.”
LymeLight, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The choice is Road or car park views we choose the car park which is quieter”
Goldiehawn, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“best view at 4th floors”
zetatan, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 72* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 72
AMOMAUSD 147
Booking.comUSD 73
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates