We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

North Cliff Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 118*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
North Cliff Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Start your review of North Cliff Hotel
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I spent the most marvellous and romantic few days here. The hotel is warm and intimate , with the best views and walks you can get. The owner, Kate, is charming and so helpful, as are her two lovely dogs. Rooms are small, but we loved everything about this place. The village and Lynmouth are welcoming. Do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
westcountry
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I like to be honest with my reviews we would have been happy with our stay if the price was slightly lower. In comparison to where we have previously stayed and what we usually pay we felt this was overpriced. Due to the small dated room in need of updating. However the bed was comfortable and we enjoyed a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kittenWestcountry
Cardonjajo, Owner at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding pricing. We try to remain critical of our pricing and throughout the year offer many discounts. For future reference you can always check directly with us (via our website or by calling) for the latest best offers, especially if last minute. Kind regards, Kate

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the apartment and it was lovely, we were asked if there was everything we required and there was, we even had tea, coffee, sugar and milk supplied so we could have a cuppa when we arrived. We asked if there was any board games provided and Kate went out of her way to buy a compendium of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte M
Cardonjajo, Owner at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely response. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the suggestion for the board games, I hope it will make a nice addition to our Penthouse apartment for future guests. Kind Regards, Kate

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location has a great view over the bay. That's where any positive stops. How anyone can charge £90 for a pit like we stayed in I have no idea. The room couldn't have been more basic. The carpet was cheap and thin. The mattress was cheap and soft and sprung springs. The room itself was at the back of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meMakan
Cardonjajo, Owner at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and that you weren't willing to raise these matters at the time as, for example, each room has its own heating controls and we might have been of assistance with the temperature. As an independent hotel we have to work very hard...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here this weekend with our dog and had a lovely time, Katie was great, took time to chat to us and I'm sure if we had a problem would of sorted it out straight away :-) Daisy our dog loved it too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kattowee
Cardonjajo, Owner at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely having you and Daisy to stay. Kind Regards Kate Alford

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel is right next to the top of the Lynton and Lynmouth railway and on the costal path to the Valley of the Rocks. We just left the car in the car park and can explore all of the local attractions with ease. The decor is a little dated, but this does not detract, and distinguishes it from a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavePuls
Cardonjajo, Owner at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Kind regards, Kate Alford

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

The views are lovely from our dual aspect room (photo) and ideal for cliff top walk to valley of the rocks. Plenty of parking and room was clean and good size. Separate room ideal with the kids. Shame about the scaffolding at the front of hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the_Geee
Cardonjajo, Owner at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we have had to put up the scaffolding due to unforeseen damage to the roof of the hotel. I am, however, glad to hear it didn’t interrupt your view too much. We are pleased to say it is not a permanent feature...

Reviewed 29 October 2016

Fantastic location, room had an amazing view of the sea. The breakfast was very good, you could have cereal form the selection cereals on the table or you could have a cooked full english breakfast (with the option of a vegetarian version, which was delicious!). The hotels garden led to the cliff railway. The hotel was very dog friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anika D
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Warm welcome. Room with beautiful sea view. Breakfast very nice, with very pleasant waitress. Definitely going back but with our dog this time. Would recommend..walks around the town lovely some very nice shops and pubs. Railway brilliant idea as hill very steep

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa S
wales
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night. Hotel has 'tired' decor but is very clean. Our room was small and bed was uncomfortable but the view was fantastic. Breakfast was served quickly and was hot and cooked well. Served by a very pleasant waitress. Lynton and Lynmouth are so pretty and we will visit again. Unlikely to stay at North Cliff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsmojoWales

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
317 reviews
0.1 km away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
482 reviews
0.2 km away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
448 reviews
0.3 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
228 reviews
1.6 km away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of The North Cliff Hotel. All our 11 en-suite rooms have some of the finest sea and coastal views in North Devon. Situated on The South West Coastal Path with the famous water powered Cliff Railway linking Lynton and Lynmouth passing within a few feet of the hotel. We welcome children, dogs and groups and have a car park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Price Range: $153 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Lynton
North Cliff Hotel Lynton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from North Cliff Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book this hotel :-)”
stevedes2015, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“free wifi is only in the public areas, not in rooms”
littlemoosqueak, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dog friendly and beautiful location”
raider101, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 2 although we had a small bathroom this was more than made up for by the comfort of the room and the stunning views.”
Hywelandlynne, 1 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Avoid being near room 10”
rumba50000, 15 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 118* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 122
Orbitz.comUSD 118
TripAdvisorUSD 118
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates