We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 9 hotels in Lynton

Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

534 reviews
Save
Traveller (227)
Room & Suite (61)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good35%
  • Average23%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
Free Internet
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Accessible rooms
Free Parking
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (534)Write a Review
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
90
177
125
83
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
90
177
125
83
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself driveentertainment every nightlovely old hotelsuperior roomvictorian hoteltv receptionweekend breakshower attachmentpublic roomsexcellent value for moneyold victorianlovely weekendplenty of choiceporridgelounge areastunning viewsmany thanks
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a Shearings hotel. Very good. We travelled from Stevenage in hertfordshire(With shearings by coach.) Long way for a weekend , but worth it. We were lucky with the weather. We roamed around the town and although most attractions were shut, (ie. The lift...More

Thank BPSHoliday
Response from JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks HotelResponded 2 days ago

We are pleased your recent weekend break was “very good” and our hotel was “well maintained”. We agree the “the hotel is very interesting” the amazing atrium in our main lounge, is a photographers delight. Thank you BPSHoliday, for taking the time to post your...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Last visited sept 2016 which was good but this visit in Nov 2017 for tinsel & turkey was very disappointing , rooms need checking, not enough room to get suitcase at end of bed to put on case shelf, and also tv on wall so...More

Thank mooch10
Response from JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks HotelResponded 3 days ago

We are sorry to hear you were not fully happy, with your recent stay with us. We allocated you one of our most recently refurbished rooms which has a flat screen TV fixed to the wall, you were not happy with this so we offered...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and and my mom have just returned from a lovely 4 day stay. The hotel has real charm, we had a large twin room that was beautiful decorated and lovely and warm. The bathroom did need updating (no shower only a bath) but other...More

Thank Rachel F
Response from JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

We are pleased your bedroom “was beautifully decorated and lovely and warm”. We are also pleased “the food was excellent and all the staff were very friendly and helpful”. Thank you Rachel F, for taking the time to post your 5 star review; we look...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What made this short break worthwhile were the stunning views, a seaview room is a must for this Hotel. It could have done with a bit of decorating in many areas. Food at breakfast was excellent, but dinner did let it down,the vegs left a...More

1  Thank dotty717
Response from JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

We are pleased that “breakfast was excellent “ and that you enjoyed the “stunning views”. We usually have excellent feedback, regarding our nightly evening entertainment. Rick Tucker (our entertainer on Friday evenings) is very popular with our guests – although Friday evening is not “New...More

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

we have been away to quite a few Bay hotels around the country and have always enjoyed them you get what you pay for and more,the food is adequate the rooms are ok and the entertainment is fine. We had 4 free drinks each on...More

1  Thank Phil B
Response from JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

We are really pleased you enjoyed the wonderful fireworks display; our sea view rooms have a brilliant view over Lynmouth bay. We are also pleased you were happy with the food, bedroom, entertainment and the four free drinks. Thank you Phil B for taking the...More

PreviousNext
123456107
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (227)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (3)
Hotel & Grounds (156)
Bathroom (11)
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 57 - USD 152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
USD 57 - USD 152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite