We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel

Show Prices
#17 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 337: English reviews
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I feel that this hotel is tired, even though some rooms have been upgraded. Rooms 1-15 had water leaks in the ceiling, the smell when you walk into the corridor is overpowering and cannot have only just happened. Previously a year ago approximately I stayed in room 15 and reported that there was a hole in the ceiling which looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolyn l
Rachel M, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn l, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I would like to sincerely apologize that the room you stayed in was not to Premier Inn's usual high standards. The leaks by room one and 15 were caused by the storms we had recently, please be assured that work has been arranged for...

San Francisco
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a night away and enjoyed it very much. Didn't even have to go outside to get from restaurant to the inn. Restaurant staff were good and curtious. Very impressed over all. Will definitely go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dean603
Rachel M, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi dean603, Thank you for your lovely review, I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Having the Beefeater attached to us is great, especially with how cold it is at the moment! We hope you choose to come and stay here again soon, we look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards Rachel Operations Manager Premier...

Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the third visit to this Hotel and it never fails to impress me. It does what it says on the tin. It is clean, accessible, ideally located an friendly. The restaurant is very nice and the Breakfasts were brilliant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chopper663
Rachel M, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Chopper663, Thank you for your recent review! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay, and found us clean, accessible, friendly and ideally located. I'm also very pleased you found your breakfast brilliant, Please be assured that i have passed on your positive feedback to the Restaurant and reception team! We hope you come and stay with us again soon, we...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I usually stay at a more expensive and more centrally located hotel when I stay in Exeter. Due to the disruption in the city centre caused by the recent terrible fire at the Royal Clarence hotel, I elected to stay further out on this occasion. Very pleased with the hotel. There is internal access to the associated Beefeater restaurant, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiddlyp0m
Rachel M, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review

Hello tiddlyp0m, Thank you for your review! I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your meal in the Beefeater! We're delighted you chose to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards Rachel Operations Manager Premier Inn Countesswear

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have stayed here on a few occasions whilst visiting Exeter. The location is very convenient, being just off the motorway and a few minutes from the city centre, and the free car parking is really handy. We had the meal deal for dinner and breakfast, which was great value, as was our room rate. The menu in the Beefeater...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
Rachel M, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Julie J! Thank you for your lovely review! We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, finding our location convenient and our rooms clean, modern and comfortable. I agree, the Meal Deal is great value for money, i'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast in the Beefeater, please be assured i have passed on your...

Bewdley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was well up to standards of Premier in in every way. The staff are good, rooms are excellent and it is a quiet location. There is a bus stop nearby with a regular buses direct to the town centre, so there is no need to use the car. There is plenty of car parking at the hotel. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roidesaline
Rachel M, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Roidesaline, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay! I'm delighted to hear you found our rooms excellent, our staff good, and our location quiet. I'm glad you made use of the bus service during your stay, it's a great way to get into the city centre! I'm sorry to hear you experienced problems connecting to...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Positives: New room decor with large flat screen tv Friendly & helpful staff Free wifi in hotel Quiet destination You can open the windows Negatives: No hook on bathroom door No ladies sanitary bags in bathroom TV tuned into Central TV region (not West Country) Over cooked jacket potato in Beefeater restaurant next door

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bettyboop20
Rachel M, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review

Hello bettyboop20, Thank you for your review! We're very pleased to hear you liked our recently refurbished rooms, and found our team friendly and helpful. We really appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our standards. Kind Regards Premier Inn Countesswear

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

we arrived and checked in, staff very friendly and efficient. Beds were very comfy. Food was great in the beefeater. Cooked breakfast was not the best.. but plenty to choose from. We would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesdarcy501
Rachel M, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review

Hello jamesdarcy501, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay! Were delighted to hear that you found our beds very comfy and our team very friendly and efficient! I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your breakfast in the attached Beefeater. It is important to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, so...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Stayed at PI Countess Weir and once again the service and staff were first class. We had a small problem with the heating which was fixed quickly and efficiently by the excellent receptionist (Rachael). The bar area and restaurant is a very pleasant environment - good stay all round.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
Rachel M, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Steve L, Thank you for your review! We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the service first class. It is our aim to provide exceptional customer service to all of our guests. Thank you for mentioning my name, it's lovely to hear great feedback! I'm glad you found the Bar/Restaurant environment pleasant, i have passed...

Basldon
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Six friends stayed at this hotel for a charity event with the Royal Marines last year and it was so good we returned.Very clean and quite,excellent food and reasonably priced drinks.I must give a special mention to Rachel the young lady on reception who was very friendly and helpful and a credit to Premier Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
Rachel M, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Andy G, Thank you for your lovely review. I'm very pleased to hear you found our hotel clean and quiet, and enjoyed your meal in Beefeater! Thank you for my special mention, I'm delighted you found me helpful and friendly, your positive comments are lovely to hear! We hope to welcome you back here again! Kind Regards, Rachel Operations...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
3.5 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
879 reviews
3.3 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
7.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Follow the River Exe into Exeter from this quiet spot and enjoy scenic views and quaint pubs ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel

Address: 398 Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $82 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel is located on a busy junction so it may be best to ask for a room on the far side of the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyG593, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A great location - close to the motorway and accessible”
 of 5 bubbles alexandrapurnell, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms off reception may be the best option.”
 of 5 bubbles CardiffJaguar, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“only used restauant”
 of 5 bubbles 107derek, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs on the west side is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelS811, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay