We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Globe Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Globe Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Globe Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Hostel options in Exeter are rather limited (with this being your only option!!) and unfortunately the tired condition of the hostel reflects this... holding the monopoly of hostels means the need to freshen up the hostel is less urgent. However, in saying that it is a welcoming & friendly place & has everything you could need. The location is pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophie W
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Sophie Firstly, we are pleased you found our hostel welcoming and friendly and offering everything you could need. We fully take on board that the place is looking a bit tired and in need of a fresh coat of paint, and in fact we are rolling out a re-decoration plan from November 2016 until Spring 2017 during our quieter...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Stay here everytime I have a long term work contract in Exeter. Affordable and (atleast when I visited there) offer deals for long stays. The staff are friendly and always up for a chat (if there not too busy), the place is clean and basic (you get what you pay for) Good location as well, spitting distance from centre. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank firequill
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We very much appreciate your repeat custom and your support of our hostel and for backing us and our staff with regard to some of the bad reviews and the recognition of the truth behind them. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The location is great and just a 5 minutes walk from the city centre. The dormitory was clean and the staffs were helpful and friendly. The kitchen was small but equipped with all the basic necessary things; the free tea and coffee was an added advantage!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aninditaces
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our backpacker hostel we very much appreciate it.

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

My mum and I recently stayed in a room at Global Backers, Exeter, for 5 nights. We thought the location was good and our room was nice(complimentary tea and coffee), though the overall feel of the building itself was grubby and unclean. The fridges smelt and the kitchen was not clean. The stairwell need some repairs done, but the toilets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bambi Simpson
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our backpacker hostel. We are pleased you found the private room pleasant and clean and that you appreciated the fact that we offer all our private rooms their own tea and coffee making facilities. We also appreciate the fact that you acknowledge we offer clean and modern wet rooms for our guests....

Reviewed 10 June 2016

Stayed at Globe for a good few weeks whilst in Exeter on a working holiday. The place was clean, staff were friendly and helpful (got to know quite a few of them given the length of my stay) and always keen for a yarn. Met some great people and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Free wifi.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Slade S
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank your for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and helpful and the place clean - free wifi always a plus!!

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

A warm, friendly community feel. Great facilities and plenty of space. Staff awesome! Would have loved to stay longer & will definitely go back. Easy walking distance from city centre, cathedral, quay & transport links.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roisin R
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Roisin R ! We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to you coming back for another stay soon!

Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015

A backpackers hotel is not our normal overnight location but we enjoyed our 2 night stay here. We had a private 4 bedded room with plenty of space and comfortable single beds. No ensuite but the shared toilet was clean as were the single shower rooms. The bathroom fittings were simple but clean and there was plenty of hot water....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazwitch
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our backpacker hostel. We have reminded the team to do a final toilet check before going off duty!

Huddersfield
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Warm, and quiet, yet only minutes away from open-all-hours convenience store, shops, the quay, pubs, and nightclubs. There is constant hot water, free tea and coffee, well-equipped kitchen,books, T.V., and internet access. You pay a key deposit, and can come and go as you like. Exeter is an interesting city, with it's history of the wool trade, guildhall, cathedral,and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SLWD
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

We can't thank you enough for your positive review of our hostel and staff and for plugging our lovely city so well. We are delighted you had a good stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2015

I cannot begin to explain how disgusted I am by this place, and what terrible an experience I had here. But I will try, and unfortunately have to give a one star rating which is definitely one star too many. My partner and I booked a private room at Global Travellers. Before going to bed, I made sure to lock...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank fee172015
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Exellent location, great value/price, good set up ( hot showers, nice kitchen, comfy bed) staff is very helpfull and pleasant. Also there is alot of respect for your belongings from the folks that stay there longterm which kinda watch out over the place. Many thanks to the crew of GlobeBackpackers, I will be back !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank your for your positive review of our hostel. We were also delighted to hear you felt safe and look forward to seeing you again!

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.2 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
803 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,480 reviews
0.8 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.6 km away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Exeter Globe Backpackers (Tourist Hostel) offers both shared (dormitory) and private rooms in an 18th century townhouse and is excellently located just a few minutes walk from Exeter's city centre. We offer a self-catering kitchen and free tea and coffee, social area, tv room and Free Wi-fi. Nightly rates are from £17.50 Or just £75 per week in dormitories (terms and conditions apply). We are just a few minutes walk to the nine hundred year old Gothic cathedral and the picturesque historic waterway and quay. That's not to mention the wide range of pubs and clubs all throughout Exeter. Globe Backpackers is ideal for people looking for a great value, clean, comfortable, and friendly place to stay while enjoying our beautiful surroundings.Our 2000 year old city is centrally located in the region of Devon and Cornwall making it the perfect place to base yourself to go on plenty of day trips to the coast, Dartmoor National Park, the Eden project and much more. Easily accessible from London, Bristol, Bath and Cardiff, Exeter really puts you in the middle of things.For those looking to offset some travel costs Exeter is a perfect place to make a few pounds while still getting to see loads of attractions.Exeter really is a must-see for any true backpacker! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Globe Backpackers

Address: 71 Holloway Street, Exeter EX2 4JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $29 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Globe Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Backpackers Exeter, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Globe Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Namibia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Globe Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take the upper bunk if available.”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't forget to bring a padlock for your locker”
 of 5 bubbles roisinr847, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in an 8 bed dormitory, but there were only three of us.”
 of 5 bubbles SLWD, 28 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Placed between quays and city center, everything is easily accessible. Every guest respects the someil of the other people in the room or he is. Showers are new, and washed regularly!”
 of 5 bubbles 309marionb, 30 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Hope that the Duty Manager isn't working when you call in to make your booking.”
 of 5 bubbles deeeevo_13, 15 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5