We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gipsy Hill Hotel

PricelineUSD 109*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 127*
USD 109*
Great Deal
USD 116*
USD 127*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Gipsy Hill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

475 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gipsy Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 470: English reviews
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Great hotel and very friendly hard working staff. Sue and Vicky looked after us on our over night stay. Had both evening meal and breakfast and the food was lovely. Grounds are beautiful and the room was really big. I would recommended this hotel and hopefully will come back and stay again. Thanks again Sue and Vicky.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scotland4ever_11
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Hotel has a great atmosphere very friendly also the food is fantastic from mains to desert .Anybody thinking about a place to stay in Exeter this is the place good value for money .local to the city and other amenities

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deancarter1112
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

It was mine and my partners 2 year anniversary and we just wanted a nice quiet but not too expensive weekend away so we picked this hotel. At first I wasn't so sure because some of the reviews were negative however it was one of our best weekends away. The staff were absolutely lovely and so welcoming, especially the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanielleParkers_
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Firstly the room was fab no problems here,lovely big and clean,evening meal aswell no problems here great meal and staff were fab too. Wanted to leave early but breakfast starts at 7:00am so waited ,for the buffet ,and waited eventually it was all hands on deck it arrives late. Then couldn,t eat the sausage ,tasted tangy maybe out of date....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maesteg7777
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is situated in very nice grounds on the outskirts of Exeter. It is a bit like going back in time but I don't have a problem with that if everything is ok and in keeping. I was given a room in the coach house annexe and as soon as I entered there was a distinct musty smell and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful experience, nothing was too much trouble,Sue & all the staff made such an effort to make our stay special,including an Anniversary card,balloons, & a lovely desert. The meal & accommodation was excellent, would highly recommend a stay at this very friendly hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark1945
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Came here for a 2 night stay and it was fantastic. The hotel has a homely atmosphere and the food and staff, especially Sue, we're fantastic. Surprised at the negative reviews the hotel has received as me and my partner were made to feel very welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polarquake56
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017

I booked this hotel online in error. I realised my mistake within a couple of minutes so immediately contacted them to advise them and ask if they would refund me the full payment I had made. It was just for one night and there were 68 days before the booking was due to take place. I was informed that it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jan S
NightingaleExeter, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

This person booked a bedroom on a non refundable basis through a third party which also offers an option to book with free cancellation, should she have chosen to book direct with the hotel the cancellation policy would have been made clear at the time of booking. We did offer this person the opportunity to move the booking to an...

Liskeard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2017

I have just stayed at the Gipsy Hill Hotel for three nights where I was running training sessions for 12 people at a time (six half-day courses across three days so around 70 participants in all). The location is very convenient being on the edge of the city and close to the M5, and the accommodation is comfortable and clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petekennard65
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

We booked a two night break, on arrival were asked to pay up front,which I refused, given room in annexe, they call the coach house, no sound proofing very noisy, we could hear the guy above having a pee. A poor quality buffet breakfast was offered. We didn't stay the second night. This is not a hotel if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul t
NightingaleExeter, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that Mr Turness did not enjoy his stay with us. Our hotel is sited over 3 buildings should Mr Turness have expressed on check in that he would have preferred a room in the Main part of the Hotel we would have endeavoured to have met his wishes. I do not belive our breakfast is...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
10.8 km away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
4.1 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
488 reviews
4.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
4.9 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Exeter's best kept secret hotel The Gipsy Hill Hotel is surrounded by three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and is a taste of the Devon countryside mere miles away from the vibrant & historic, Cathedral city of Exeter. You are guaranteed a warm welcome from our friendly and efficient staff right from the moment you arrive, till the moment we wish you a safe journey. With two free car parking spaces per room and free Wifi, The Gipsy Hill really is a home from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gipsy Hill Hotel

Address: Gipsy Lane | Monkerton, Exeter EX1 3RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $108 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gipsy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Gipsy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Best Western
Best Western Exeter
Gipsy Hill Hotel Exeter, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gipsy Hill Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Bournemouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Gipsy Hill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Enjoyed a room (12) overlooking the main entrance”
paulmG2584XU, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask at the hotel , they have a good variety of rooms”
johnb741, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Premier room has a bay window and best views”
StrawberryBT, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in two rooms and both excellent but room no.1 was exceptional”
susanwK7739HJ, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms were perfect and quiet.”
823olivern, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 109* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 116
Expedia.comUSD 127
Booking.comUSD 109
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates