We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Have stayed at this hotel a couple of times. First time I was on the top floor in a small albeit perfectly formed room. Second time I was in a bigger room on the first floor. Lovely and modern with all amenities and a nice bathroom. Some of the friendliest staff I've ever experienced at a hotel too. Comfortable bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan & Sarah K
On The Water
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 1 week ago

Late in the evening on March 7 our 1845 Aurigny flight to Guernsey was diverted to Exeter, where virtually all the passengers were put up for the night in your hotel. Most of us arrived after 2300, very hungry. Not only did your night staff do everything they could to settle us in quickly, providing toothbrushes and a razor for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DAVEofSVNeeltje
About Hotel's Favourite Review
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave Thank you for your lovely feedback about our nights team. They are really pleased that they managed to turn a stressful situation into a positive experience for you. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Bournemouth, Dorset
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a weekend with a friend and had a great time. Service Was great, all staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel was amazing inside and modern rooms. Only a few minutes walk into town for local restaurants and a great location for seeing Exeter. Only downside is the car park is very small, so if there's a wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nai55
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nai55 Thank you for the lovely feedback about your recent stay at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont. It is lovely to see that you enjoyed your stay and were able to park at one of the nearby carparks from the Hotel. I hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel for one night to attend a meeting in Exeter. Room: my room was on the 4th floor, which does not have lift service. I had to climb four flights or partial flights of stairs to reach the room. The last flight was very steep, and it was not good that, as I was checking out,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rbgs
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rbgs It is lovely to get such great feedback about your stay - particularly the mix between being a traditional Hotel with some modern touches. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Clean comfortable room, in interesting historic building, great central location and good breakfast. Just what I need for a business trip in Exeter. Staff helpful. Parking on site is limited, so arrive early if you can, and costs an extra £10 for overnight.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamescK5091BJ
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jamescK5091BJ Thanks for your feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. It is great to see that you were interested in the building - we are one of the oldest Hotels in Exeter, and being built on the site of a women's prison have some lovely traditional features. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards...

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here a few times before and once again a fabulous stay, great clean friendly hotel, clean bright rooms, food was good, everything you need in the room, car park on site, 10 minutes walk to the city centre for shopping, bars n restaurants. Well worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael I
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael I We are really pleased to see that you have another fabulous stay!. It is great to get such positive feedback and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Bollington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent facilities, their late check out & welcome drink compensation policy needs reviewing, we were unable to access the privilege king room we had booked until 7pm! + were given compensatory drinks vouchers, that could not be redeemed at the bar against certain drinks. Pathetically petty customer service.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidbI26SP
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DavidI26SP Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us....

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To start with, the staff are mostly very helpful, nice people just fronting an awful hotel. It is old, tired, creaky, noisy and needs a minor overhaul. My first room, 225, was so noisy it felt like everyone was in the same room. I moved to 215, on the front so I could hear the pelican crossing bleeping every five...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug_421
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doug_421 Thank you for your honest feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at the Hotel - particularly after we have just had a £2.1 million pound refurbishment. I have discussed your comments with the team, particularly with the Maintenance Manager and the Food & Beverage Manager to ensure that your comments are looked into....

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I cannot understand the negative reviews on this hotel at all.. I stayed for one night last saturday and it was the best hotel i've stayed in! You get off the train at Exeter Central and the hotel is directly opposite the station, and it's a couple of minutes walk into the city centre.. so it's ideal location! The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgiajackson1995
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear georgiajackson1995 Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. We are really pleased to see that we were the best Hotel that you have stayed in and your comments are a delight to read. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed in the standard and Privilege rooms. Fantastic beds (super king size in the Privilege rooms) Huge TV. Tea & coffee. Clean modern bathrooms. Beware.... the radiator is hidden behind the blackout curtain! Hotel itself is in a fantastic location opposite Exeter Central railway station and close to the city centre. Hotel is full of history. Staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ogg16
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ogg16 Thank you for your excellent review - It is lovely to see that you love the super king size beds in our Privilege rooms and indeed our £2 million pound refurbishment. As a regular guest it is great to see that our staff are wonderful - I hope we can continue to welcome you back on a regular...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.7 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
1,173 reviews
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
803 reviews
0.2 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
581 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#25 of 31 in Exeter
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel is a classical Victorian hotel in Exeter city centre, close to the cathedral and directly opposite the railway station. The Mercure Exeter Rougemont has local attractions including the Castle and Rougemont Gardens within easy walking distance, with other attractions including stately homes, theme parks and the racecourse a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Address: Queen Street, Exeter EX4 3SP, England (Formerly The Rougemont Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $108 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rougemont Hotel, Exeter Hotel Exeter
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel Devon
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The fourth floor is quiet (no street noise) but hard to access”
 of 5 bubbles rbgs, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 133 privilege room”
 of 5 bubbles jaybri1622, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to avoid being above the main entrance facing the train station to avoid late night revellers”
 of 5 bubbles Baxterboy2, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on 3rd floor, quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 783ianf, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“room facing the inner courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles JamesCR5, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5