We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

489 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 475: English reviews
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a night in Room 9 which was well appointed and very characterful. This room was probably not part of the original hotel but is possibly in an old fisherman's cottage with beams. It was furthest away from the harbour but still had a reasonable view and we enjoyed watching two fishing boats off loading onto the harbour quay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BerkshireTigger
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good food, friendly welcoming staff. Beautiful room overlooking the sea and the harbour. Absolute heaven! Hope to return soon. Every member of staff went out of their way to make our stay exceptional. Just remember to wear good walking shoes as the streets are very steep and cobbled.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole J
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for this lovely review of The Red Lion, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your kind comments on to the other members of staff - hopefully you will come and see us again soon!

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having climbed down the 1/2 mile of steep cobbled pathway, and through the old and quaint street of the historic fishing village of Clovelly, in North Devon, we were much in need of food and drink, so where else but the Red Lion, located right on the harbour wall. The menu is a simple, with limited selection, but what arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brainerd62
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Red Lion I am pleased that you enjoyed your fish & chips and your visit to the village there is always a short wait for food as everything is cooked to order, the land rovers are always a welcome sight, especially after a large helping of fish & chips in the bar !!

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night break at The Red Lion. We were in the sail loft, room 18 and loved it ! The room was bright and airy, spotlessly clean and had a great sea view. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first evening, both the service and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review of The Red Lion, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the chance to eat in both the bar & restaurant - I will pass your kind comments on to the other members of staff.

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Well worth a visit. Stayed at room 18 at the top of the annex, modern and good comfort. Hotel has that 'ancient' atmosphere you would expect from a place like Clovelly. Nice pub - nice locals! All in all well worth the money!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1hpb
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review of The Red Lion, room 18 in The Sailoft is a lovely room with superb views - I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Chardf
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Perched right on the edge of the beach adjoining the quay. Beautiful views. Try to book one of the sea-facing rooms which have windows which open on to the beach. Superb food with excellent fresh fish and perfectly accommodating staff. Locals in the bar in the evening. Nothing to criticise and very difficult to surpass.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yonaton47
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of The Red Lion I am so glad that you enjoyed your food and your accommodation at the hotel, I will pass your kind comments on to the rest of the team!

Bude, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The location was stunning and everything we expected, room was exceptional, service and food (evening meal) was a huge disappointment, breakfast was v good but again service was not what I would expect of this place. Just did not make it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Demee
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Red Lion, I am sorry that you didnt enjoy your meal, if you had mentioned at the time i am sure our waiting staff would have offered you an alternative.

Caythorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

This is the second year running we stayed here and this time I wanted to stay in one of the sail lofts rooms. I booked this in February and received a confirmation e-mail at £100 B&B. Thought nothing of this until coming to pay and was requested to pay £190, which is the actual rate for these rooms. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricky273
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of the Red Lion Hotel, hopefully you will return soon and we can score a 5 !!

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Well, I'm not one to write reviews, but after reading the horrible comments that some "people" have posted about the staff of this hotel I feel that I have to redress.... Firstly, the location, it's just wonderful, you could travel half way across the world and not find better. The hotel, charming, a wonderful example of a English inn, if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lordruss1969
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely ......and very entertaining review !!!!! It has been printed off and put on our noticeboard for all to read - hopefully out of reach of Tarquin!!!

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stayed here for one night. Wish i had booked for longer. It was a beautiful place to stay. We were in room 19 of the sail loft, the view was stunning.it was very clean and well set out, the staff were friendly and the food was good. will definitely be going back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traceyeliza C
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for this lovely review, I will pass your comments on to the staff, hopefully next time you come you can stay a little longer.

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.2 km away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
171 reviews
5.9 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
323 reviews
8.5 km away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
685 reviews
25.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,319 reviews
13.9 km away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Red Lion Hotel Harbour Restaurant
Red Lion Hotel Harbour Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: 48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Price Range: $162 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Clovelly, England, UK
Red Lion Clovelly
Clovelly Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Honiton, United Kingdom
6 months ago
over a year ago
cornwall
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 18 or 19 at the annex”
 of 5 bubbles 1hpb, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea-facing room”
 of 5 bubbles Yonaton47, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sail loft rooms are superb.”
  • It is over the car-park, but still a great view.
  • Entrance to room 15 and the
  • Very large bath, space for two...
  • Nice seating area, one chair missing out on the balcony!!
  • Oops, slightly messy, but superb comfy bed with great sheets
 of 5 bubbles Tricky273, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have sea or harbour views. Personally, I find the harbour views a tad more interesting.”
 of 5 bubbles Cappycat, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“14 also has facilities for the disabled”
 of 5 bubbles Alicia633, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay