We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Penzance

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

774 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 742: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Penzance
 Click to rate
Greater Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have travelled around Southern England for the last nine days and this has been the best hotel we have stayed in so far. Friendly staff from the desk, to the breakfast staff (best cooked eggs I have ever eaten). Great view, comfy bed, fantastic bathroom. Free parking and free wi-fi. Recommend this hotel to any fellow Australians travelling in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pbeccas
ManagerPenzance, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, many thanks for your superb review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and glad the team provided a great service so you could enjoy your stay here in Penzance.

Evanton
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have always wanted to visit Cornwall so checked out accommodation and chose this lovely hotel. On arrival we were met by a friendly member of staff who took our luggage and explained the layout of the hotel. Our room was a lovely bright room with patio doors looking out onto beautiful views of the ocean absolutely stunning in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shuttersister
ManagerPenzance, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your detailed review and glad you enjoyed your welcome and had a comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you next time so you can relax, indulge, taste and enjoy the view from your room, once again. Whilst writing, the sun is sparkling on the sea here in Mounts Bay and Penzance Harbour today.......we are...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 1 night in a standard double room with sea view. Check in was quick and receptionist was very friendly. Room was large with a seating area. Modern decor and very clean. Powerful shower. Really comfortable bed and quite area so got a really good night's sleep. Breakfast was included good selection of hotels food cooked to order and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rvz88
ManagerPenzance, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your top marks review. Glad you had a really comfortable stay and enjoyed the services we provided, especially the sea views due to our location. We all look forward to welcoming you again next time.

Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Penzance on 29th April. From booking to departure the experience was excellent. Despite arriving early, we were warmly welcomed by Andrew, the Manager and our room was ready so he took us straight up. The room was excellent with an amazing view across the bay from Penzance Harbour to beyond St Michael's Mount. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
ManagerPenzance, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Davies, many thanks for your detailed, five star review. It is a great motivator to the team, who provided a great service, making your stay so enjoyable that you are looking forward to coming back to relax, be indulged, taste, drink and enjoy once again! Have a lovely Easter break!

Holmrook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very nice building inside and out in a good location for transport links. The staff were so helpful and pleasant from when we arrived dripping with the heavy rain to departing for our last walk down the hill to the railway station four days later. From the smiling efficient service at breakfast to supplying me with a jug of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
ManagerPenzance, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for your five star review and it was our pleasure to welcome you both to our Hotel. Its always nice to hear that the team provided a professional service which made your stay a super quality, comfortable one. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Wiltshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best thing was the wonderfully helpful and welcoming staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we were even given glasses of fizz to celebrate my partner's birthday. This is a comfortable hotel. It has an open fire in the sitting room, a sunny terrace and a small but pretty front garden. It is close to the station (up a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BookandHerbLady
ManagerPenzance, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, it was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. It makes us all very happy that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and we made your birthday celebration a special one. We look forward to welcoming you next time so that you can explore more of West Penwith.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had to book in hotel with barely any notice as we were meant to be flying to Scilly isles but our flight was cancelled . I missed this hotel on my first search as I had originally put the filter for free cancellation on. Glad I looked again . Extremely helpful and friendly staff from the reception , waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, glad we were able to accommodate you when the weather let you down to get to the Isles of Scilly, and happy the team provided an excellent service. For limited mobility guests we do have two superior rooms on the ground floor which do require booking early to avoid disappointment and a member of the team is always...

Essex
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked to stay here for 3 nights on business followed by a romantic break where my partner joined me. We stayed in room 9 which is one of the older superior rooms and not the modern ones shown in the picture when i booked. Its adequate in general but when you consider a charge rate out of season of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George1969Essex
Kehribar, General Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

It was a shame you did not raise your concerns with either myself or other members of the management team at reception whilst you were here. I can see from your letter there were some shortcomings in regard to the standard you would expect for us. I have taken these on board and will look to improve certain elements in...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights and I could have stayed longer because I love this hotel. We were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived. The staff are really friendly, the place is spotless and the food is amazing. Our room was spacious , modern and had a sea view. The hotel was quiet and peaceful even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bethieb2015
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your five star review. It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and glad you had a perfect stay. As i write this review the sun is sparkling on the sea here in Mounts Bay and the Scillonian is ready for her first trip of the season, tomorrow...summer comes early here in Penzace....

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

As a family we go to The Penzance Hotel regularly and it's usually excellent not last night though!!. Our reservation was 645 and 720 no one had come to our table for drinks so I walked to the bar and ordered myself bearing in mind we were the only people in the restaurant at this time. The drinks then took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherry38_11
Kehribar, General Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

I have spoken to the team on duty and they asked the first guest that arrived from your group if they would like any drinks and they stated they wanted to wait for the entire group to arrive. However I have informed them they should keep asking as each guests arrive as part of our service. As you had ordered...

357 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (149)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
St Cuby Classic Double Seaview Room (21)
Viewed
St Mewan Superior Double Seaview Room (25)
Viewed
St Piran Superior Double Seaview Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Bay Restaurant
The Bay Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Price Range: $197 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Penzance staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Delray Beach, Florida
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Bristol, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Penzance staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 18 has lovely open views to the harbour and sea.”
Shuttersister, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 18 and the view was amazing”
bethieb2015, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No.2 on ground floor has a spacious wetroom and also a seperate dressing room with ironing facilities provided.”
104gilb, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pay extra for sea veiw”
prossersonia, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view of St Michael's Mount”
CarolB981, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5