We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Blue Reef Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Blue Reef Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 227: English reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Staff were really nice. Looked after my bags in the day for me. There was a dedicated dry room for my wet suit and surfboard. Very cheap and the room was clean and bed was comfy. Really friendly bunch of people, had a good laugh with them. Will deffo be returning again in the future!! Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

We spent one night here, it looks tatty from the rear where there is very limited parking. When we went inside it was better bright and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful our room was as we would expect for the price we paid, but the bed was made of two single mattresses one of which should have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
Yorkshire
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We booked, went and paid , to inform us breakfast was to cost an extra £5 each! We had initially booked b&b but was disgusted at the dirty reception area and the the total disinterest by the receptionist. We asked for our money back and left! The outside should have been enough to forewarn us about the inside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daveNkimYorkshire
Booking N, Receptionsit at Blue Reef Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Dave, we are sorry that your visit was so disappointing, we do provide a continental breakfast between 8.30am and 10am which is laid out within the cafe, a full english breakfast is an additional charge. i would like to discuss what you found "dirty" further as we make sure that the reception and front of the building is immaculate...

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The hostel is completely average and good if you are looking for a cheap bed. The dorm room I was in was a 9 bed (3x3 bunks) and was comfortable. However the bathroom stunk of damp, the fan made loads of noise but didn't seem to do anything. Reception staff were helpful and the breakfast was great. However I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theniallc
Booking N, Receptionist at Blue Reef Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Newquay Surf B&B, we have addressed the issue with the bathroom fan as we had noticed it wasn't working to its full potential. having only just noticed that we have no contact details on trip advisor i will rectify this today. but should you wish to contact us the...

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Firstly I travelled 4hrs to get to our first hotel which was the escape which was absolutely disgusting! I got my refund from that hotel and walked around for hours to find a suitable place for my family to stay and then I found this place which saved our holiday! Staff was amazing can't fault any of them, especially Barney...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed K
Booking N, Receptionist at Blue Reef Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Mohammed, I am so glad we could help you when you walked in, it was lucky we had the available room as we are in high demand. reviews like this are why we do what we do. hope you had a safe journey home. Regards Stephan.

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We booked a family room thinking that this was a family orientated guest house. On the day of our arrival, the B and B was being occupied by a hen party and the room opposite us was being occupied by a transvestite who was being very loud getting ready to party. There was no control on who entered the B...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain C
Booking N, Receptionist at Blue Reef Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Iain, We apologise that your stay with us at Newquay Surf B&B was not pleasant, your booking was made for our busiest week of the year so noise is inevitable although we try to keep this to a minimum but at the time we had three different stag and hen groups staying with us. the transvestite you are speaking...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Newquay is a great place and found this hidden gem there. We had a group of 9 people and booked 3 triple rooms. They messed up the booking and only 1 out of the 3 rooms were booked. However they were quick to realise their mistake and managed to get us another 2 more rooms. We somewhat got an upgrade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frozenamazon
Booking N, Receptionist at Blue Reef Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Newquay Surf B&B and we look forward to seeing you again hopefully. Regards Stephan

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

had a really good stay room was lush breakfast was good to hospitality very excellent and very friendly value for money lucy and jonny was great will be visiting them again staff was very good ann mark spencer

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed there Friday night and Saturday night. Sadly we had to come home today. It was such a lovely place to stay.. And the staff was excellent.. Well what can I say breakfast was all you needed from a full English to cereal. We will be returning. Thank you very much from the family in room 15 thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirstieann122
Booking N, Receptionist at Blue Reef Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kirstie, We are so glad that your stay with us lived up to what you hoped. its so nice when our hard work is noticed. we hope to see you soon!! Regards Stephan

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

So I came with my uni for the bucs weekender. There was 2 other unis staying there too. As loud and as crazy as we where, the owners coped and took care of us. Its basic but we had everything we needed. A sink in the room, kitchen area, fridges, bathrooms ext. the rooms where warm at night and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 39 in Newquay
355 reviews
0.8 km away
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Sandy Lodge Hotel
#24 of 39 in Newquay
384 reviews
0.3 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 39 in Newquay
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
2.6 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Kandi Lodge
Kandi Lodge
#16 of 76 in Newquay
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms

Additional Information about Blue Reef Lodge

Address: 10 - 12 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AR, England (Formerly Newquay Surf B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Price Range: $42 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Reef Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Surf Hotel Newquay
Reef Surf Newquay
Blue Reef Lodge Newquay, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Reef Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Reef Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the smell of damp from your bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles theniallc, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Bring ear plugs if intended to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles iainc596, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Find a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles dankU7591ZY, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Mind your head on the bunk beds!!!”
 of 5 bubbles cln5h, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If you're tall, avoid the bunk beds!”
 of 5 bubbles tombB817LK, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay