We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barrowfield Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 39 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Barrowfield Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

699 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Barrowfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 698: English reviews
birmingham
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Went on a late booking with Daishs to this hotel, as it was heavily discounted not sure what to expect, journey down in a new coach was swift, just over four hours not including stops, from West Midlands, as a result had an extra afternoon in resort, the weather was great, the hotel check in was swift, allocated a room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kateshill
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

This is our 5th visit to the barrowfield and once again staff didn't fail us .. Pleasant , polite and very helpful. The only downfall this year was the weather was against us and it did rain almost every day.. It would of been brilliant if the hotel catered for such days and ha some kind of afternoon activities for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mandy4460
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. We are very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon when the sun is out.

torbay devon
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I found the food very very disappointing indeed the vegetables hardly existed grey coloured new potatoes grey coloured sprout if you ask for chips you might be ok or there was mashed suede one night... but it was tasteless and certainly not home cooked .........there was no fresh fruit anywhere and no plain yoghurts. had noticed the sweet flavoured yoghurts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susl
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Barrowfield Hotel. We are sorry to read that you did not find the food to your taste. The vast majority of our guests do enjoy the food we serve and regularly leave excellent comments on the questionnaires we ask our guests to complete. We hope you made the waiting staff aware of your...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Just returned from a five day break at the Barrowfield Hotel We cannot fault this hotel everything first class including our waiter James. Newquay is a beautiful place and even though it was raining two days we enjoyed watching the surfers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman S
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of your stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. We are very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Ireland
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Spent 4 nights in this hotel and it was appalling. Our room was shabby and run down as is the whole place., like something from the 70's and not in a good way. I have never stayed anywhere quite like this before thankfully. Whoever heard of a half hour for breakfast (8.30 -9.00). If you want orange juice you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinawhln
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel. I would like to point out that breakfast is served from 8am to 9am every day so our guests have an hour in which dine. If any element of your meal was cold you only...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We arrived at the Barrowfield on Sunday 31st July 2016, the initial impression was of a very tatty reception area, on arrival in our room (218) we were disgusted, torn and dirty net curtains, dirty cream curtains hanging off the rail. The bathroom was in a poor state, peeling ceiling, all fittings in a bad state. The wardrobe was a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 424Stayathome1
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have just had a brand new reception and the hotel lobby is looking very smart so we are rather surprised by your comments about it. We have an on-going maintenance programme which includes replacing the curtains where necessary. The ballroom...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016

On arrival my wife and I considered taking a train home to West Yorkshire as our room was as poor as the rest of the hotel. We stayed because we had arranged to meet up with friends and family who chose to stay in better accommodation.The leaking roof needs urgent repair and there is considerable evidence that proactive maintenance is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ichristie424
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that you did not like the hotel or your journey to Newquay. The ballroom roof does have a board up as we are waiting for contractors to come to repair the roof. The entertainment is what we have all year and most of our guests really enjoy it. We are...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016

we found the Barrowfield Hotel to be very friendly and helpful the rooms were very clean the cleaners were very good and the food was good you have a choice of menu they do a mean salad we are hoping to go again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jeannette730
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. We are very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

This is our second time in this hotel on a coach holiday.If anything would say the food is better than last year good choice and served by our wonderful waiter James who kept us all entertained throughout our stay.Nice big room on the first floor which was light and bright.All the staff are friendly and helpful and for the money...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alandcooper37
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. We are very please to read how much you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Just had as lovely holiday here with nova tours of chesterfield. Nice room o n 1st floor walk in shower. Food was very nice it has improved from last year. All the staff were lovely especially our waiter named James he was a star brightened our days here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan h
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. We are very please to read how much you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.6 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#7 of 39 in Newquay
1,207 reviews
2.8 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 39 in Newquay
919 reviews
3.0 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 39 in Newquay
823 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Barrowfield Hotel is ideally situated just 200 yards from the seafront yet close enough to the beautiful beaches of Lusty Glaze, Tolcarne and the rugged Cornish coastline yet only a five minute walk to Newquay's Town Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barrowfield Hotel

Address: Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: $91 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrowfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Barrowfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrowfield Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barrowfield Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
oxford
over a year ago
Herts
over a year ago

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Barrowfield Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“corner g/f rooms apparently need additional heating but hotel only to pleased to give you mobile heater to boost.Just ask reception”
 of 5 bubbles grahamc899, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“higher floor his quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles grandad1946, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose 219 !!! unless you like to experience something like a haunted house”
 of 5 bubbles 800MJ, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Like rooms at front of hotel but have stayed in many different ones and all good.particularly like 205 or 309”
 of 5 bubbles 933meganj, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As stated very good, ”
 of 5 bubbles 961gordons, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay