We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Western Hotel

Save
Traveller (342)
Room & Suite (217)
Dining (91)
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good33%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“premium room”(59 reviews)
“steam bar”(24 reviews)
“sea view”(100 reviews)
Free Internet
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (951)
There are newer reviews for Great Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveller rating
391
317
122
53
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
391
317
122
53
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomsteam barsea viewoverflow car parkparking spacecornish breakfastfantastic viewsper daywater pressurebooked this hotelgreat roomstayed for nightsfish and chipsthe cliffcomfy bedtolcarne beachshort break
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
211 - 215 of 929 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Loved this hotel. We stayed in the top floor honey moon suite with a glorious view of the beach and cliffs of the coast. The room was lovely with a very comfy bed. Modern bathroom and comfortable lounge. The breakfast was good with lots of...More

Thank Marilyn B
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 11 November 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Such a lovely one to read! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 31 October 2016

Having booked seats on the new Flybe flights from Leeds/Bradford we booked here for 2 nights room only,£144 for a superior room. We were allocated room 123 which had sea views,probably better from the floor above.Good sized room with windows to 2 sides.Although the sea...More

Thank lbalad
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 11 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I’m sorry to hear that there were aspects of your stay that were disappointing. There are 2 x options for breakfast at the hotel. The first is our hotel breakfast which is priced...More

Reviewed 30 October 2016

We have revisited this October after staying here in 2015. All the staff were very attentive. Although the room had a lovely sea view,it was quite a walk from the restaurant/bar area. On a plus side the room was very quiet and decor is very...More

Thank Stephen W
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 11 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. Lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Will make sure I pass all your comments on. Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

Reviewed 29 October 2016

Room was fine although would have preferred a sprung bed base as my sister had in their family room. Window could have done with a clean. The views from the dining room are outstanding and children catered for with outside play area , billiards and...More

Thank Travelbug1704
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 11 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our windows are regularly cleaned due to location so I’m sorry that on this occasion they could have looked cleaner. Lovely to hear...More

Reviewed 29 October 2016

I recently stayed here with my wife and family, the hotel is very conveniently located for access to the town and railway station. The clifftop location offers excellent sea views from the bedrooms at the rear. The restaurant and bar area are very large and...More

Thank petersA5889RC
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 11 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Great Western. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Being a proud part of St Austell Brewery and “serving customers with excellence” all our team are trained to deliver high...More

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Newquay, United Kingdom
See all 37 hotels in NewquaySee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Beachfront
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 81 - USD 177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 81 - USD 177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (342)
Room & Suite (217)
Dining (91)
Pool & Beach (13)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
nessy1954
19 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Archy28 | Reviewed this property |
Pub next door associated with the hotel.
1
Vote
Tabs2000
I left a review pointing out the terrible view from our room during our stay and you have pointed out that these are your lowest rooms and they are advertised as such regarding the views of staff quarters or the main road and we were offered a £30 upgrade for a costal view. Now I see you are quick to defend your hotel but could you point me in the direction as to where this is advertised on booking. Also in terms of what we were offered I put that in my review we were offered to upgrade the main issue was the lack of customer service from your front of house, it was basically computer says no with blank stares. My review was honest and I felt you only acknowledged the part where you could make it appear that you had offered a resolution. No your hotel didn't offer a resolution, I would have happily cancelled and had a refund, that wasn't offered and as I pointed out I feel these rooms are booked on a pre paid basis and non refundable because of the poor standard and the room does not reflect any photos that you advertise it as whether it's your lowest room or not.
5 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mr_ben_83 |
Could have been worse, we paid for an upgrade (£40) only to find an attic room with a small window that overlooked the beach. Admittedly the view was nice but you had to go to the corner of the room to be able to see out... More
1
Vote
Sam H
28 April 2017|
Answer
Response from BDMay | Property representative |
Hi there, Prices are for room only. Breakfast can be added on for an additional £8.99 per person per day. Many thanks Reception
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The Bridal Suite is superb! Room 217"
Read review
"Choose premier room with a sea view. We has 229 but was down the far end of the hotel and fair trek."
Read review
"A sea view is a must"
Read review
"Sea view rooms are at the rear of the hotel"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing