We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cliffdene Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cliffdene Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cliffdene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 298: English reviews
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2016

We arrived earlier than check in and when asked if we could by any chance go to our rooms, we were informed that it was ready and therefore could. The chaps customer service was excellent and the rooms were spotlessly clean. Throughout our stay the staff were all thoughtful and helpful. Could not fault this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kitty177
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Good location with a beach opposite and within walking distance to town. Rooms are a bit dated and basic.the TV was a little too small. There was no wifi in the room though and you have to go down to the reception area. Breakfast was nice with good service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Low L
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night as the location was good for a wedding that we were attending. The room was spacious and very clean but what made our stay even better were the staff. The receptionist was a lovely lady and very helpful both on the telephone and in person. All of the staff that we met were polite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katy B
Norwich, Vermont
Reviewed 20 April 2016

stayed here last week whilst on a 'Gardens of Cornwall' holiday.Very clean and tidy. Lovely bed, lovely food, pretty dining room ,kind and helpful staff and a beach across the road to die for. What more could a girl ask for? Thankyou

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dragonlady282
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

An average hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms would benefit from a bit of TLC but were adequate for our needs. The hotel is in a great spot with sea views and is within easy walking distance of the town centre. Breakfast is included.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darylroots
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Nice and clean rooms, found this hotel by accident would stay by choice next time. small rooms but very clean and tidy. It has just been renovated inside and out still some scaffolding but the hotel will look great once all is done. A complaint? well, the WIFI needs help...........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Well situated hotel near to shops and bars etc. Rather dated but clean and tidy. Weak WIFI signal in the bedroom.Good sea view even through the scaffolding. Staff all welcoming and helpful. Breakfast lovely. Good choice of cereal, fruit, porridge and full English. Slight gripe, toast could have been slightly better quality bread. Overall experience good. Would happily stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol090163
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2016

This is a typical Grand UK hotel. In need of a good clean and some TLC. The staff and food ate the only saving grace for this place. Filthy windows covered in bird droppings, and cobwebs round the ceiling. The toilet roll holder was the wrong one for the paper provided. The pillows in my room definitely need replacing. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mick C
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Good location opposite the beach and walking distance into the town centre. Hotel was covered in scaffolding so the sea view which we paid for was a bit obscured.Bedroom was ok comfy bed furniture was on its last legs resembling something in a charity shop window. Staff were ok but not outstanding was ignored at breakfast until i got up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 744pablos
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Verona
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel is old the room are small and the bath furniture are only a soap. The bed is small for two people and unconfortble. Our room is on a working area. The wifi is terrible, works only in the reception and the pub but is very slow, even whats app is impossible to use. Good breakfast (included) the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alessio M
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
791 reviews
1.6 km away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
53 reviews
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
189 reviews
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
0.2 km away
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Sandy Lodge Hotel
#20 of 38 in Newquay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Address: Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: $43 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliffdene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliffdene Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cliffdene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at the front have good views but rooms to the rear could be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles rogersH368LZ, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view! Room 8”
  • Huge room and very warm
  • Small but clean ensuite shower room
  • More of that view from the balcony!
  • What a view from a £40 room!
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just ask for sea view. Simplessss.”
 of 5 bubbles sailorbeware, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles 210elainet, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea and road at front, quiet but with no outlook at back”
 of 5 bubbles RDH1, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5