We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,041 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,992: English reviews
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Lovely staff and beautiful hotel. Great breakfast and great views of the sea. Would highly recommend the hotel to anyone as they cater for all needs. Loved all the quirky decor and the Lego replica is a must see!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank l0ra16
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review

It is lovely to see that you had such a happy anniversary weekend with us and thank you for a wonderful recommendation. I must agree about the lego model of the hotel- it really is amazing isn't it? I hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future. kind regards Wyn More 

Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2015

as per usual the service from reception was very welcoming. I asked about an upgrade and was given a tour of the available rooms and made our choice, it was quite a difference in cost but we considered worth it. (room 330) The food in the main restaurant was very good but I felt not quite so good as previous... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank david a a
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review

Dear David I am very pleased to see that you have enjoyed another welcome break with us. Thank you for your excellent feedback and it is good to see that you were so pleased with your room. The opinions of all our guests are very important to us and especially those of regular visitors so thank you for your lovely... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

Excellent stay. Nice room, great spa. We had couples experience, very friendly staff and a good range of facilities. We spent time in relaxation room after. Perfect way to wind down. Would highly recommend. We will be definitely returning for a storm watching break.

Helpful?
Thank TheTrants
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs Trant I am so pleased to see that you had such a relaxing break with us and thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back often in the future. Kind regards Wyn More 

Exeter
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

We just came back from two nights at The Headland. The awards gala evening was fantastic, the food was superb. The 300+ guests were so well looked after. Our room, 119 was beautiful and very spacious with a very comfortable 5ft four poster bed and a couple of bunk beds which fold our of the wall if needed. Breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank DevonCoupleExeter
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this super review of your stay at The Headland. I am glad that you enjoyed the Awards Gala and that you rated our service for this so highly. It is the fourth year running that we have hosted this event and we are delighted with our own two gold awards for being Cornwall's event venue... More 

Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2015

I've stayed at the Headland many times over the years but can't remember there being so many dogs staying there at the same time. Anyone with allergies would be seriously affected for sure - albeit all the dogs I saw were well behaved they also have access to all the rooms. I would normally rate this hotel more highly but... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank merv1955
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments about our staff . I am very sorry to see that you were dissatisfied with some aspects of your stay on this occasion. The opinions of all our guests are important to us and your comments on your particular breakfast experience will be passed to the Restaurant Manager. We are well known as a dog... More 

uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Having stayed at the hotel on previous visits we decided to try one of the cottages.We were not disappointed,they are absolutely beautiful. You will find them spacious,warm and welcoming,with everything that you require for your stay.We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage able to accommodate 4 adults with ease. The weather was stormy but we were warm with a great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank philip l
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review

Dear Philip I am delighted to see that, having stayed in the hotel previously, you and your family have now enjoyed a happy holiday in one of our beautiful cottages. It is good to see that you were not disappointed and that you liked watching the storms over the ocean from the fireside of your home from home. Marilyn will... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We have stayed in hotels worldwide, New York, London,Paris, Sydney,etc. they were all trying to provide the experience the Headland so proudly supplied, they all fell short, The Headland Hotel, staff, atmosphere, service and standards should be used as a measure of how it should be done, for others to follow. If your a hotel manager I would strongly recommend... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank vj_ej_pot
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review

Your fabulous review has made the day of the entire staff team- thank you so much. I cannot think of a better accolade than the one you have given us. We all truly hope that if you are ever back in the UK, you will be able to visit us again. Thank you once again. Very best wishes Wyn More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I have been to the Headland Hotel many times. The location is beautiful, right on the beach with fantastic views. It is perfect whether walking on the beach on a sunny day or snugged up by the fire with a hot chocolate looking at the rain and crashing waves. We have a pet dog who we take with us and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth It is particularly rewarding to receive a marvellous review from such a regular guest. You clearly have known us well for years and I am so glad that you do not feel our renovations have changed the ambience of The Headland in any way.Thank you for your super comments about the hotel and our staff. I am delighted... More 

Porthtowan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Enjoyed our stay from start to finish,albeit only one night.staff were brilliant,food superb and room comfy,definatly stay again but longer.spa was a delight,and my wife enjoyed her massage.only wished we had taken our dog as well,he would have enjoyed the cliff top walks.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank johndavies0296
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you for a brilliant review. I am delighted to see that you and your wife had a brief but happy stay and we loved all your super comments. Do bring your dog next time- after all it is canine paradise here. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Wyn More 

UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2015

The cottage was very well equipped, clean, warm, with good views of the sea, check-in was efficient and friendly, we reported a problem with the shutters on the lounge window which were not looked at and our boiler broke on the day of checkout which meant we had no heating or hot water (no shower) would have been nice to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SUNSHINEBILL
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review

Thank you for a very fair and frank review. I am really pleased that you liked your cottage so much and that in the main you had a happy weekend. However, I am so sorry that your shutters were not looked at and that the boiler broke down on your last day.What an awful nuisance! Please accept my sincere apologies... More 

1,276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (962)
Viewed
Dining (78)
Viewed
View from Room (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (124)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (441)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (279)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (5)
Viewed
Ocean Double Room (40)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Self-Catering Cottage (27)
Viewed
Splendid Double Room (35)
Viewed
Splendid Hybrid Suite (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
1.1 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.0 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#7 of 39 in Newquay
1,208 reviews
0.5 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 39 in Newquay
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
7.3 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,051 reviews
27.1 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: $139 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Coastal rooms offer excellent views”
 of 5 bubbles 224gordons, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All catagories were nice.”
 of 5 bubbles dlewiswts, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“cottages are superb with amazing views. We love Seaspray 1 and 5”
 of 5 bubbles sarahmL3576TI, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“332 suite was amazing over looking Fistral beach”
 of 5 bubbles 123tracie, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only visited the fabulous spa,”
 of 5 bubbles Saneliman, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay