We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Commonwood Manor

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Commonwood Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 280: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a last min winter break, good location only a short stroll from the town. Hosts couldn't have been more accommodating. Freshly cooked breakfast with plenty of choices...Would not hesitate in staying again Well done guys👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark f
Management response:

Thank you very much for your feedback - we genuinely appreciate you taking the time to do this. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope very much we will see you again at some point in the future, Louise and Simon

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I spent two nights here in November. Had a very warm welcome from Louise. Unfortunately Simon was'nt very well so didn't get to meet him. We had a lovely room overlooking the river. Breakfast was a choice of either full English or continental and plenty of it! We would definately stay here again .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda_hobbis
Management response:

Good morning thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to do it. Simon and I really appreciate your feedback and very much hope we will see you at some point in the future. You were a pleasure to host!. Louise

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Owners Louise and Simon very accomdating. Enjoyed our 2 nite stay in Nov 16. Looking foward to going back later next year as would be nice to use outside pool and relax as very private and also look forward to using hot tub once installed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaz1047
Management response:

Glad to hear you had a good time. The pool should be covered early next year and the hot tub fitted. A lovely relaxing time should be had by all!

Wellington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Even in the midst of awful weather could we see the delights of Looe and staying in Commonwood Manor was the best place to be. Our welcome by Louise was a great start to the evening, our home is your home.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mandywilly52
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed staying at Commonwood and we do our best to welcome everyone. We are sorry about the weather but at least it's cosy and warm inside!! Hope to see you back soon

Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very interesting property in a good location with convenient parking. The owners and staff are extremely welcoming and helpful. Breakfast excellent with good quality local supplies. Bedroom and ensuite provided everything expected - but, for personal preference, would have liked a slightly larger double bed and firmer mattress.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abrown_717689
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback. Next time you come you must try one of our other rooms. I some we have super king beds. We hope to see you back at Commonwood

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed during Looe Literary Festival and were thrilled to stay at Commonwood Manor, such a beautiful place. Amazing view, the comfiest bed ever, and lovely warm welcome from Simon and Louise. Incredible building, too, real luxury. We adored it and would highly recommend staying here. Thank you for making our stay so pleasant!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelPaw
Management response:

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really enjoyed having you stay with us. Hope you can come back again soon. Simon

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a quick stay here overnight on business. The owners were really friendly and welcoming and they've created a nice family feel to the place. The room was pleasant and I slept well (having a night away from 3 young children also helped :-). Great breakfast. I look forward to visiting again one day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EileenW343
Management response:

Thank you for leaving a review. Glad you had a good stay. We look forward to welcoming you again Simon

Bristol
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We had a lovely time at Commomwood manor and would highly reccomend it to anyone. Lovely room and lovely owners who made is feel right at home. We loved playing the piano and playing pool!. The cooked breakfast in the morning was excellent also!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackj87780
Management response:

Thank you for your comments. They are really appreciated. We want everyone to have a great stay and we loved your playing of the piano as well. Hope to se you soon. Simon

scotland
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Arrived here early and got a very warm welcome. My room was ready despite it being before mid day which is a bonus. Our room was clean, tidy and well furnished, very comfortable. The hosts were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good and freshly made. Slight downside is that there is no footpath on part of the road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcwight
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We understand the point you make about the road and have spoken to the council but it is out of our hands

Reviewed 12 September 2016

Booked (what is now called) Commonwood Manor with over a months notice to stay on a Friday and Saturday night to attend my brothers 60th celebrations only to receive an email a couple of days before our stay to state they had been trying to contact me without success but due to unforeseen circumstances our room would not be available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam N
Management response:

We apologised profusely but we had a leak in the room and we let Adam know as soon as we could and we were fully booked so we were unable to accommodate him. We were in a no win situation and it was extremely unfortunate.

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
1.5 km away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
248 reviews
3.8 km away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
756 reviews
0.5 km away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#32 of 61 in Looe
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Old Bridge House
0.9 km away
Little Mainstone Guest House
0.7 km away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#1 of 61 in Looe
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Louise and Simon took on Commonwood Manor which stands high on the hill overlooking the east Looe River in 2015 and have completely refurbished it. Choose from smart, contemporary rooms all of which are en-suite. Set in 3 acres of beautiful gardens and woodland with spectacular views, there are great places to sit and relax - especially by our heated outdoor pool. Award winning superb Cornish Breakfasts - we have it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commonwood Manor

Address: St. Martins Road, Looe PL13 1LP, England (Formerly Barclay House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Price Range: $119 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commonwood Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Commonwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay House Hotel Looe
Commonwood Manor Looe, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Commonwood Manor staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Commonwood Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't bother to book as you wont be sure of having a room at the time?”
 of 5 bubbles 423adamn, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with river views are really spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles cornishchrissy2014, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 view overlooking estuary, good for sunsets, watching birds on the estuary.”
 of 5 bubbles 333belindaa, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Great views”
 of 5 bubbles charlottem782, 17 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Room 7 had lovely bay windows.”
 of 5 bubbles teresar950, 3 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay