We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Saddle Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Saddle Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 188: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great drinks offer plenty of choice. Service from the bar was polite quick and proffetional. Friendly staff available and willing to advise on drinks, food and also Chesters other amenities. Will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely staff, great location and nice food. The staff couldn't do more for us and we couldn't fault them. The decor was interesting and told a story. Parking nearby was free. You can walk into Chester with ease. My friend had a hip injury and managed well because it was flat. The hotel was clean and individually laid out. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reuben18
Yarm on Tees, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just popped in here while waiting for coach to pick us up from a trip Had Sunday lunch and was lovely 1 X beef dinner and 1 X nut roast dinner Was ready made mash and frozen carrots but real Yorkshires Paid £2 for extra roasties Nut roast was beautiful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
thesaddleinnchester, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us some lovely feedback in regards to our Sunday lunch. Our 'Chef' works extremely hard to create a great menu, with plenty of options for people, so I'm glad you enjoyed yourself. Not only do we serve food daily, but we also have a hotel onsite, so if ever you feel like having a longer stay...

lancaster
Reviewed 12 December 2016

stayed here for a girlie weekend and to visit the xmas markets arrived early 11 oclock but they held our bags till we returned, room 2 had two singles and one double, at first glance looked fine, beds comfy very clean duvets,bath towels thick/fluffy,the room was a bit rough around the edges and could of done with a lick of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne g
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us some positive and constructive feedback. I'm glad to hear that 'overall' you and your friends enjoyed your stay. We are more than aware that there are certain areas to our rooms that need improving and I can assure you that we are in the process of making some 'more' improvements - the room you stayed...

Reviewed 12 December 2016

We stayed here recently for 2 nights and can't fault it. The location was amazing, couldn't be any more central. The room was lovely (room 6), up a few stairs but this didn't bother us. We arrived early, which was no problem, we were able to store our luggage and when we came back later our luggage had been carried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolekidd94
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving us some great feedback for your stay with us. I say it often, but it really does mean a lot to all of us at 'The Saddle Inn' when we receive positive praise. We know we're not perfect in certain aspects, but we do our best to make up for that with customer service....

Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Got a loft room nearly decapitated in my drunken slumber. Best bit about chester is the pubs, accommodation is internationally below par. Great location for access from Wales but the room breakfast deal is beyond comprehension,why make b&b complicated? Our room was 3/4 bed with dirty shower tiles woken by pigeons and stale air sorry but far from satisfactory.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback from your stay with us, though I must say I'm rather confused by your review. Firstly I'd like to apologise if you didn't find our business up to the standards you clearly have stated you were expecting. The rating you've given us of 4 out of 5, and...

Llantrisant, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Just returned home from a weekend visit to Chester, having stayed at the Saddle Inn on Saturday night. It really is a brilliant place to stay - lovely rooms, bar serving good food and very friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast is excellent too. It was only a 5 minute walk or less to the main shopping centre, Christmas Market and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cymraes44
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a kind review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit to Chester (the Christmas Market is always amazing). It pleases me immensely that you enjoyed your stay with us, and would be happy to comeback. We are currently seeing a lot of repeat custom, and for a small business like ourselves, it's lovely to see...

North Linconshire
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Stayed just one night in a bit of an emergency. No luggage, change of clothes or anything. My room was fine and the bathroom facilities were across the hall although no-one else in the hotel part would have known it was there or felt inclined to use it as most other rooms were on-suite. Slight evidence of a leak in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greeklover20
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback from your stay. There are always areas that need extra attention in an old building like ours, and in this instance we are aware of a slight issue with Room 3, but thank you anyway for bringing it to our attention. We are currently in the process of dealing...

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

My thanks to Tim who was an excellent host made us very welcome. The rooms where well sized, bed very comfortable and the food was good highly recommend the posh fish finger sandwich. The Saddle Inn is perfectly placed for our Chester visit and we will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such high praise, and though it's always lovely to hear personal praise, it really is a team effort at 'The Saddle Inn' with everyone working together. I actually felt our standards (mine included) had slipped slightly this weekend compared to usual, but then I do think very highly of our staff team and expect high...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

We've visited Chester 4 times previously and i have to say this was the best hotel we have stayed in out of them all. The staff were extremely helpfully and attentive every one of them. The food/ breakfast was lovely and not expensive at all especially the veggie breakfast. 😄 The rooms are lovely decorated and have enough room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette H
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such lovely feedback. Looking after our guests as best as possible is just one of the many things we aim to do at 'The Saddle Inn', and I'm delighted you appreciated this aspect of our business. Chatting with our guests when possible, and actually getting to know them is a dying...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,503 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
562 reviews
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,910 reviews
0.1 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Saddle Inn is located close to the amenities of the city centre and the racecourse and are ideally situated for you to enjoy a fun-filled weekend stay or a relaxing drink or meal with friends and family. The public areas on the ground floor have undergone a complete refurbishment offering our customers a stylish and welcoming environment. A newly designed bar area is sure to impress offering a wide range of draught beers, cask ales, spirits, wines and cocktails. The newly appointed dining area offers a range of home cooked food including light bites, pub classics and a traditional Sunday Roast offering. You can also relax in our lounge area and enjoy a coffee or speciality tea and make use of the free wifi. (Please check with us for our food opening times) The Saddle Inn, newly established in 2014 is in a fantastic central location that enables our guests to truly immerse themselves in the city's thriving cultural landscape. The Saddle Inn is a large historical building which is located near the Roman amphitheatre. We are situated next to the museum and also within walking distance of the race course and shops. All our rooms come with comfortable en-suite or private facilities including: Tea & coffee making facilities, TV with freeview, ironing facilities available by request, hair-dryer by request, fresh towels, complimentary toiletries and free WiFi internet access in the public areas on the ground floor. We are also available for private dining and private functions please contact us for details to make your celebration a special one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Saddle Inn

Address: 21 Grosvenor Street, Chester CH1 2DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $104 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saddle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Saddle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Bells Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Saddle Inn staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Saddle Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 2 first floor accommodate up to 4 people”
 of 5 bubbles 826joannes, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Probably at the rear - mine was no 3.”
 of 5 bubbles Greeklover20, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 was very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles phoebej240, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Full English breakfast included with room 8”
 of 5 bubbles motormatic, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No lift stairs narrow so able bodied only ! Lovely comfortable pleasant hotel”
 of 5 bubbles eadie2016, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay