We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowne Plaza Chester

Show Prices
#11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Chester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Chester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,436: English reviews
Hamshire, UK
Reviewed 3 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my wife for a romantic weekend in Chester. The hotel has a great location but that's as fair as I would really go on the positives. It wasn't that we had a bad stay, just that for the money we paid (£180 per night for an upgraded room but still didn't come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chunky-M0nkey
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am disappointed to see that you could have had a better experience. Whilst I will feed back all the information to the relevant departments, in the meantime if you wish to discuss any details of your stay further please drop me an email at om.cpchester@valorhospitalityeurope.com Kind regards,...

Scunthorpe
Reviewed 2 April 2015

Great hotel, excellent staff and overall very good facilities. The room was very good, the hotel is well laid out the the meals are also very good. An enjoyable stay. The Spa was also very good with excellent massage facilities

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyScunthorpe
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting this superb review of Crowne Plaza Chester. We certainly hope you'll be back soon! Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

This hotel was lovely, the staff could not do enough for us. They where professional, extremely polite and their customer care was to the highest standard. The reception manager was excellent in how he ran an handled issues. I was not overly happy with my room and he immediately offered an alternative or a discount. The room was spotless but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toni Parker P
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience of staying with us. I'm happy that despite the few small problems you have encountered our team has managed to handle them to your satisfaction thus ensuring you will consider us again upon your next stay in Chester. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Reviewed 1 April 2015 via mobile

Just returned home from a 2 night stay here , and what can I say ......loved it !! It was booked last minute by my hubby as a birthday treat away .....concierge couldn't have been more helpful, there was wine , flowers, chocolates, balloon and a card and birthday banners put up for my arrival . we had an evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayney L
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. I'll make sure our team gets all the kind compliments from you regarding service. I apologise for the wait at breakfast, whilst our host can get occupied occasionaly this is certainly no excuse for other members of staff to give you the impression of ignoring you and would warrant...

Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Went above and beyond to ensure my Dad had an extra special 60th Birthday break, little youches like a 60th card in the room meant a lot. He had a wonderful time and enjoyed the room as well as the Club Lounge benefits. Many Thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlistairWales
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a fantastic review, thank you! I am delighted you enjoyed your birthday celebration and I hope you and your family will return soon. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for Valentine’s weekend and had a very pleasant stay. When we arrived, the hotel car park was completely full so when had to park in another car park nearby which I think is the norm during weekends. Reception staff were very helpful, however despite booking a double room we were told they only had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank charjepx
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly let me thank you for writing such a detailed feedback. I am pleased to read that your stay overall was pleasant. I am going to address the issue of your booking with our reservations team to see if we can come up with a solution for the future. In the meantime to avoid confusion let me take...

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Nice hotel in a great location. Staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived a just before lunch and parked in the hotel car park. I went to the reception to check we were okay to park up before we checked in later. They took our name and said our room was ready for us already. Which was fantastic. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Matt B
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, it's lovely to see you have had such a pleasant stay in our hotel. We are currently in the process of upgrading all our bedrooms with a safe and minibar but even now we offer selected rooms with these facilities. Please let us know next time you stay with us and we'll do...

Merseyside
Reviewed 26 March 2015

The room was very clean and comfortable, staff was friendly, the breakfast was very nice with a good choice of foods on offer. The hotel is in an ideal location within walking distance of all chester has to offer

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AMRMerseyside
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza in Chester. I am so pleased you had a good time whlie visiting us and I hope that you come back soon Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Merseyside
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We stayed here on New Years Eve after deciding to do something different. Upon check in, the staff were polite and helpful. After checking in we went up to our room, although it had been cleaned, there was still empty water bottles in the room along with a shampoo bottle in the shower (a pet hate of mine) I probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MustacheMario
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza. Please accept my apologies for the state of the room when you checked in. I assure you that this is not up to the high standard that we set ourselves here at the Crowne Plaza. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to stay at the Crowne Plaza for my partners birthday. The hotel itself has a very central location, the facilities are great and the rooms and bar areas are clean and comfortable - it does feel like a quality hotel. However, when we arrived at 3.15 ready to check in, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K8te190
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza in Chester. While I am pleased that you found my staff friendly and enjoyed the facilities, your expirience when checking in was well below the high standards that we set ourselves at this hotel and for that I would like to offer my sincerest apologies. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

381 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (107)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (152)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,871 reviews
1.2 km away
BW Premier Hallmark Chester The Queen
3.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#17 of 45 in Chester
1,862 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $155 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Chester staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Chester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room if that is what you require.”
 of 5 bubbles June1958, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The room I got had a slanted roof, choose one on the 1st or the 2nd floot”
 of 5 bubbles 34shehzadk, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Haggle on the price. Our room was worth no more than £100-£120/night”
 of 5 bubbles alt981, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Executive Lounge Access!”
 of 5 bubbles Sarahwgrack, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for a king room as the double is very small!!”
 of 5 bubbles mrscurtis2012, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay