We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Chester

Show Prices
#11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Chester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,556 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Chester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,524: English reviews
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Parked in the car park and then was greeted at Reception by Thomas. Very efficient, helpful and motivated about his role. His enthusiasm was wonderful and he is a credit to the Crowne Plaza chain. It was my Mother's birthday and Thomas disappeared into the back and came back with a balloon, some chocolates and some drink vouchers. My Mother...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morley2105
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. My team do strive to make everyones stay special and I am glad that Tom and Joe got the opoortunity to show what a great team we have here at the Crowne Plaza. I hope we will see you again soon Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations manager

Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

After deciding to come to Chester for a mini break away with my boyfriend I left him incharge of choosing the hotel... He chose amazingly after asking for the name did a bit of research and amazing on the photos and breath taking as you walk in! We found it straight away after being to Cheter Zoo and upon arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annabell_Collinson
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had a wonderful time during your short break away in Chester. I know that the staff member you mentioned will be thrilled to know that he had such a positive impact on your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Chester. Kind regards...

Reviewed 12 August 2015

The location of the hotel is excellent. Very central and close to loads of excellent restaurants and bars. The staff are extremely well trained and very friendly. This quality stood out. Rooms are relatively small, but as expected for a city centre hotel. The bar and lobby area are very large and the restaurant is good. On the negative side...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim G
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza in Chester. There are certainly plenty of things to do and see in and around Chester and I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of our central location. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you visit. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

after our Scottish break was cancelled at the last minute due to a virus in that hotel we hurriedly found this hotel and boy how wonderful it was. we had a beautiful room great breakfasts and every member of the hotel team we encountered were so lovely,friendly polite and helpful, thank you so much for making our visit to your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra H
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad that we were able to help rescue your holiday and I do hope that you come back and visit us again soon. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations manager

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

Myself and partner stayed at the crowne plaza in July for one night to celebrate my partners birthday. Location- brilliant location just a short walk from the town centre. The hotel car park was full as it was race day so parked on the adjacent multi storey which wasn't a problem. Room- room was very comfortable with TV tea/ coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandadavis_1
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Hotel. I am delighted that we were able to help you celebrate your partners birthday and it is great to read how much you enjoyed yourselves. We would love to have you come and visit us again soon. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015

What a great trip. My wife and I chose to take a few days mid-week break following the marriage of our youngest son and to celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary. We booked our two night stay at the last minute and secured a fantastic room rate that was cheaper than some budget priced hotels. We arrived at the Crown Plaza...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin W
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am so glad that we were able to make your special occasion a bit more special. My team will be very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you next time you visit. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

camberley
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Crowne plaza was everything I expected. Had lovely stay in reasonably priced hotel in an excellent location. I agree with earlier reviews that reception set up a bit bizarre but otherwise decently sized room, nice bar, very friendly staff. We used pool, jacuzzi etc a few times, most of the time there were very few people in pool which was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank waggers999
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester. It is great to hear that you had a good time while you were staying with us. I hope that come back and visit us again soon. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations manager

Holywell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Loved my stay here, really nice hotel with everything you need and more. Worth every penny paying the extra for the executive rooms they come with sky TV including sports plus access to the club lounge between 5 and 8 you get complimentary drinks and nibbles. Breakfast was amazing with a hot buffet and also an a la carte menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie E
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza in Chester. We really appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had an excellent stay with us. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

We arrived on the 31 August, for 1 night. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised, really helpful and friendly service at reception, Got to our room, with a lovely view of the mountains. Nice little extras in the room. The bed was huge and very comfy 😀. After getting ready for a night out in Chester, we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angleseylady2014
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to seeing you next time you visit Chester. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Scotland
Reviewed 7 August 2015

We stayed here two nights for the races in August. I must admit that the front of the hotel backs onto a horrible street/car park however once you get past this the hotel is lovely. The beds are amazing so comfy. We had a standard room but were very lucky to get a view overlooking the hills in the distance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandCatriona
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester. We value our guests opinions on how the hotel could be improved and we will use your comments to try and improve our guests experience in the future. We do hope that you will visit us again Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

384 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (56)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (107)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (152)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,981 reviews
8.1 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.4 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,962 reviews
0.8 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $151 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Chester staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
Leigh, United Kingdom
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
3 days ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Chester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think the location of the room has any benefits/drawbacks”
 of 5 bubbles barney1954, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the first floor and it was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles susanj813, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better, views are great! There are plenty of rooms so maybe say something if you're put in the disabled room.”
 of 5 bubbles Gazza346, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“As a Chester resident I cannot comment about the bedrooms but the public rooms are of a good quality.”
 of 5 bubbles Clynnog, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the rooms on the race course side have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles caravan3838, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5