We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Chester

CrownePlaza.comUSD 130*
View Deal
#10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 177*
USD 130*
USD 131*
USD 131*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Chester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,579 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Chester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,545: English reviews
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect room, very quiet and access to a car park although space will be limited if you don't get there early! Would highly recommend as near town centre and very close to all the shops / restaurants. Worth the trip!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stryder05
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It was lovely to see that you enjoyed your stay here in Chester, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Katie Currie Assistant Front Office Manager

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Arrived on Saturday to this hotel. Initial impression was that the Reception area is dark and looks tired but the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. On check in was told we had been upgraded . Once we arrived too the room I couldn't believe how old and tired the room was. Certainly not like the photos. On contacting reception...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jonm675
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Hello Jon M! First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our Crowne Plaza Chester, UK. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, especially with the room condition. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope...

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Very typical branded chain hotel but customer service was really good We were upgraded free to a club room Really central for the city centre. So very easy to reach bars and restaurants in the evening. not unique in any way but a very solid offering.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent birthday night out here with us in Chester, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards Katie Currie Assistant Front Office Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in the town centre which makes it easy to go out in the evening and daytime. The hotel was as expected but the prices are steep for what you get. We paid extra for the executive room which allowed access to the lounge, it's good value for money esp of you drink there before an evening out....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JESS1C4
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review from your stay here in Chester with us. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay and access to our executive lounge, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Katie Currie Assistant Front Office Manager

Reviewed 18 March 2017

Great rooms and friendly staff Great location easy walking into Town and short distance to Racecourse Would hove no hesitation in recommending this hotel. As for the City of Chester it is a good place to wonder around the old world shops and try having a walk around the old castle walls(approx 2.2 miles )

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevin a
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us here in Chester. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards Katie Currie Assistant Front Office Manager

UK
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Hi standard type of chain hotel, although the staff were extremely pleasant. Room was okay again nothing exceptional. Breakfast very good lots of choice. Location of this hotel is really good right in town. Parking can be an issue. The ncp carpark under the hotel is a total rip off. I recommend booking direct with hotel as I got a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KJBerkshire
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Chester and I will be certain to pass on your kind comments to our staff. We are very fortunate that we are able to offer parking within the walls of the city centre, however, in the event of the car park becoming full, the...

London
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed in the Crown Plaza between Cristmas and New Year to experience the Chester shopping and dining experience. Unfortunately we chose one of the coldest weeks of the year to visit. Chester is a great place for shopping and eating and the Crown Plaza is ideally located with good parking facilities

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barney1954
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us over Christmas and New Year. It was lovely to see that you enjoyed your stay, despite the cold weather here in Chester! We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Katie Currie Assistant Front Office Manager

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is located perfectly from the centre of Chester, it is easily accessible and very welcoming. The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The beds in the hotel were very comfortable and the rooms were spotless. Although we didn't eat in the hotel the room was a little expensive for what it is but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest It was great to read that you enjoyed so many different aspects of your recent stay with us here in Chester, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards Katie Currie Assistant Front Office Manager

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

food terrible cold and no taste and that was christmas dinner the rest of the meals were worse. one evening meal the chicken smelt of fish. loads of people sent their food back and demanded ham egg and chips. for the price of 5 day christmas break day light robbery

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maiseruth
gm_cpchester, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to review your time with us over Christmas 2016. I would like to apologise that the food offerings during your stay were not up to the high standard that we would expect. Over the Christmas period we serve over 200 guests for breakfast,lunch and dinner each night. So to hear you experienced...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Great location in the heart of city ideal for shopping city walls and a walk by the river, Had a swimming pool which is great when you have children with you Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast was very good lots of choice Would definately stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Chester. It was lovely to see that you were able to take advantage of the location of the hotel and I will be certain to pass on your kind comments to our staff. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon....

369 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (56)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (107)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,021 reviews
1.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
8.2 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.5 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,987 reviews
0.8 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $165 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Chester staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
Leigh, United Kingdom
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Chester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms on the right of the lift exit and on the right of the corridor have racecourse views”
738kangoo, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I don't think the location of the room has any benefits/drawbacks”
barney1954, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the first floor and it was nice and quiet”
susanj813, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better, views are great! There are plenty of rooms so maybe say something if you're put in the disabled room.”
Gazza346, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“As a Chester resident I cannot comment about the bedrooms but the public rooms are of a good quality.”
Clynnog, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
CrownePlaza.com
USD 130* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 131
Hotels.comUSD 131
TripAdvisorUSD 131
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates