We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chester Recorder House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Chester Recorder House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 356: English reviews
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The house is listed so has to remain in character. We found it lovely, quaint but comfortable. Right on the wall and next to the river. Easy walk into town center. We didn't need to use the car for two days. The couple who run it are helpful, and friendly. Breakfast was great. Full English and variations of, scrambled egg... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Outonthewolds
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Out of all the b&bs we have stayed at this has got to be the worst dirty cold bathroom uncomfertable bed poor hosts very limited car parking asked to wait for breakfast in lounge they have more rooms than tables in the dining room

Helpful?
1 Thank filoe
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

I can't believe that you stayed with us. Poor hosts!!!! Our most positive feature according to nearly every other comment and I know that we go out of our way to make guests feel welcome. The website mentions limited parking, but we have never yet not managed to park anyone, unless on occasion two people arrive in two cars for... More 

London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a five-night stay in this delightful historic house. Adrian and Fiona are friendly and ever helpful. The hotel is quiet, our bed was comfy and breakfast was very good. The Recorder is in a fantastic location five minutes walk from the shopping streets of Chester (which are beautifully decorated for Christmas). If all that wasn't enough, it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank RoverTLondon
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Positives = close to town centre, parking, good welcome. Negatives = very out dated, musty unclean smell, cold rooms, dust 2cm thick behind bed (room 5 ),TV in closet (which turned itself off randomly), cob webs on all walls and ceilings. We booked 2 nights but checked out after 1st night, rang the owner to ask for any refund but... More 

Helpful?
Thank joanne281109
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

It is a pity that you did not mention any of this while your were here. Your reason for checking out, so you said, was because you had been ill in the night. I asked if everything was all right with the Recorder House and you said yes. I explained that I would charge you for the second night as... More 

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely weekend away staying here. House was lovely and room quiky. Fabulous views of the river. Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. Excellent location for shops, restaurants and local historic sites. Just minutes away. Would recommend to anyone wanting a more personal stay in Chester. Visit the falconry cheap to get in and an experience holding the birds. Also... More 

Helpful?
Thank emma r
somerset
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Elegantly furnished house in a lovely location right outside the river. For me it didn't make 5 stars as some little things could be improved to make it a more luxurious stay; designer toiletries and a more varied breakfast offering higher quality food items would definitely make it more of a special treat to stay in.

Helpful?
Thank elar
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely quaint Bed & Breakfast in the City Centre Walls-perfect position For a city break. Chester was amazing Lovely couple who run it and the breakfasts were lovely - nice relaxing place to stay - would really want to go back

Helpful?
Thank shirleyp336
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I have just returned from a stay here. What can I say.....Location is excellent, right on the city walls over looking the river Dee. You are only literally a few minutes walk from the city with all its attractions. Considering how close you are the accommodation is very quite at night with no noise from people enjoy the bars and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annette W
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Overlooking the River Dee and Weir the Quirky but superb Recorder House is the perfect base to explore Chester. Minutes walk from the boat/Bus tours and shops/pubs . Allocated parking which was a bonus . Our room was spotlessly clean with thoughtful extras such as milk and bottled water in a fridge on the landing . Very comfortable bed .... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Wymondham,Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Lovely old hotel on the city walls with the best rooms giving wonderful views of the river Dee.Situated in easy distance of both the boat trips and sightseeing bus yet only five minutes from the centre.Excellent breakfast and helpful owners make this a great place to stay. The

Helpful?
Thank 918winstonv

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.0 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
568 reviews
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,866 reviews
0.6 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
533 reviews
0.2 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Chester Recorder House

Address: 19 City Walls, Chester CH1 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $139 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chester Recorder House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Recorder House Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chester Recorder House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Keighley, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Chester Recorder House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles joanne281109, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Worth the extra to have a room overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles PeterH876, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best rooms are at the front giving excellent views of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles 918winstonv, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the river are brighter.”
 of 5 bubbles Mumsyross, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“River view”
 of 5 bubbles Wendyg60, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay