We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pied Bull Inn

PricelineUSD 83*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 96*
USD 83*
Great Deal
USD 96*
USD 96*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Pied Bull Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

554 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pied Bull Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 550: English reviews
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

We had the pleasure of a Sunday night stay with them. The pub it's self is quaint and quirky very popular but keeps a nice homely feel to it. Rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean (lovely big bathroom). The pub couldn't be more central with the cathedral opposite and it's inside the roman walls. All staff were friendly. I'm currently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zena B
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such lovely comments. I am very happy that you enjoyed you time spent here with us at the Pied Bull and we do hope that you manage to find that excuse to visit Chester again and come to visit us again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Great location in centre of Chester. Me and my boyfriend stayed for one night unfortunately the room we had been put in number 2 was like a sauna even at 11pm so we asked to change rooms they where very accommodating and we moved to room number 4 which was a massive improvement! Only problem then was the awful nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten457
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, We are happy that we were able to accommodate the room change for you both. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Pied Bull and hope to you again soon.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the four poster bedroom for one night. It was really lovely and looks exactly the same as the pictures show. A very comfortable room but the wifi connection was poor. When we booked it we didn't realise how close it was to the centre which was a nice surprise. Didn't enjoy the full English in the morning,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahhh88
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We at the Pied Bull take feedback very serious and try our up-most to correct any negatives which we are notified about. I am happy to inform you that now with our new developments we have boosted the whole hotel and new beer garden and bed rooms with wi-fi. Our Front of House...

Southampton
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Decent pub in the centre of Chester, good selection of well kept ales. They had about six real ales on when I was on there, I tried 3 and all were in great condition. Very knowledgeable staff. I would definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we take great pride in our real ales as we are the only micro brewery in Chester so we are very happy with your feedback thank you. We hope to see you again soon.

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2016

The Pied Bull has character and is haunted by two ghosts. There is a brewery in the cellar so real ale aficionados are well catered for and a 10% discount is available for CAMRA members. The food was good, the hot element of breakfasts were cooked to order, evening meals were very tasty. The staff were very helpful and friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We at the Pied Bull are very happy with your positive feedback.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We had a great stay here, the inn was very comfortable, full of "period charm"! We sampled the ales which are brewed on site, definitely recommended. We would stay here again. You do hear a bit of noise at night but no more than I would expect for a city centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately we only stayed for 1 night. Just beautiful. Our room was a family room, which had so much space with a second bedroom! The renovated bathroom was superb! We had dinner downstairs, after a stroll around the beautiful Christmas markets. Breakfast was very enjoyable also. A very comfortable stay in beautiful English hotel. Will stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jillianthetraveller
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Fantastic comfortable room and a lovely breakfast I would definitely stay here again. The bed was very comfortable with a lovely double shower en suite. Nice central location with a car park just behind which was a cheap price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

I had read about this pub before we went and had heard about the good ales. The pub boasts the only micro brewery within the Chester City Walls. It is in fact as I was told 14feet beneath the floor of the bar. The beers x3 that I sampled were full of flavour and really enjoyable. Our visit was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanMac1960
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Had an excel time in the pied bull. Staying next door to a hunted room and it's own brewery. It catered for are meals and drinks. The pub is in the heart of the local theatre and central cester. Will go back again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (60)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,049 reviews
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 44 in Chester
1,086 reviews
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $126 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pied Bull Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
uk
over a year ago
10 months ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Pied Bull Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not get a front room as it's very noisy at night (I stayed at #9).”
dianek159, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a bigger double room in the main pub”
Papagayo12, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check it has been cleaned thoroughly”
Unhappy276, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay in room 9.”
kimbobl81, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 was lovely and clean”
Sar_Hantrip, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 83* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUSD 96
TravelocityUSD 96
Hotels.comUSD 96
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates