We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pied Bull Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pied Bull Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 527: English reviews
Start your review of Pied Bull Inn
 Click to rate
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed here on a Monday night before Valentines Day and really enjoyed the stay. The room (Room 8) was lovely and quirky, with lovely furniture, modern bathroom, comfy bed and nice decoration. We thought the room was definitely worth the price and was in an ideal location. Only downfall was the noise downstairs, outside in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sar_Hantrip
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for three wonderful nights in room 14 very clean and comfortable, not a level floorboard in the place but but brilliant, 15th century handmade staircase a work of art lol. friendly and helpful staff the location is perfect will be going back at some point

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Doug K
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We called in for an early tea before taking in a concert across the road.The menu had changed since our last visit and we didnt think there was as much choice. We were served by a very pleasant and helpful young lady at our table and our food arrived promptly ( we ordered burgers and asked for it to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lokilynx
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just stayed here for two nights fantastic the staff and the accommodation also the food was excellent will definitely be coming back .. Very central as we didn't take a car bus station just around corner also a very helpful information centre down the street.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda M
Ware
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had difficulty in finding somewhere to eat last Sunday evening in Chester. We were directed to the Pied Bull and we were so pleased at the outcome. We had a marvellous meal at a good price and the staff were delightful, especially the young lady who served us.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank juliadaviesuk
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Pied Bull last night. First impressions were good. The staircase was steep however that is to be expected from an old pub that is full of character. Our room looked nice however we immediately noticed a strong draft coming through the window. The room was cold however portable heaters are provided to combat this. Unfortunately, our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bionicferrets
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is old and full of character - the stairways up to the top floor have a life all of their own. Our room was very clean and well appointed - but since it overlooked a main road we didn't get much sleep (I'd like to know why Chester thinks it necessary to run street cleaning machinery at around 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your time spent with us. Unfortunately we have no say as to street cleaning times in the city center that is the councils choice. We do apologise for the inconvenience but being city center located we cannot change that. We would like to say however if you choose...

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful pub. It's facinating to see the medieval decor in parts and sample the great range of real ales. Food looked good and hearty. Shame we got the barmaid on a bad day; when asked about the beers she said sharply she didn't drink beer so couldn't say......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kath R
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at the Pied Bull. I will also be looking to see who the bar maid was so i can understand this matter further. We have recently started to put a sample pot out so that the customers can see the...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice atmosphere here, good range of ales and beers, and plenty of history all around you. Highly recommended place for a couple of drinks, or a meal. The Pied Bull has its own range of brewed beers, which means its always good, and also very good value as well

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time spent with us and we are very pleased that you enjoyed our wide range of beers that we brew here.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely old pub with pleasing atmosphere. It is an old building so have to expect steep uneven stairs and creaky floorboards. Very pleasant, clean, nicely decorated room with modern shower room (easy to use shower). Central heating is poor but very effective heaters provided. Quiet enough for me not to need ear plugs. Good situation in the town. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janet c
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us at the Pied Bull. We are happy that you enjoyed your time spent with us here and that the location of where we are situated was ideal for yourself. Breakfast is available and be chosen upon booking or on the day if you decide to add breakfast to your room rate....

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (60)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
1,944 reviews
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,531 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#4 of 45 in Chester
593 reviews
0.6 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $102 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pied Bull Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
uk
over a year ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Pied Bull Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 8 was lovely and clean”
 of 5 bubbles Sar_Hantrip, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask before booking!”
 of 5 bubbles TonyR438, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Can only speak of rooms down side street. 20 rooms in total, some are in the actual pub.”
 of 5 bubbles 114DebbieG, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get rooms at the rear as the main street can be noisy at night with revellers”
 of 5 bubbles FionaS612, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quite room if they have one.”
 of 5 bubbles Casino8uk, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5