We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,135: English reviews
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2015

well I've stopped in a lot of holiday inns and have been very impressed but not with this one and very expensive , on arrival the receptionist was very welcoming,the decor needs some work paint was all marked doors had trim missing the bed in the room sagged really bad , towels were tread bare , I'm a veggie and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrian h
Lucy H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. I am delighted to hear that you experienced our high standards of customer service and will be sure to pass these comments on to the team. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast, which is sourced...

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Fantastic location for Racecourse and city centre. Free parking and the normal Holiday Inn good value and standards. No issues or problems with this hotel and highly recommended. Good breakfast included in the price and so close to the city you can walk everywhere and leave the car in the free car park. Good bar at hotel, staff are nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyjohnny50
Lucy H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. We are very lucky to be located just a five minute walk from the city centre for our guests to explore the wonderful city of Chester. I am delighted to hear that you experienced our high standards of customer service and...

York
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

Booked an overnight stay, on arriving you actually drive into Chester Racecourse Car Park, got a good parking space, check in really good, very friendly IHG membership totally acknowledged, which was welcome. Efficient check in very quick. Room on third floor overlooking the racecourse, which was great, although train line close, not that noticeable. Only downside, a few sheds etc...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CSYork
Lucy H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.   I am pleased to hear that you experienced our high standards of customer service and our IHG member recognition welcome. Once again thank you for your recent review and we hope to welcome you back soon to experience a newly...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting chester. The hotel is ideal location to the centre just a 5 mins walk away. The hotel room was lovely very clean and tidy and the shower was lovely but the room was very warm we need to have a fan on and it wasn't that warm outside. The hotel was nice but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baker255
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review

Dear baker255, Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. I am pleased you liked the location and rooms in our hotel and were satisfied with the level of cleanliness provided. However, I regret to read that we could not impress and satisfy you with our breakfast and that you were inconvenienced due to insufficient soundproofing...

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We had room 311, which gave a good view of the racecourse and the railway line. The trains can be heard but they didn't bother us, in fact it was fun trying to work out where some of them were going to. If you are an early riser I'd recommend the nearby riverside promenade walk or just simply walk on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HUFC5272
Lucy H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. We are very lucky to be located just a five minute walk from the city centre, for our guests to explore the wonderful city of Chester. I am pleased to hear that you made use of our complimentary wi fi available...

Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

We were not impressed to find a pillow covered in make-up, hairs and a stain in the bed, stains on the toilet seat, a loose toilet fitting and a dirty phone in our room. The cups and plates at breakfast were dirty too. Not good! This experience has put us off staying in Holiday Inns.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank citybreak1234
Lucy H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay, these are not our usual standards of housekeeping and please be assured the relevant action will be taken regarding this. Please accept my sincere apologies and if you would like...

Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Good location for a night out or shopping day , very clean hotel and very nice rooms / bathrooms , but sleep wise you won't get much due to the train track , and the rooms are boiling hot so hard to sleep in !!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mozzydog1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review

Dear Kimwalker1, Thank you for posting a review for our hotel. It is nice to know that you appreciated the location of our hotel and the good condition of our rooms. However, we regret to know that you did not have a good night's sleep due to the train track and the temperature of the room. Rest assured that your...

Alnwick
Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night whilst working in Chester. Let's start with the positives - basic but well cooked breakfast! The scrambled eggs are made perfectly! Free wi-if in room and throughout the building. The work station in room was good and a decent desk and chair. The bathroom was a good size with large shower. And the bad - the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robbo231173
Lucy H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, which is sourced locally with award winning sausages. We do have two restaurants just across the car park, offering 10% discount to guests. Once again thank you for your recent review...

Huntersville
Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

This hotels main plus is location and price. Price was good compared to most and it was only a sort 5 minute walk from Watergate Street in Chester. One sticker wicket upon arrival is the entrance. Come in like your parking for the races but tell the attendant you are going to the hotel. He checks your name and then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Latta
Lucy H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. We are very lucky to be located just a five minute walk from the city centre, for our guests to explore the wonderful city of Chester. We do ensure there are plenty of spaces for our guests. Once again thank you...

Stoke on Trent
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Stayed here for the one night prior to the Chester Half Marathon May 17th. Brilliant location for the racecourse and if you're taking part in the Chester Half you can't get a better location. Rooms are standard for HIE hotels, very comfortable although this had a much firmer mattress than usual (which was good considering the run I did the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
Lucy H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. We are very lucky to be located just a five minute walk from the city centre, for our guests to explore the wonderful city of Chester. I am delighted to hear that you experienced our high standards of customer service. I...

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,471 reviews
0.3 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
BW Premier Hallmark Chester The Queen
0.4 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,863 reviews
1.3 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#15 of 45 in Chester
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $98 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the 2nd floor in a re-furbished room and no problems at all.”
 of 5 bubbles babs787, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with twin beds and you'll be more comfortable. Avoid rooms overlooking the railway tracks.”
 of 5 bubbles 818trevord, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the racecourse”
 of 5 bubbles 264terencen, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for refurbed room facing racecourse”
 of 5 bubbles GCT22, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a nice view!”
 of 5 bubbles Suziescorner, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay