We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,281: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights B&B. Ok it's a standard chain hotel but met the need. Room comfortable and clean if a little stuffy, but it was very cold outside. Ate in the restaurant, a pleasant meal and very attentive staff. Second eve ate out for variety and recommend the Ring o bells. Breakfast was as expected with all buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Attentive young staff - Tandoori chicken was suggested from the menu, whcih I accepted. When the meal arrived it consisted of two chicken kebabs performing a trapeze / hanging from a coat hanger - I kid you not ! I have never seen anything like it - I am well travelled and seen a few performances with kebabs in my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidWels
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here on a superbreak deal, 2 night, dinner on first night. Room was a standard, bit dated but comfortable! Mainly used for Chester zoo and a visit to Chester city. Used the pool and spa, in need of a big makeover, very run down, bit grubby in some places, expect better now in hotels but served a purpose anyway....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard507
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here. We had burgers on arrival in the bar which were homemade and delicious. The location is great as it is right by the park and ride which we just walked to and got on the bus. The only negatives were that we went when the races were on so it was very very noisy from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faye1988t
Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Faye, Thank you for taking the time to feed back to me following your stay. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and were able to enjoy the city as well. If you are due to stay with us again, feel free to request a quiet room and we will do our best to accommodate. I hope...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on Saturday night and had a lovely stay. Entrance was lovely decorated so beautiful, The receptionist when checking us in was lovely giving us all the information we needed. Got to the room and it was a nice room can't fault anything We had breakfast the next day delivered to the room and it was gorgeous, there wa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoLiverpool8
Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo, Thank you for your positive review, it sounds like you had a fabulous stay. I am so pleased you enjoyed your room and breakfast and thank you for your kind comments about the decorations and my reception team. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again very soon. Bethan Johnston General Manager

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here fri n sat room was nothing like described on booking .com proper cold room -1in chester at time noisy annoying pipes through night and early morning dreadful smell of dirty cooking oil woke me and my partner up around 5.30am I can only assume this was breakfast starting up informed reception on check out who said would look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anon1878
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night mid week in a standard double room. Its about £6 in a taxi from Chester Station so not right in the centre. The room was fine. Everything worked ok apart from one flickering bedside light. The bed was disappointing as it was just 2 singles pushed together to create a double. It was securely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kayleigh B
Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kayleigh, Thank you for your positive review. Some of our rooms have king beds made up of two single beds that are securely attached and topped with king mattress protector and bedding. I am sorry if you found it too hard for your liking, they were all new last year and are comfort mattresses. I'm pleased that you enjoyed...

Witham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked via the accor site and used up points to reduce the costs of our stay. We also had pre booked a discounted dinner + prosecco - we paid what we thought was the difference when we checked in - and were made to feel like a criminal at checkout - told to pay more and that was despite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ian_and_rachel
Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian and Rachel, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry you felt you couldn't contact me directly if we had made a mistake. I hope that you enjoyed your break before the disappointment at checkout, please accept my apologies if this negatively impacted your experience. Kind regards, Bethan Jonhston General Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying as part of a tour and found this hotel's quality to be below that of other hotels on the same tour. The halls had older and worn carpet with a somewhat musty odor. Our room was small but reasonably clean yet still had an old musty odor as well. The location was not convenient to the city...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that we did not meet all of your expectations during your visit. It is a shame to hear your comments about our location, we are less than a 5 minute stroll to the park and ride that for £2.00 will take you into the centre of Chester, it will also take you to the Zoo,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

NOT only the hotel is in bad shape, but the staff is untrained and completely lacks costumer service skills , the restaurant service is bad, only 2 servers for the entire restaurant and our group was over 40 people, the restaurant manager finally decided to help some but when dinnner finally was presented was cold and not fresh , THE...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adriana O
Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adriana, I am sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. Could I ask that you contact me on gm.mercurechester@jupiterhotels.co.uk with your contact number so that we can discuss your experience? Kindest regards, Bethan Johnston General Manager

131 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.5 km away
BW Premier Hallmark Chester The Queen
3.1 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#17 of 45 in Chester
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,469 reviews
9.2 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Holiday Inn Chester South
#23 of 45 in Chester
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $99 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Grasonville, Maryland, United States
over a year ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Blackpool, United Kingdom
3 months ago
birkenhead
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms around #260 are a hike from reception, cant help the noise along the corridor as underfloor creaks - noise from a Motorway !”
 of 5 bubbles DavidWels, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“W Our room was on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Dabernon, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Studio Room we stayed in was just fine. It had tea & Coffee making facilities, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles 474rooster, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Always select a room near to dinning area otherwise you will have to walk a lot.to go there.Most rooms on ground level facing car park.”
 of 5 bubbles 811vasanthb, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room 243 was quiet , clean and had good facilities”
 of 5 bubbles U7853OJleeb, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay