We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,306: English reviews
Ellesmere Port
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

What should have been a lovely relaxing night away celebrating a friends birthday was completely ruined by the careless act of the hotel restaurant putting my friends health in jeopardy by serving her normal bread with her starter, knowing full well she had requested gluten free bread as she is a celiac. As you can imagine, this completely ruined the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iandgcook
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just back from a two night stay - had a lovely time. Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the park and ride so easy to get into the city. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. Slight issue with first night evening meal which was quickly sorted. Sarah on reception was particularly helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally V
west yorkshire
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Brilliant hotel lovely staff lovely food. Leisure facilities fab. Upgraded the room and defo worth it. Added to this pressco in the room and a card for my husbands birthday. Lovely touch. Will be back nxt yr. Thank you x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tubbsWestYorkshire
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived very late but service at the reception and bar was very good even though we didn't get the room upgrade we were promised as it was a special anniversary celebration (very disappointing). They did honour free breakfast which was nice. It was rather hectic at breakfast with long queues into the restaurant and food and drink running out....

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ayesha D
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived Friday 30th Dec. Checked in and asked what time we wanted afternoon tea and our Evening meal booked times we wanted.we up to our room dropped bags of and went to the bar. All the staff were great very accommodating from Richard the night porter making calypso coffee for 2 of the ladies at 1:40 am to Kevin on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geraint2manon
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food good especially New Year's Eve gala ,the mushroom soup excellent,well done mercury,to serve 170 guests spot on,staff were very good ,nothing was a problem,thankyou Richard for going out of your way to help me find a reputable jewellers ,I would stay again thankyou graham&karen room352.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gtcharker
Cheshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed from the 24 December for 2 nights absolutely magical!!! The bedrooms are comfortable, clean a credit to the housekeeping team, food was lovely, fresh and on Christmas Day evening a buffet was served which we asked if it was possible to take ours through to the lounge as it is so relaxing in there. Reception team we're happy, friendly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winnie66Cheshire
Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Winnie, Thank you so much for such a lovely review, I am over the moon to hear about your stay. The whole team worked very hard over Christmas to make it a special experience for those staying with us and they will be so pleased to read your comments. It's great news you will be returning in 2017, however...

Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hotel is shabby and feels very temporary. The photos on the website look impressive however our room was so tiny and the bed was a very small double bed. One could hardly turn around n the very small bathroom. The room had a musty odour about it. The room was shabby and had been painted in a very DIY...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 504travellers
burnley
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On first impressions we thought we had chosen a good hotel as the reception area was welcoming and looked nice. Unfortunately only one receptionist and the man in front had a problem with his booking so we had to wait for nearly half an hour, then The Manager turned up and tried to say we hadn't been waiting that long,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amanda p
Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, I am sorry that you were unhappy with your bedroom and were delayed at reception. Our beds and mattresses were all new last year and we get lots of positive comments about them, however I know that a mattresses' firmness is a matter of preference. I do apologise if there was a maintenance issue with your room, although...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The corridor felt like the shining. Very dated decor. Cold building, smelt old, chipped and fraying furnishings and fittings. I'd just stayed in an ibis styles the night before for close to half the price of this place which was a much nicer experience and even included an excellent breakfast. Breakfast here on the other hand was £11 (if preordered)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buckers582
Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Buckers582, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay. I am sorry you felt dissatisfied with your stay, I assure you for Chester at this time of year we are probably the best value 4 star hotel in the market. The leisure centre is not run by a separate company but maintained and managed...

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
3.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,503 reviews
3.1 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Holiday Inn Chester South
#23 of 45 in Chester
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $97 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Expedia so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Grasonville, Maryland, United States
over a year ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Blackpool, United Kingdom
5 months ago
birkenhead
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room 352 was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles gtcharker, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had 2 rooms booked, our friends room had 3 drawers for storing clothes, our room only had 1, not enough”
 of 5 bubbles stephenbQ968JK, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms around #260 are a hike from reception, cant help the noise along the corridor as underfloor creaks - noise from a Motorway !”
 of 5 bubbles DavidWels, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“W Our room was on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Dabernon, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Studio Room we stayed in was just fine. It had tea & Coffee making facilities, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles 474rooster, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay