We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Pheasant Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Pheasant Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

567 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 566: English reviews
Start your review of The Pheasant Inn
 Click to rate
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited yesterday, place very busy and initially young waiter gave very complicated statement about our order. However despite a table near to the door (somebody has to have it) which was constantly opening and closing we were served in a very short time. The Yorkshire pudding was cold but the provision of extra gravy did warm it through. The vegetables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here many times and it never fails in my eyes. Unbelievable view especially in the summer looking over the whole of Cheshire. Lovely cosy feel to the pub once inside, food absolutely gorgeous, everything that ive had here is top notch 👌🏻

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidHighton
Scarisbrick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited The Pheasant recently for a Saturday night stay. Although it was raining, the views were beautiful. The pub was absolutely packed when we arrived at 1pm - booking is advisable! We ate around 2.30pm when things had quietened down. Decent selection of sandwiches and "pub classics" for lunchtime. We ate (again!) pre booked dinner in the evening. Lovely dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Kathryn, many thanks for your review, following your recent overnight stay with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to read your review, and to see what an enjoyable stay you had with us and how it met your expectations. We do have some amazing views, and this coupled with our fantastic menu and helpful staff really does make...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recomended by a good friend to visit. The location is beautiful, restaurant is very beautiful with great decor and great food.the only downfall was the welcoming and service was not that great as I felt it was not fantastic to the venue and food quality it offers. Nevertheless I would come again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peixoto1
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us. It was nice to see that generally you had a good time with us, and that the location, decor and food all met your expectations. I am sorry that on this occasion the welcome and service was not to the standard, and I will certainly be passing these comments...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a Sunday afternoon with my partner and can say we both really enjoyed the food here. The pub itself has lots of character and is warm and cosy. I had pate for starter which was really nice and had the steak pie for main. Easily the best pie I've eaten at a pub in years! Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iceland-Suze
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was nice to read your review, and to see what an enjoyable time you had with us, and how you found the food to your liking, and the homemade Pie's are certainly worth the journey alone. I look forward to welcoming you back sometime...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been here a few times now and they could rely on their views of Cheshire alone but no. The food, service and ambience are all excellent every time. The food is of a very high standard and the service is efficient and always with a smile. Can't fault anything. Keep it up you guys.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Robert, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was nice to read your review, and to see that each time you have visited us that we have met your expectations. As you have mentioned we do have a stunning location, which is also backed up with our food, service and...

Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I took my parents here yesterday (7th Feb) as the weather was lovely and the views from there are very nice. The pub is cosy and warm and the food and service never disappoint, which we've mentioned on numerous occasions to family and friends. HOWEVER, this was not the case yesterday. The pub was not full and yet the service...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mhairii
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, and it was not upto the normal standards that both you have experienced, and we as a business expect. Your comments will certainly be relayed to the senior team at The Pheasant Inn so that they...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Has been our family favourite since forever! Where to start with favourites on the menu???...... Well butchers board to start, this feeds at least 3 adults especially if you have a main to follow, then the mains.....the steak pie oh yes the best, I have mine with sweet potato fries the healthy option!!! And baked beans.. Amazing!! The steak a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsb067
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It is always nice to welcome back returning guests, and as you have mentioned we really do have a fantastic menu which has something for everyone. I do hope we can continue to welcome you, and once again many thanks for your kind review....

Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had heard lots of good reviews about this place, good food, warm and welcoming environment, helpful staff, and reasonably priced, so we thought we would try it out for Sunday lunch. We arrived relatively late on the Sunday afternoon, and trying to find a place to park was an absolute nightmare. We didn't mind, as we thought the visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosie a
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent Sunday lunch with us. I am sorry that certain aspects did not meet your expectations, as we do always try to meet the expectations of all diners. Because of our location we are governed by the parking situation, which can certainly be very busy, not just with diners but also local people...

Tarporley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I decided to have a meal here for our wedding anniversary. We have visited a few times before as we are local to the area. In the past we always found it cosy, welcoming with good food. We had booked a table in advance and when we arrived were shown to our table. We sat down and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jules268_12
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us. Firstly I am sorry that on this occasion as couple of aspects did not match your previous visits to us. I think I know which table you are making reference to, and we are currently in the process of looking at some new tables which will certainly mean that...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
15.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
15.1 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
1,946 reviews
14.8 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
2,965 reviews
15.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,539 reviews
11.6 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $187 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didn't stay in a room only had lunch. Don't visit on a Sunday”
 of 5 bubbles 207rosiea, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms in the annexe were very nice large and comfortable,ideal for dog owners as the appear to be the biggest rooms”
 of 5 bubbles hawksmore, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book well in advance,the hotel is very popular”
 of 5 bubbles 15nevilles, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“As for room with a view when booking”
 of 5 bubbles littlechops2016, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Detached bedroom block for views.”
 of 5 bubbles RobbieBStockport, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5