We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hallmark Inn Chester

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hallmark Inn Chester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

850 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Inn Chester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 838: English reviews
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Should have stayed here on 10th December 2016. I can't review what the hotel is like, as 2 days before our trip, reservations called to say that we couldn't stay there and had been moved 1.5 miles out of Chester city centre. I booked our room in October, and paid UPFRONT! My confirmation email said my reservation was guaranteed. Don't...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sarah J
Management response:

Dear Sarah J Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience. We understand your frustration with your booking being moved, as you say from time to time things can go wrong, and for this please accept my apologises. The information you have provided has been past on to the relevant departments and learnings have...

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Was put up here for 1 night for a company Xmas party that was across the street. Apart from the handy location, there was not much else to recommend about this hotel. The only parking available was at a pub parking lot next door, 10 pound a night, or the station parking lot down the street. The room I was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KGE
Management response:

Dear KGE Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We understand your stay with us did not meet the highest of standards and for this we apologise. The Information you have provided has been past on to the Housekeeping team and they will implement change straight away. The hotel itself is due to under go a refurbishment...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

The room we stayed in was frankly one of the worst that I've ever stayed in. It was in serious need of renovation with holes in the walls, wallpaper peeling off the walls and a dirty bathroom. Staff not particularly keen to be there and looked bored and weren't particularly engaging. I would not recommend this hotel. See pictures attached...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UK-Yorkshire
Management response:

Dear UK-Yorkshire Thank you for your review We understand your stay with us did not meet with your expectations and for this we apologise. We aim to provide a high level of service and cleanliness in rooms, as we continue to improve this through guest feedback. Your comments provided have been communicated back to both the Reception and Housekeeping teams...

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Great hotel with real character and charm. Bit tired in some areas but our room was spotless and a decent size. The staff really welcoming and the only downside is that we arrived early to make the most of shopping to be told we could not book in although they had our details until after 3pm although they offered to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MikeSt18
Management response:

Dear MikeSt18 Thank you for your review. Myself and the team at the hotel were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room clean and the staff welcoming. In regards to checking in early, on your next visit if you call the hotel direct this is something we may be able to arrange for you....

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Noisy, old, old, old room. Non-existent, unhelpful, bordering-on-rude customer service at front desk. An "upgrade" to an executive room. Still a rubbish room. Did I mention OLD rooms? Not convinced? Then please waste your money here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulesB66
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear JulesB66 Thank you for your review. We understand your stay at the Westminster did not meet with the highest of standards we would hope for and we do apologise for this. We aim to provide the best service possible to our guests and we continue to improve this through guest feedback. Your comments provided have been brought to the...

england
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Stayed 1 night 26th November with 3 friends for the christmas markets, had read the reviews and was a little worrie. Checking in was done very quickly and the staff were really nice, I was in a single room 217. I was given the wrong key but it was sorted out straight away, I thought the room was ok for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gunieapig
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear gunieapig Thank you for your review on the Westminster Hotel. We are always very grateful for any reviews and are extremely pleased we have met with your expectations on your visit to Chester. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel in the future. Kind Regards

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Recently had a second visit to this hotel. First year all good. Second year sorry to say hotel needs a fast refurbishment. We had two rooms booked one for 2 nights the second for 1. First impression at reception all looks fine however when you get to your room. So it's a different story... One room had no heating for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terri W
Reading
Reviewed 1 December 2016

The hotel was probably a lovely place to stay 60 - 100 years ago. Now it's run-down, needs refurbishment and is generally very tired. The room was fairly comfortable, but the paint was peeling, the water-pipes made a lot of noise, the shower had now power etc... I should also mention that the breakfast was vaguely palatable, but certainly not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JonSpeed
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear JonSpeed Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Westminster Hotel. We always strive to try and exceed our customer’s expectations throughout the duration of a stay and upon this occasion have failed to do so. I'm sorry to hear about your problems raised...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Do not book here.... The three star average Trip Advisor score is WRONG. Way, way over rated. I stay in hotels weekly and this is one of the worst for years. Disgusting bathroom, flaking paint, dirty windows, damaged walls and wallpaper... You name it.... It's here. We changed room. The first room was even worse and extremely tiny. I complained...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DannyTheBlade
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear dannytheblade Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay with us. I have noted the relevant people about resolving these problems you felt during your stay. I'm pleased to hear you were able to move rooms. Kind Regards

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel having booked Groupon deal for £59 for night inc breakfast. Although in need of a little tlc i cannot fault it. Staff very pleasant, breakfast very good. Room clean n tidy and big enough. I would stay again in the future. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian H
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Ian H Firstly I would like to thank you for your time. Feedback here at the Westminster is extremely important to us. I'm pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay, your comments have been highly motivating and rewarding for my team involved. We look forward to seeing you on a returning trip in the near future. Kind Regards

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
562 reviews
1.4 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,890 reviews
0.0 km away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 45 in Chester
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $78 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hallmark Inn Chester staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
22 days ago
1 month ago
PONTYCLUN
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hallmark Inn Chester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jellitotjohn, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles SnakeLondon, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles dmbakker, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go !!”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewS239, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“make sure your not in a room or on a floor with squeaking floors”
 of 5 bubbles vitara07, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay