We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

833 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 821: English reviews
Reading
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel was probably a lovely place to stay 60 - 100 years ago. Now it's run-down, needs refurbishment and is generally very tired. The room was fairly comfortable, but the paint was peeling, the water-pipes made a lot of noise, the shower had now power etc... I should also mention that the breakfast was vaguely palatable, but certainly not... More 

Helpful?
Thank JonSpeed
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Do not book here.... The three star average Trip Advisor score is WRONG. Way, way over rated. I stay in hotels weekly and this is one of the worst for years. Disgusting bathroom, flaking paint, dirty windows, damaged walls and wallpaper... You name it.... It's here. We changed room. The first room was even worse and extremely tiny. I complained... More 

Helpful?
Thank DannyTheBlade
General M, Manager at Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster, responded to this review

Dear dannytheblade Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay with us. I have noted the relevant people about resolving these problems you felt during your stay. I'm pleased to hear you were able to move rooms. Kind Regards More 

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at the hotel having booked Groupon deal for £59 for night inc breakfast. Although in need of a little tlc i cannot fault it. Staff very pleasant, breakfast very good. Room clean n tidy and big enough. I would stay again in the future. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Ian H
General M, Manager at Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster, responded to this review

Dear Ian H Firstly I would like to thank you for your time. Feedback here at the Westminster is extremely important to us. I'm pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay, your comments have been highly motivating and rewarding for my team involved. We look forward to seeing you on a returning trip in the near future. Kind Regards More 

London, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel really needs work in most areas. First impression is a nice historical building and a pleasant lobby. It's main plus point is the location, which is very central to Chester and all the amenties and a short walk from the station. I travelled on a coach trip with 6 friends. Our rooms varied widely although none were particularly... More 

Helpful?
Thank SnakeLondon
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Seen an offer on Groupon to stay for the night for £59 which included a full cooked brekkie.... absolute bargain.... very clean, very polite staff, room was huge with a mahoosive bed!! Bonus!!!... would definitely return

Helpful?
Thank jackie026562
General M, Manager at Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster, responded to this review

Dear jackie026562 I'd like to thank you for your positive feedback regards to your stay with us. I'm honored to hear your thoughts and I have made my team fully aware of your enjoyable stay, this is very rewarding for us. We love to hear from past guests and ways to improve. We hope to see you in the near... More 

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second stay in this hotel and will most definitely be our last. The room was freezing, and even after a call to reception nothing was done about this. The beds are old, worn and uncomfortable. The bathroom was mouldy and in desperate need of an upgrade, in fact the whole room/hotel needs a complete overhaul. Do not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle G
General M, Manager at Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster, responded to this review

Dear Danielle G Thank you for your time to write your review on your stay with us. I can only apologise for your negative thoughts about your stay, however i have spoken to the relevant people about these issues and can assure you improvements have been made. Kind Regards More 

Featherstone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room freezing ! Shower did not drain away so was like a paddling pool ! Old fashioned decor ! On the plus side.... Good position and nice staff ,, breakfast was really good too! Would not stay there again to be fair ,,,,

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although our room was small and the furniture a little "tired" looking it was clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was top notch. A Good value break and we would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Sian H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in a excellent location right in city centre next to train station. The only negative of this is no car park but I managed to find one for £5 for a 24 hour stay. The rooms are quite old fashioned in decor but nice and excellent large bed and decent bathroom. The breakfast was excellent good choice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bradshaw_1710
Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed recently for 3 nights in a room just bigger than the bed and a bathroom with a woeful layout. staff were unhelpful unfriendly and the girl working the bar it was just too much effort to serve customers. no please or thank you from the guy behind reception just a grunt.this palcee i way over priced for what you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank vitara07

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 km away
Hallmark Chester The Queen, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 45 in Chester
161 reviews
1.3 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
533 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster

Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $98 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
18 hours ago
PONTYCLUN
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles SnakeLondon, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles dmbakker, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go !!”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewS239, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“make sure your not in a room or on a floor with squeaking floors”
 of 5 bubbles vitara07, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We saw many rooms and none were good”
 of 5 bubbles sadiestock, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay