We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oddfellows

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oddfellows
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,018 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,013: English reviews
Start your review of Oddfellows
 Click to rate
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Last minute we decided to book a cheeky little trip away just for one night. Chester is somewhere we like so I put the search in for a family room in a hotel. Oddfellows popped up and we liked what we saw, so different to your standard boring hotel!. As there were 4 of us we booked an apartment. Easy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tizzylizard
Management response:

Dear tizzylizard We really appreciate your wonderful review of our apartment. Thanks so much for taking the time to write it. We certainly pride ourselves on being anything but "boring"! It's true that our apartments benefit from a fantastic location, being minutes from the famous Chester Walls, and right in the heart of town. We were so pleased that the...

Singapore
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent 2 bed apt with very good furnishing and equipment .warm and cosy and has its own allocated parking space .provide coffee machine with some nice coffee and milk .would give 5 star except for unfriendly reception staff who offered no welcome or apology for late check in .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Isabella C
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Two nigh stop over for our friend's wedding. Really nice hotel, the quirky styling may appeal more to the younger clientele but we really loved the overall atmosphere. We had a suite with a mezzanine level bathroom which I think is one of the more expensive options at £185 per night. The facilities in the room were very good, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJLucas77
Management response:

Dear DJLucas77 Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and take it seriously. We were pleased to hear that you liked the bedroom's quirky style and appreciated the size of the shower! We will also pass on your kind comments about the food -...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Met friends here for drinks but have stayed on many occasions. The bar is really good with great choice and excellent service. They have a really smart outdoor area that is well protected and heated even when raining or cold. A mix of quirky rooms in the old building and modern rooms in the new wing. Pricey when the races...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Was expecting this to be a lovely experience and I have to say I was disappointed. We had prebooked for a friends birthday and when we were seated it took a good 15 minutes for someone to come over to take our order. The waitress was lovely and there were no complaints about her but I wasn't impressed at all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine M
Management response:

Dear Jasmine M Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to us. We welcome feedback from our guests and constructive criticism is always taken seriously. We were sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your afternoon tea. There is no excuse for slow service and we apologise if you were...

Llangollen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We came here as a group of 8 for a birthday celebration. We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. I had the duck to start, the salt cod for main and the frangipane to finish. We had a room to ourselves which had quirky decor and a personalised service. Fantastic all round. Well done!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneEvsns
Management response:

Dear SuzanneEvsns Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We were really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the duck starter followed by the salt cod with the frangipane to finish. Your kind comments will be passed to our chef. So pleased you liked the room with its quirky design and that...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on 6th February for one night.Everything about it was perfect.Staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble .A special mention to Kim in the Restaurant who ensured that we had an amazing dinner .Will be returning soon.A perfect location for visiting Chester.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
Management response:

Dear Michelle S Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your one night stay with us and will pass on your comments to Kim and the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With best wishes from the team...

Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This venue stepped up to save the day when Edgar House refused to admit me and my 6 month old baby to our pre-paid accommodation due to their no-baby policy. Oddfellows staff couldn't have been more helpful. The manager and second in Charge, at very late notice, personally looked after my and my infant son. I was in a state...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beagletrails
Management response:

Dear Beagletrails Thanks for taking the time to write such a kind review. Feedback from our guests is always much appreciated. We were more than happy to come to your rescue and pleased to hear you appreciated the extra touches in your room as well as the help you received with baby in tow! We will pass on your comments...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was my second visit to Oddfellows and I was equally as impressed as the first time. It's such a beautiful place with a unique style, there is nowhere else like it! The sparkling Sunday roast dinner offer is something that I would recommend to anyone, the roast pork was the best I have ever tasted! Will definitely be visiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
Management response:

Dear Emily B Thanks so much for your wonderful review as a returning guest! We were delighted to hear how much you appreciate the hotel's unique style and will also pass on your comments to our chef about the roast pork. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. With best wishes from the team at Oddfellows.

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had one evening stay and had a lovely room. The combination of how they have done the rooms, with an outdoor/indoor area between the hotel rooms and the restaurant and bar to the front works very well. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Central location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DRTMcFarlane
Management response:

Dear DRTMcFarlane Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We always appreciate feedback from our customers. We were so pleased to hear that you liked the hotel's unique design and location. We will also pass on your kind comments to our team who always strive to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back...

453 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (427)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (228)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
8.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
1,944 reviews
0.2 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#19 of 45 in Chester
1,935 reviews
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,534 reviews
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#4 of 45 in Chester
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Oddfellows chester
Oddfellows chester
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $156 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oddfellows staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Oddfellows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“use your smaller car for the carpark!”
 of 5 bubbles DJLucas77, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I haven't slept there yet but by all accounts they are all excellent; this is based upon comments from our guests who stayed there..”
 of 5 bubbles PaulW368, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check out the web site every room has its own quirkiness”
 of 5 bubbles 285paulah, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“any i the annexe”
 of 5 bubbles petbart, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose online”
 of 5 bubbles JP3004, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5