We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oddfellows

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oddfellows
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,056 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,051: English reviews
Start your review of Oddfellows
 Click to rate
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Held our sons wedding reception and ceremony here, on good friday what a fantastic time we had , accommodation, food, service, was first rate.Nothing to much trouble for the staff.Thank you to all concerned it was exceptional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graylynn2013
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Me and a colleague popped into have a spot of lunch in between meetings. I have stayed here before and it was really good - we walked across Chester as I wanted to show my colleague this really cool place. The service was so poor I wish we had not bothered. 12.30pm on a Thursday lunchtime and it was dead,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_magic_diner
leeds
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Location - fantastic Decor - amazing and unusual Bedroom - brilliant Welcome - solemn Bar staff - great Food - gorgeous Service - needs improving Value - worth it To round our stay up , something different , don't expect friendliness and warmth , it's a city centre boutique hotel which is worth a stay but not worth 5 stars

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helen k
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel was recommended by a friend who had recently stayed. I took my wife for her birthday for a two night stay. There is no on site parking, car park nearby with a discount but it adds another £17 to your stay. Staff are polite and efficient. Ordered the light breakfast in our room for two, only one breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G3989
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Recently popped in to Odd Fellows to have a beverage with my friend and I was actually appalled! The whole restaurant was pretty quiet with NO staff in sight for a good ten minutes I was walking around like a headless chicken looking for staff to get a coffee, I was waiting for a hay barrel to roll across room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AllegraD123
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

To say Oddfellows in Chester is expensive is an understatement your unlikely to get much change, if any from £20 2 drinks but worth it, the staff, the decor, the drinks even the customers from time to time are first class. I've even been a wedding there which was a lovely event. It's not really a place to send the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

the room was alright and clean. What disappointed however was the lack of clarity over prices. We were told 'breakfast included' when asking at reception, this was confirmed by a waiter. Then, on leaving- we were asked to pay for the continental breakfast which they said was not part of the £147 a night. The toilet in the bedroom could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank non22017
Management response:

Dear non22017 Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. We always take feedback from our guests seriously. Sorry to hear there was some confusion over prices. The room rate does include a light breakfast-to-go with our compliments but this is not intended to replace a full cooked breakfast or continental breakfast which...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We called in just for drinks while in Chester, the decor or the place is lovely apart from the big sticker pictures or birds in the main bar/lounge area? Not sure if the connection or relevance to a beautiful room? We had a couple of drinks pity my glass of wine was stale, the taste, colour and the aroma when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melg217
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited with our little girl for afternoon tea which was splendid. We took advantage of the special offer. Tea for two for about £30 with prosecco. This has to be pre-booked. Well worth it. Lovely place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a fantastic hotel - very quirky and a bit bonkers! Room with circular bed - got to try it! Yes, make sure you are happy to see each other shower and no real door to toilet. Beware. Bar area and garden busy with good vibe. Would love to visit on a Friday or Saturday for full effect. Friendly staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M

467 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (441)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (235)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Oddfellows chester
Oddfellows chester
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $139 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oddfellows staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Oddfellows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the split level room with bath”
712paul, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The room with the circle bed”
liams964, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay so no comments on that aspect.”
rodm635, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that is likely to be less noisy than ob the front. Twins are on the top floor.”
lexisw, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“use your smaller car for the carpark!”
DJLucas77, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5