We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oddfellows

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Oddfellows
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

962 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 957: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We would recommend a stay at this lovely hotel. Our room was really nicely furnished, clean and comfortable, with a well stocked mini bar and a separate drawer of sweet and savoury treats . There were little fun, tasteful, quirky messages and touches in the hotel. We couldn't fault the staff, particularly Kimberley, Chef and Jack. Our dinner was well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petergbodington
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Have stayed here twice now and both times have been really impressed by the quality at the Oddfellows. We instantly felt welcome on arrival, the room was presented beautifully and the cocktails were amazing; I couldn't find one I fancied on the menu but the bar staff were more than willing to make me one I wanted. We will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stafford1993
Salford, UK
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night (we had originally just booked afternoon tea but decided on the last minute to stay over). We had one of the attic rooms in the main building of the Hotel and it was lovely. Afternoon tea was great too and we also sampled a few G&Ts in the bar/garden. Hotel is lovely and quirky and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa2053
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Oddfellows will appeal to the traveler bored with the dull monotone of the large chains. It is full of interesting touches and unusual extras. The whole hotel has a slightly mad-hatters tea party feel to it, but it still delivers on the basics. Its well located in the middle of town. Staff are good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
Management response:

Dear David S Many thanks indeed for such a lovely review! We do try to offer an experience that isn't dull so we're so pleased that this is what you noted! We will pass on your kind comments to the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon, With very best wishes The team at Oddfellows

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights for my Daughters Wedding. The service generally was excellent. The food was faultless and the decor was very interesting and querky. The room however was not fantastic. It was dim and difficult to see to get ready. The TV reception was poor and the wardrobe was dusty inside as was the towel rail in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
Management response:

Dear Peter T, Thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased to hear that you were delighted with your daughter's wedding - in terms of the service, food and decor. It seems however that you all experienced a few challenges with your rooms, particularly the hot water, which we are very sorry to hear. Would you be...

north wales
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very hard to pick fault. Really nice place with attentive staff. We booked the duplex and although beautiful throughout we both felt that the bathroom door should be frosted top to bottom. The bathroom is the only place I expect privacy but dependant on where your other half is at the same time too much on show. Also when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen e
Management response:

Dear Stephen e, Thank you for your very kind review - and I will pass on your kind words to the team about the attentiveness you felt. We'll take your comments on board in regards to the bathroom door! Open plan bathrooms are not for everyone and in designing them it was a balance between making sure the room kept...

Lancashire England
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Can not fault this hotel. From the moment we checked in we just knew we had found the perfect place to stay. All the staff were polite cheerful and proffesional and made us feel like special guests. The room was amazing ! Luxurious stylish an unique loved the light bite breakfast idea. The outside seating area is also a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winmos
Management response:

Dear Winmos, Thank you for your lovely comments - it means so much to the team to receive such positive feedback. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will let the team know how happy you were with their service. I'm glad too, that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast to go. And that you had the chance to...

Formby
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night in The Newbrook and had a fab stay. The staff were all lovely. The room was amazing and the Secret Garden was not like being outside at all. We didn't eat here so can't comment on the food but I'm pretty sure it would be as good as everything else. Ideal location with an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Val O
Management response:

Dear Val O, Thank you for a lovely review - we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We're so glad you enjoyed the Newbrook - it's definitely a room with bags of character! And so pleased you enjoyed the Secret Garden. And that you felt warm - we agree that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed and loved the hotel. Rooms were spotless and a great design. Reception team were so helpful especially Hanna the reception Manager. Would recommend to anyone! Well done on an excellent service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salsa916
Management response:

Dear salsa916, Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us - we really appreciate you taking the time to do it. And we're delighted that you loved the hotel. Your comments will be passed on to Hannah (who is wonderful -we agree!) and to the housekeeping team. We hope you can come back again soon and look...

Macclesfield
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a lovely boutique hotel. My mum and I decided to go to Chester for the day for some Christmas shopping and an afternoon tea. We googled the best places for afternoon tea and this hotel was one of the places that came up. When we arrived at the hotel we were ignored by staff for ages and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LearTARD
Management response:

Dear LearTARD, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review us and for searching us out for 'the best' afternoon tea. Thank you too for letting us know that you enjoyed the afternoon tea, we will be sure to pass your comments on to our chefs. They try really hard to make it a little bit different than your...

473 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (412)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (218)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
8.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,875 reviews
0.3 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,471 reviews
0.2 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
571 reviews
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $159 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oddfellows staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Oddfellows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid rooms overlooking the courtyard mid summer, it looks like it could be popular and lively”
 of 5 bubbles Y7890ZZdavids, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in original hotel are in the attic with a lot of steep stairs and no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles petert525, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Duplex was lovely (apart from bathroom door). Quiet room at the top of building.”
 of 5 bubbles stephene_11, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in Lady Mary's Loft!”
 of 5 bubbles , 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are 4 rooms in the old part of the hotel with more rooms in the modern extension.”
 of 5 bubbles weebles2016, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay