We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

816 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin Cambridge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 802: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Large and lovely room with a very comfortable bed. Staff was professional and very helpful. Hotel is in a great location too -- a 20 minute walk to the train station and a 10 minute walk to the heart of downtown. Street was a little noisy; may be better to be in a back room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

our dogs love Hotel Du Vin the staff here just adored them and they were spoit rotten there is rarely anything to complain about at a Hotel Du Vin the staff here are friendly and helpful the room was a dog friendly one off the courtyard and of a high standard (bit of noise from a large group of smokers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank svfoster
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear svfoster, Great to hear that you and your dog enjoyed your time with us. Always lovely to hear such good feedback about the team. Hope to see you soon, Paul.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of the hotel was ideal for us as we wanted to visit the Fitzwilliam museum. We were given a room upgrade as when I tried to book a table for dinner 6 weeks prior to our visit they had been unable to accommodate us in the restaurant. It meant that we had to go out for dinner on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ES1211
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear ES1211, Thank you for your lovely review of Hotel Du Vin Cambridge. Sorry that we were unable to offer you a table in our Bistro during your stay, but I am sure on your next visit that we can rectify this. Best regards Paul.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dissappointment in rooms, not usual HDV standards. Superior rooms to the rear are like the converted garages, clearly cold as they had portable heaters overheating the rooms. Bad news is there is a load of sheeted up furniture by the smoking shed the blows in the wind, at one point I thought someone was in my room. Reception friendly, bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminMill
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear BenjaminMill, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the Garden Room that you were allocated, these rooms were added during the conversion of the property into a hotel and are usually well received as they are tucked away from the rest of the hotel. As the rooms...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for a special meal and expected the HDV to deliver to its usual high standard. Dissapointment set in from outset; bar small,dark and piped music. Cold and draughty. Bar person unhelpful. Bistro more lively, but service not especially good: upselling extras was obvious, and little knowledge of the wine that was actually available. I asked for Priorat; a well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riverclinic
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear riverclinic, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As you have contacted us directly as well, we have responded to you personally regarding your experience. Best Regards Paul.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this hotel for a wedding anniversary weekend away (after doing the same in Oxford last year). Lovely hotel and the rooms are great (although the one we had could do with some minor touching up). Very helpful and welcoming staff and the bar area is great with an extensive wine list (as you would probably expect by the name...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Scott S, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, the team and I really appreciate it. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that the team had played a big part in your experience. See you soon, Paul.

Stratton Audley
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed at a number of Hotel Du Vin properties in the UK I booked this one in Cambridge without hesitation when I had to go to Cambridge yesterday (Tuesday 13th December) Check-in was fine but I felt that the £25 car parking fee was a little steep, however I had received a complimentary upgrade. Once in the room it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Martin C, Thank you for your review, I am glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed your room. I am sorry that you felt that everything came at a price, this is clearly not the impression we wish our guests to have when with us. As with all of our feedback it will...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As a surprise treat my husband decided to mark our 40th anniversary by taking me to Cambridge and booked for us to have suite, thinking it would be nice to have some luxury. At a cost of £345 a night one would indeed expect a bright airy room with sumptuous furnishings and luxurious surroundings. Unfortunately the Robert Mondavi suite is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anne_lusher
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear anne_lusher, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, the team and I really appreciate it. I am sorry to hear that you felt that for the price you paid that the room was not up to the standard you would have expected. Our prices for all rooms fluctuate greatly depending on the market conditions in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel du Vin in Cambridge during an offsite meeting for our team. We had the use of two beautiful rooms, a library which was perfect for breaks and a dining room which we used for the meetings. The team were very helpful with anything we needed and the tea, snacks and lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Victoria P, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind comments, the team and I appreciate it. So good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and in particular you loved our fantastic bar in the basement. See you soon, Paul.

Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

My husband took me to this hotel as a surprise birthday treat. The reception was warm and helpful. I didn't realise that my husband invited friends and family for a surprise dinner and we had use of a private room. The food was very good and our guests enjoyed their chosen meal. I would like to give special mention to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dchphil
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear dchphil, Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback following your time at Hotel Du Vin Cambridge, the team and I really appreciate it. I am so glad that you enjoyed your surprise birthday dinner with us, thankfully the staff managed to keep the surprise secret on check in!! Great to hear that you enjoyed the...

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,113 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
384 reviews
0.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.4 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: $247 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin Cambridge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Cambridge
over a year ago
Houston, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin Cambridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had Afternoon Tea, did not stay overnight - but everything else was great, quirky, old-world, modern twist, characterful!”
 of 5 bubbles impingtonian, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Would not like to comment”
 of 5 bubbles Deb385, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Wolfe Blass (although it does look over the rear of the property and straight onto a science lab!)”
 of 5 bubbles 327martinc, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask specific details of room before you book. Would recommend avoiding Robert Mondavi suite”
 of 5 bubbles anne_lusher, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you get a room on the top, we had 'Planeta' - Ask them to make sure your room is warm before you arrive!”
 of 5 bubbles Andy78910, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay