We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin Cambridge

1.2 km from Cambridge centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

835 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 821: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel du Vin Cambridge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed last night, and the boiler was broken in the hotel, so there was no hot water. These things happen, but what shouldn't happen is the complete lack of an apology from the receptionist when i checked out in the morning. I was hoping not only for an apology but also perhaps a gesture - ie. a complimentary breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oldhand666
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Oldhand666, Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for our boiler failure. At all times our customer experience and happiness is the focus of our team which is why immediately after we realised that our boilers had failed this was clearly communicated to our guests via a letter to all bedrooms as it was during the...

North Walsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having spent what I consider a large sum of money I was expecting a degree of luxury. Sadly disappointed in our so called superior room. The lighting was appalling, unable to apply makeup or my husband be able to shave. Unable to read by bedside lamp. Outside the hotel under our window was a noisy air conditioning unit which could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marisdeparis
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear marisdeparis, Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you felt we were not worth the money. As a city centre hotel in a compact historical city it is true that our rooms do not offer the best views, however this is made up for by our fantastic and convenient location. The hotel is due some bedroom refurbishment...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for 2 nights for business. On the first night, I really wanted to room service. The menu didn’t quite take my fancy, so I ordered in a Deliveroo which was very promptly brought to my room. The staff throughout were very welcoming and helpful, both in the hotel and Bistro where I ate both my breakfasts and dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl_n_Cas
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Karl_n_Cas, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and found the team to be welcoming and helpful. See you again soon, Paul.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed at HdV Cambridge on at least 10 occasions, and many of the other hotels in the group. I now think of it rather as my favourite suit from 10 years ago; worn, slightly faded and there are much tidier, neater options. Unlike other reviewers, I cannot fault the staff, who have always been courteous and helpful, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tradingnation
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear tradingnation, Thank you for your review following your stay with us. Great to hear your comments on the team at the hotel, the bedrooms are due for upgrading soon and this should address the points raised. Best Regards Paul.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just come back from a nice weekend staying at the hotel du vin Cambridge. The good thing when you arrive is they do offer valet parking as there were a lot of cars outside the hotel with parking tickets. The hotel is nice but there are a lot of steps. The room we had was nice with a roll top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herbie B
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Herbie B, Thank you for your review. Great to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular found the valet parking a hassle-free way of dealing with the Cambridge parking challenge. See you again soon, Paul.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great visit to Hotel du Vin . They provide valet parking and my car was whisked away moments after I arrived . ( Very useful in Cambridge where parking is difficult ).Check in was easy and my room was magnificent ( an upgrade thank you).The room had two bath tubs and an oversized bed . Very luxurious. Breakfast was great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SKB50
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear SKB50, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were treated to an upgrade. Our parking solution is fantastic and is actually great value for money. See you again soon, Paul.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The pluses? Lovely room. A good bistro manager. The minuses? Where do I start? Booked hotel for a week. Was preparing for a conference and needed Internet connection. The internet was down for two days. Called the front desk so many times and they said they were on it. It finally only got sorted out after it got escalated to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMKus
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear LMKus, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and please once again accept my apologies for the downtime to our complimentary WiFi service, as discussed with you our contractor had informed us there would only be very limited downtime of 1 hour on the Friday, we were clearly going to communicate this to all of...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely friendly staff who gave us a warm greeting! Our luggage and car were immediately looked after as we were pretty book in. A walk into the town which only took minutes and an explore. We returned to check in and were escorted to our room. A reasonable size of roof with all the facilities you could ask for including...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeeGee45
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear BeeGee45, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, the team and I appreciate it. Great to hear that you enjoyed our valet parking service and found our team lovely and friendly. All of your other comments have been discussed with the team and we all hope to see you again soon. Paul.

worcestershire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It all started so well. Entered this lovely old building and was greeted by the pleasant staff and my car was looked after straight away by the valet. There was a problem with some maintenance work still going on in my room,but no problem as I was offered a complementary drink in the bar. But when the next afternoon I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whitby_rob
Will T, Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear whitby_rob, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed a warm welcome. I'm sorry that you experienced difficulties during your stay. If you contact me via email I would like to discuss these with you further. You can contact me directly at dgm.cambridge@hotelduvin.com kind regards, Will

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having dined a year ago at the Hotel du Vin when I had a decent lunch time meal, I was looking forward to my return visit. However on this occasion I felt badly let down. The service was very poor and I was forced in to repeatedly having to ask the staff for basic requirements. This included the lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
Will T, Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Clive H, I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit to our bistro. We are currently not serving bread baskets but bringing it to the table via silver tray service. I am investigating as to why there was not butter brought to your table. I'm sorry that you didn't find our portions to be ample. kind regards,...

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,152 reviews
0.5 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,581 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
388 reviews
0.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.4 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: $248 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin Cambridge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
13 days ago
Cambridge
over a year ago
Houston, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin Cambridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room without steps if you would find them difficult.”
 of 5 bubbles LizPin, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the top floor are very quiet”
  • Fantastic roll top bath!
  • View from room facing rear of property
 of 5 bubbles harrigriff, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had Afternoon Tea, did not stay overnight - but everything else was great, quirky, old-world, modern twist, characterful!”
 of 5 bubbles impingtonian, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Would not like to comment”
 of 5 bubbles Deb385, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Wolfe Blass (although it does look over the rear of the property and straight onto a science lab!)”
 of 5 bubbles 327martinc, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5