We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Cambridge Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 224*
View Deal
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 494: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Cambridge Hotel
 Click to rate
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

An excellent location for exploring Cambridge and beyond. On entering you sense the tranquility of an Agether Christie film. The environment feels like stepping back in time with peaceful surroundings and very helpfull staff always on hand. And awaiting you in your room is an eccellent Menu and Wine list, to get your evening off to a flying start.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank heaneypaul53
Huntingdon
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We did not stay at the hotel - just visited for Sunday lunch. We thought the set menu was very good value for two or three courses. Certainly the roast beef (which was £3supplement but well worth it) was the best tender and tasty sirloin we have had in ages. One of us had the roast pork which was also...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ardamine12
Luxembourg District, Luxembourg
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Whenever I am visiting Cambridge I always stay at this hotel. The location is excellent, very close to the city centre yet still easily accessible by car, and with its own car park at the back. It is a traditional hotel with character, and I feel more relaxed there than in the big modern chains. The staff are helpful, friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FarewellToCambridge
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our arival was pleasant enough once the receptionist had returned his attention to us having been distracter by another registering customer. A gloomy airless coridor led to our room which was dark with stains on the walls, furniture and fittings from the 70s or 80s in bad ned of replacement, with reduntant hooks on a reduntant curtain rail and hooks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter B I received your in house comment card and it is disappointing that you have not given any time for me to respond to you but choose instead to dive onto the keyboard. Apologies that the receptionist acknowledged another guest checking in at the same time as you but I would suggest if the roles were reversed you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fabulous stay on Saturday at this lovely Hotel with the added luxury of on site parking which is great for a Hotel in the City. Staff were very attentive on check-in, both the Bar and Restaurant Staff were very pleasant and Dinner in the Restaurant was excellent. Our room was very clean with a comfy bed and great facilities. Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jane F
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane F Thank you for the terrific post and I am delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again. Sincerely

england
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

A very nice hotel with a lovely atmosphere but in desperate need of a make over. The staff were friendly helpful and without fault. Breakfast is extensive and we had no complaints but like a lot of hotel buffets it is worth getting in early! The rooms were fine but like the rest of the hotel it is very dated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EnglandPorsche
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EnglandPorsche Thanks for the post and pleased to read that our staff members and breakfast were to your liking. Sincerely

Cooden Beach
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is perfectly located for exploring Cambridge and is an attractive early 19thC listed building. The ground floor reception, bar and lounge are attractive. Those are the good points of this review. Other reviews have noted that the bedrooms look a little tired but there are problems that cosmetic improvements alone can't fix. The hotel's website describes its standard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen G Thank you for the post and I am sorry you felt the size of your bedroom spoilt your stay with us. As is always the case if you had let us know at the beginning you were unhappy with the room we could have attempted to move rooms for you, there is very little we can do...

braunston
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at this lovely, cosy hotel for a two night sightseeing trip. Great bar and welcoming reception. Our room and bathroom were spacious and spotlessly clean....a little dated perhaps, but so are we! And who wants to stay in a sterile chain hotel...this was perfect for us. A ten minute walk to Kings College etc...out all...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank frams
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear frams Thank you for the post and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in Cambridge and found our location, facilities and team to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My review is just about the Sunday lunch and not the accommodation. Customer service at this hotel needs to be seen to be believed, it was truly hilarious but unfortunately for all the wrong reasons. On the day I was told I couldn't rearrange my pre booked reserved table by 30 minutes due to them being really busy (I do...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank ScoobyDoo2012
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scrappy Do Thank you for the post and I am sorry you did not enjoy your lunch, I will feedback as follows. On that Sunday we had a lunch function for 60 people in another area of the hotel, we allocate restaurant times so as not to clash with events and indeed potentially keep guests waiting, so in reality...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stay at this hotel quite often and every time I go there has been some improvement. The decor in the hotel is dated but is getting better all the time. I find the staff to be very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and the best places to go.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank woobs75
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear woobs75 Thank you for the post and as a regular guest it is terrific to read your notice of our on-going improvements we are making to our product, See you again soon. Sincerely

234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double 211 (23)
Viewed
Kingsize Suite 203 (21)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Single 109 (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Twin 210 (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
394 reviews
0.5 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,612 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.4 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,184 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: $168 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Royal Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Hertford, United Kingdom
Heywood, England, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor was my favorite”
 of 5 bubbles heaneypaul53, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Quiet at the back, or with nice views at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles FarewellToCambridge, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms at he back.Lift only goes as far as the second floor!”
 of 5 bubbles peterbC893GR, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“'Standard' size rooms are cramped - go for 'Superior.'”
 of 5 bubbles 532stepheng, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front room slightly noisy from traffic. Back probably quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles creiners2013, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 224*
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 224
Orbitz.comUSD 224
TravelocityUSD 224
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates