We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Royal Cambridge Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Cambridge Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

480 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 460: English reviews
Ouistreham Riva Bella
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very attractive looking hotel, plenty of parking space. I was looking forward to my two night stay but knowing that I had work to do in the evenings I needed some peace and quiet. Unfortunately it was a weekend and there was what I can only assume was a wedding reception taking place on the Saturday. By 11pm I had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julia N
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julia N Thank you for the post and I am delighted our location, parking and food was suited to your needs. We did indeed have a wedding taking place and I am sorry the music disturbed you. I will follow up with reception on your comments and please accept my apologies for the way you felt it was handled.... More 

UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We were booked in a twin room for a night and found the hotel to be clean, warm, comfortable with old fashioned charm. I cannot comment on the food as we did not eat in the restaurant which was empty. The staff were helpful, except missing often when we wanted to order drinks. Overall a good location and I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kh21again
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kh21again Thanks for the review and comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed there on business, comfortable room and bed. Good breakfast and a nice fish and chips supper. Most of the staff is helpful, some of them could try to smile a little more, it would make their life more pleasant as well as the customers'.

Helpful?
Thank DelightedLeicester
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DelightedLeicester Thank you for the review and I am delighted overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again. Sincerely More 

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was staying at this hotel as part of a work contract and must say that the whole experience was a rather disappointing one to say the least. The room itself faced out onto the main road which was also quite noisy throughout the night. The room was also tired and in need of a total overhaul to be brought... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Darren A
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darren A Thank you for the review and it is a shame you chose to endure the hotel room during your stay without asking at reception if there was an alternative we could move you to. We don't serve T Bone steak however again if you were unhappy with the product give us an opportunity to put it right... More 

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

A very dated Hotel that some will argue needs a major refurbishment but we really enjoyed its old time look. Nice and quiet, closet feeling. staff while pleasant but looked like they were just going through the motions with no real enthusiasm for the job they were doing a bit of friendliness wouldn't go a miss, it's ok to smile.... More 

Helpful?
Thank NickL66
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NickL66 Thank you for the post and that overall you enjoyed your lunch with us. Being from the North we do like proper gravy but I will ensure the chef thins it out for varied palates. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Emotionally attached to this hotel as family members have always stayed here and had 21st Birthdays and Wedding receptions from the 70's. The lounge area is gorgeous, pretty and comfortable and a lovely place to sit for coffee. I would love to gush about this place as I used to love it but there wasn't a lot to praise really.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank djohnson73
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear djohnson73 Thank you for the post and some constructive comments, it is always nice to read that family members have supported the hotel over the years. I am not going to make a handful of riposte regarding your comments only that I feel it is a touch unfair to be a guest of the bride and groom and then... More 

York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We needed to be centrally located to be able to combine a concert in Selwyn with preChristmas shopping. Seeing huge traffic queues made us realize what a good choice we had made. We had an ideal location and were comfortable and well looked after.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PapaG61
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PapaG61 Thank you for the review, I am pleased our location was ideal for your visit to Cambridge and that you were well looked after by the team Sincerely More 

Cambridge,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room's over heated (multiple people in our group couldn't turn the heating down. Tried to slept with the window open. Reception service at arrival was of, but at departure with poor. Overall was a middle / average class service and quality for a 112 Pound room rate?

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank glenn838
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear glenn838 Thanks for the post and I am sorry you felt overheated given it is November. Sincerley More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I thought I'd leave a review as I had a lovely stay here. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff really friendly and helpful and you can't fault the location. It isn't modern, but then these older places have a charm of their own. I would return.

Helpful?
Thank 83abimc
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 83abimc Thank you for the review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always nice to read an appreciation for a more mature hotel building as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Sincelrey More 

Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here two nights on business. The twin room I had was warm, spotless and welcoming and had a lovely large bath which was much appreciated. I opted to eat out on the first night and the price of the all-inclusive dinner was therefore subtracted automatically from my bill - also much appreciated. On the second evening, I used... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria O
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Victoria O Thank you for the post and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were well looked after by the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely More 

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double 211 (23)
Viewed
Kingsize Suite 203 (21)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Single 109 (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Twin 210 (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 35 in Cambridge
380 reviews
0.5 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 35 in Cambridge
1,510 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.4 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 35 in Cambridge
2,052 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 35 in Cambridge
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: $144 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Royal Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Hertford, United Kingdom
Heywood, England, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had room 119 - lots of room for luggage, great TV, lots of workspace also”
 of 5 bubbles victoriao238, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“just don't go there”
 of 5 bubbles pip2go, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room away from the front”
 of 5 bubbles maureen146, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one overlooking the car park”
 of 5 bubbles Loxer, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on first floor at the rear”
 of 5 bubbles 109dolly, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay