We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 376: English reviews
London
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The location of this hotel could not be more convenient for the city centre and it is clearly extremely popular during the interview season. At the front door they have a map with directions and time to allow walking to each college and the concierge were extremely helpful. Travelling with a teenage daughter I booked a junior suite which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tunkeyandthemonkey
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for a night in November, I arrived alone as my husband had arrived earlier as he was business. The idea was to use the hotel as a Base for a days photography the next day. As with much of Cambridge there was no on site parking so I used the valet parking service on arrival. Check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Natalie C, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.com following your earlier stay with us. I was delighted to learn that you found our unrivalled location an ideal base for your leisurely photographic trip. I was so glad to read that you had such a positive and enjoyable stay at our hotel. Our paramount...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Really nice stay, had a brilliant time exploring city. Never stayed at a Hilton before and was so pleasantly surprised great service and room was so comfy. Can't wait to stay with them again. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betweentheclouds
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Betweentheclouds, Thank you so much for your 'great' review! We are so happy to read that you had such a positive experience at our hotel. The team and I hope we can welcome you back soon! All the best, Richard.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed mid-week for one night. Easy to find and a great location, right in the centre close to restaurants and shops. I used the valet parking, which was very helpful. I had forgotten to arrange feather free bedding for my daughter and on arriving reception promptly arranged for the bedding to be changed with a no problem attitude. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Lisa L, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.com following your earlier stay with us. I was delighted to learn that you found our unrivalled location an ideal base for your recent mid-week trip, and used our great valet parking service. The team here were so glad to read that you had such a...

Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice central hotel in city centre Nightmare to approach by car Worst city in England for rush hour traffic Ultra modern and as such little character Uninspiring lobby on first floor with bar and restaurant All functional and no marks for ambience Reception and bar staff welcoming Average price Such a shame in a fabulous city not to have capitalised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter s
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear peter s, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.com following your recent visit to the Hilton Cambridge City Centre. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your overall stay at the hotel, and in particular our ultra-modern look. Apologies that there's not a lot we can do about the rush hour traffic -...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I only spent a night in this Hilton following a night out with friends, I was overall very happy with the hotel. Clean, tidy, modern, well equipped and very polite, professional staff. As above, make sure you use the valet parking as the local parking is limited and very expensive. I would stay there again without a second thought.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanGiff
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear DanGiff, Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel and had a great experience! Next time, we invite you to book directly through Hilton.com and you’ll save even more with our exclusive HHonors discounts and great benefits like free standard WIFI. See you again soon, Richard.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Found hotel on Booking.com. Rang to confirm requirements before booking, late meal, late bar. Was told restaurant was open late, and bar was 24hr for residents. All seemed ok, so rather than book a budget hotel we booked the Hilton. Arrived at hotel, as advised. No dinner as restaurant was shut. Bar meal was inedible and only after asking more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mark G, Thank you for your review and feedback following your recent stay with us. Whilst I appreciate the feedback, and am very disappointed with my team that you were unsatisfied with our service & product, I feel we could have perhaps made the experience better for you if we had the chance to apologise & make it right....

Norwich, Eng
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the main reasons we chose this was because of the valet parking. The hotel was excellent in every respect, as you would expect because it is not cheap. A little disappointed that early on a Saturday they had run out of olives for a martina costing not far off ten pounds, but that's a small thing. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank relaaxed
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear relaxed, Thank you very much for your review! I am pleased to hear you had a wonderful overall experience in our hotel! We really appreciate all feedback as it allows us to recognise our team. I have shared your comments about the olives with the bar team and will work to ensure we don't run out so quickly next...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visit here about every 6 weeks. The room is comfortable and well appointed. The staff is very capable. The overnight room service is something I use almost every trip. It's located in the heart of town next to shopping and some good restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear John H, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review following your earlier stay with us. It was a delight to read that you visit the hotel so often and always enjoy a comfortable and pleasant stay here. I very much look forward to welcoming you back with us soon. All the best, Richard.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hilton City Centre offers a pretty standard Hilton experience, right in the heart of Cambridge. The room was clean and comfortable. The wifi worked reliably throughout. The breakfast buffet was of the expected standard. A modern property, the building is a little soulless- but fortunately you are but minutes away from Cambridge's historic centre making it ideal for tourism...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aber_james
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear aber_james, Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and in particular enjoyed our unrivalled location in the very heart of Cambridge. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Cambridge in the near future. With regards, Richard.

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 35 in Cambridge
2,060 reviews
0.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.6 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 35 in Cambridge
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 35 in Cambridge
382 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 35 in Cambridge
795 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#7 of 35 in Cambridge
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilton Cambridge City Centre is superbly located at the heart of the city, an ideal base to explore the many attractions on our doorstep, fantastic shopping, cobbled streets, amazing architecture, historic and stunning colleges and not forgetting the River Cam flowing gently along the 'backs.' This modern 4-star hotel is a 5-minute walk from Kings College, Cambridge Corn Exchange and the bus station. 10-minutes' walk takes guests to peaceful riverside parks and pubs. Travel to Ely or historic market towns such as St Ives or Huntingdon. Newmarket Races hosts some of the racing calendars most prestigious racing programmes. Imperial War Museum at Duxford home of the World War II Museum, Concorde, and other famous planes such as Spitfire and Lancaster bomber. All 198 of the stylish, contemporary air-conditioned rooms and suites offer free Wi-Fi. Together with self-contained conference and event facilities, guests of our 4 star Cambridge Hotel also benefit from on-site Valet car parking and fitness room. Guests can enjoy seasonal British dishes in the The Book Room Restaurant. The Book Room Bar offers an extensive wine, spirit and cocktail menu as well as Afternoon Tea. For those seeking more of a casual dining experience, we offer lighter bites and snacks in the lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Address: 20 Downing Street, Cambridge CB2 3DT, England (Formerly Cambridge City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: $203 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Cambridge
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cambridge
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Cambridge City Centre staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Tyrone, N.Ireland
over a year ago
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Peterborough, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Cambridge City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't stay just pooped in for drinks”
 of 5 bubbles LyndaH749, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms look over internal courtyards/atrium - may not be good for claustrophes!”
 of 5 bubbles redgraverose, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Views at the front of the hotel are great”
 of 5 bubbles TheLittleEstonian, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upgrade if possible. I was provided one without asking.”
 of 5 bubbles nelsons989, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for upper floor away from Irish Bar at Street Level.”
 of 5 bubbles Kildress, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay