We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clifton Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clifton Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clifton Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

You most certainly get what you pay for! The hotel is very dated and run down. The kitchen has most certainly seen better days, as has the dining room. I overheard a conversation with other guests who were trying to order dinner, most of what they asked for was not available. One asked for lasagne, which was on the menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Clif1, Manager at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback.Sorry that something was not available on the menu.It is not always possible to offer all the items listed on the menu. The rooms have just been renovated and some areas in the public area have been painted and fitted with retro furniture and fittings.This probably might not appeal to your taste. However it matches the...

Reviewed 5 January 2016

Although my wife and I only stayed for one night, we found the whole experience very pleasant. The room and ensuite were very well presented and extremely clean. Plenty of off-road parking. All the staff were polite and helpful...nothing too much trouble. Simon the chef dished up a very respectable evening meal and breakfast. All in all we would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Arrived at the hotel and was met be the only employee working that evening, who made a good effort juggling jobs, and booked me into my single room efficiently. I asked him if the restaurant was open for food, and although it was, he was so busy he had a queue waiting to be served, and recommended I walk into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
Bourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Only stayed there for one night. The was room ok. Nothing special. Nice bathroom and a comfortable bed. And although the room was at the front of the hotel there was hardly any noise from the busy road outside. Staff at the reception where pleasant enough. Getting out of the hotel grounds was fairly difficult with the busy road being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean G
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

We arrived on the 29th.the odour in the room was aweful.the kitchen extractor fan was outside our room.nail clippings on the floor,old finger plaster and a dirty valance sheet.after a very long day we just wanted to sleep.the next morning no staff around.spent the day working and got back again no staff.kept awake by staff chatting in the kitchen then...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel A
Clif1, Manager at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your second comment Apologies if there was some misunderstanding about your condition. We ensure that our rooms are cleaned to a high standard and were surprised about your comments. The rooms are double checked before a guest arrives. We have already informed you that the extractor was not on. Our staff are always available in the day...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed one night at the August Bank Holiday (Saturday), we were given room 1A, on the ground floor in another building across from the main part of the hotel. First off, we opened the door OK, but spent about 20 mins trying to get the key out of the door, but couldn't get it out. We went back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vghill
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

This hotel is a mile or so from the centre of High Wycombe on a main road that is poorly served by public transport. But it does have a large car park. It has an annexe next door which looks like another converted house. It certainly isn't a de-luxe hotel but the price I paid reflected that. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iffley094
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

First time here.... and last, will definitely not return and I certainly will never recommend this place to anyone. To start, our room was above the kitchen, at midnight we could here the staff banging about chatting and being noisy, they may not realise this so perhaps the management should advise??!! Then we have the awful smell of the kitchens...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cameron A
Clif1, Manager at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for written comments We were sorry that you did not enjoy your 4 day stay this rather cold wet bank holiday. We were obviously aware of your wifes heavy pregnant condition and your apparent depressed state and made sure that no extractors were turned on to disturb you. The staff were concerned about your condition and stressed behaviour...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Staying for one night and on approach looked ok, entered our room and it's ok, it's not the worst but not the best but ok to get your head down. We went to have some food at there restaurant and I seen rump steak on the menu and was described as 8oz rump with chips, mushrooms and seasonal veg, full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrsubway
Clif1, Manager at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments again. We were pleased that the room was satisfactory for you. We apologise for the overcooked steak. The staff prepared another one for you but that was still not too your liking. Fresh Vegetables available that night were fresh carrots, fresh parsnips and fresh leeks.These could have be ordered instead of peas. Prices of food...

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We attended an afternoon party at the hotel recently. The garden and grounds are well maintained and make for a lovely setting for a summer party. All the staff tried hard to make the occasion a success and could not have been more helpful. A great BBQ was served along with some excellent and tasty salads. Mass catering meant that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bea_K186223

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these High Wycombe hotels
0.5 km away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#4 of 15 in High Wycombe
62 reviews
1.8 km away
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Abbey Lodge Hotel
#9 of 15 in High Wycombe
161 reviews
1.5 km away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4
9.8 km away
The Fox Country Inn
The Fox Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ibstone
243 reviews
6.5 km away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Clifton Lodge Hotel

Address: 210 West Wycombe Road, High Wycombe HP12 3AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Price Range: $96 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Clifton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clifton Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Clifton Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for the back of the hotel”
IslaMc007, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Eat somewhere else.”
Aggiehols, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are small.”
andyfrance1, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our room was at the front facing a busy main road, but we had no problem with noise.”
556frankg, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the main road are noisier than those at the back.”
iffley094, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5