We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Clifton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Clifton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 568: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here just for a night as a friend was having a birthday bash in the wine bar in the basement - very convenient. The hotel is friendly, nicely-located in the centre of Clifton, and there are some nice touches - fresh fruit in the bedrooms, an attractive wine bar and dining area in the basement, quirky railway sleeper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amdgriggs
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a well located and excellently priced hotel. It is clean and the staff were all very nice. You get tea, coffee and fruit in the room, which is great. The cafe in the reception was great, and we couldn't visit the on site restaurant but it seemed nice. I would highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexis F
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here on an impromptu night after new year, price was faultless really, as we only wanted a cheap place to rest our heads. Room was tired and absolutely boiling, I turned down the rads and had to have the window open. Beds were comfy though and I slept fine. My favourite part was the lovely coffee served in reception......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emarhaych
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had quiet a nice stay, my room had a nice view and it has free coffee and fruits. My review would have been excellent until i got in the shower and only after 2 minutes there were no hot water!! So i was freezing in there, i couldn't take a shower during my stay and that's innacaptable for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daaunhi N
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I think i am one of the most difficult guests ever, but i was pleasently suprised by the general tenacity and kindness of the reception and cleaning team when i asked to move rooms so my childred could "netflix and chill". I would particularly Roisin, Maria, Agnes and Marik for his underjudgemental appraisel of my arrival at 4... Will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaunsteadman
Jack C, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Shaun, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have an extremely hard working reception team here at The Clifton so it is so great to hear that their efforts are appreciated. I will pass on your...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here for a birthday treat, although the staff were really helpful the rest was a little disappointing. The rooms were small and the bedding really needed updating. I wish we had looked at the reviews on here before we had booked

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaime H
Jack C, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jaime, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad you found the staff helpful, they all work very hard to make sure customers feel welcomed and looked after. However, I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the room. We are situated in a listed building as such our rooms vary in shape and size. If...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My parents and I stayed there for one night, it was very nice. The staff were friendly and there was a free walking tour arranged around parts of Bristol which was very nice since we only spent one day in Bristol. The breakfast was also good! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristín G
Jack C, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kristin, So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I shall pass on your comments to both the reception and breakfast staff. As a small independent business we value highly any feedback from our customers so please do let us know if there is anything we could have done to make your stay a 5 star...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a business meeting to attend and was booked in with several colleagues. The Clifton is a very tired looking hotel, way past it's best and although basic was very clean. The room was very small but had good coffee/ tea facilities and fruit in the room. Free wi if. The hotel was so hot it was difficult to sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
Jack C, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jane, Thank you very much for your review. I am very glad to hear that you found the bed comfortable, the staff friendly and appreciated the little extras we like to treat our guests with in the rooms such as the fresh fruit. I am sorry to hear you found the room too hot. I will get my housekeeping...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

The Clifton hotel has to be one of the worst experiences of my life. The rooms are just terrible small is not the word the beds are the smallest most uncomfortable things I have slept on and they still use the old brown blankets from 1950. Now the bathroom is another matter this is just tiny with a sink /...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juicylucyw
Jack C, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi JuicyLucy, Terribly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As a listed building we have a range of room sizes and this is reflected in our room names. You booked a small executive single so I am surprised you were disappointed with the size. We have now put our room sizes on our website...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Helpful reception staff. But, over priced tiny single room. Limited internet access. Poor light in the room at night. Hardly any room in the toilet to use the commod. Lot of noise coming from outside.Smells smoke coming from outside. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank truemate123
Jack C, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Truemate123, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am glad to hear you found our receptionists helpful. I am sorry to hear you found the room too small. We are situated in a grade II listed georgian villa so our rooms vary in size and shape. This means we are...

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 km away
The Washington
The Washington
#30 of 37 in Bristol
597 reviews
0.5 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#26 of 37 in Bristol
471 reviews
0.7 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
496 reviews
1.2 km away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#22 of 37 in Bristol
839 reviews
1.0 km away
Travelodge Bristol Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St. Pauls Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $68 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Clifton Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Clifton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High up the rooms are quieter. Probably nicer views at the side of the hotel that's not above the terrace of the wine-bar.”
 of 5 bubbles amdgriggs, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top floor has least noise from the bar and road, but the walls are thin.”
 of 5 bubbles 356JudyS, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 22 which is the opposite side to the restaurant racks”
 of 5 bubbles LPG52, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had an executive double”
 of 5 bubbles 956tracy, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No sure maybe all rooms are same”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay