We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rodney Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Rodney Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Rodney Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 398: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Needed somewhere to stay overnight as visiting family, didn't want the normal chain accommodation . Found The Rodney on line Booked direct the staff were helpful and attentive. Food good, rooms comfortable and clean fresh fruit ,real tea and coffee a nice touch .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikey1154
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mikey1154 Thank you very much for your review. We do pride our selves on being a small, friendly independant hotel and we do offer many individual touches in our hotel rooms- for example the loose leaf tea and coffee and fresh fruit. I am also glad that you found our staff here helpfull and attentive, both our reception team...

Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

I had a 4 day stay for course at hospital. The staff are so helpful. They helped with bus routes. Train timetables and over all very polite. They made my stay very welcoming. Thank you Max especially. Room was basic but comfortable and clean. Well done 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyndelou 11
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lyndelou 11, Thank you for taking the time to review the Rodney. Max was thrilled with his personal mention and was so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We always ensure our reception team have a good knowledge of the city in order to help our guests, and I know that like myself, they are all very passionate about Bristol...

Reviewed 7 June 2016

this is a lovely small hotel. the staff are great and very helpful. good food and location. two downsides - parking and no lift. - there are only seven spaces so you have to get here early, but the staff carried my bags up the six flights of stairs and made two other trips for an iron and board and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian D
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gillian D, Thank you for your lovely review, the staff were thrilled with your kind words and I am pleased your enjoyed our location in Clifton Village. My team are available 24/7 and are more than happy to help with any questions and lots of fetching and carrying, we appreciate that not having a lift is a drawback for...

Seaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Have stayed here many times when visiting Bristol and always enjoyed it. Staff are always charming and helpful, rooms are pleasant and clean and breakfast is lovely. An added bonus for us is that it is dog friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue C, Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so pleased you continue to enjoy staying with us. My staff are a real credit to the Rodney and all work incredibly hard, so thank you for mentioning them. We are indeed a very dog friendly hotel, and I know my team have on occasion even taken...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Located on the main through road in Clifton with it's own parking. This appeared to be a good choice of location for my visit. Unfortunately the room was small, hot and the bed uncomfortable. Shame really because the staff were really friendly. Convenient to have parking, though it is an additional cost.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve S, I am sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your recently stay with us. We are in a very convenient location both to enjoy Clifton but we are also only a short bus or walk to the city center. The Village itself is full or great bars restaurants and shops and has a lovely...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Great staff and reception was spotless and brilliant location. Far too pricey for the room we were given.We were told that the room we were getting was one of their nicest unfortunately it was not. Too cramped for 2 people and there was a problem with damp on our floor which caused an awful smell. Arrived into the room with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcdermad
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mcdermad, Thank you for your feedback, I am terribly sorry to read however that your experience was not all positive. My team work extremely hard to ensure every guest has the best possible experience, so it is always lovely for me to be able to pass positive feedback on to them. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the...

Europe
Reviewed 24 May 2016

The staff - from Reception to Restaurant and Cleaners - were extremely friendly, helpful and really knew the area. The location - in the elegant village of Clifton - was great - for sight-seeing, shopping, eating out, transportation, etc. On the negative side, the steps can be a bit much if you've got lots of luggage - or arthritis. (I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cherryl G
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cherryl G, Thank you for taking the time to review the Rodney. I have passed your kind comments on to the staff who all appreciated your feedback. Clifton is a beautiful area of Bristol and wonderful to wander around. The Georgian architecture is particularly spectacular and taking a trip to the Suspension bridge, which is only a 5 minute...

Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Very comfy stay apart from the fact my room was on the second floor! No lift. Sigh. A small double room with fresh fruit, fresh coffee and leaf tea! What a pleasant surprise. The TV is unmentionable - either religious radio or middle eastern news. Engineers pay attention! Receptionist Jack could not have been more helpful. Great breakfast and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueJennings
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SueJennings, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Rodney Hotel. Jack was thrilled with the personal mention. I am glad you liked the extras we offer in our rooms, we wanted to provide something a little different for our guests to enjoy. It is unfortunate that we don’t have a...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Staff could NOT have been more helpful. Best location for all sight in Clifton and just a BEAUTIFUL sanctuary. Fruit and biscuits in room, lovely garden, opposite best craft beer pub in the village. Do it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abigail B
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Abigail B, Thank you for your lovely review, the staff were so pleased you enjoyed your stay and remember you fondly. Clifton Village is an ideal base for any visit to the city, with lots going on only a short walk from the hotel and convenient bus links to all the major attractions and city center. I am glad...

Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The hotel is a Georgian building in a convenient part of the city. Within easy walking distance were a range of bars, cafe and eateries. The room itself was on the third floor with a narrow winding stairway on the third part of the accent; I was asked if I require assistance with any cases to my room. On reaching...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arte57
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear arte57, Thank you for taking the time to review the Rodney. I am so pleased you found our location convenient and liked the area and have a pleasant and comfortable stay. I apologise for the niggling issues that you encountered during your stay. It is frustrating that these are small inefficiencies that are easily fixed, but should not be...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.9 km away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
537 reviews
0.3 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
495 reviews
0.8 km away
The Washington
The Washington
#28 of 37 in Bristol
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
891 reviews
0.7 km away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 37 in Bristol
629 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rodney Hotel is located in the idyllic Clifton Village in Bristol. An elegant and charming hotel with stylish and comfortable room and excellent service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rodney Hotel

Address: 4 Rodney Place | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $89 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rodney Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rodney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodney Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rodney Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Rodney Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have mobility issues ask for a room on the ground floor.”
Teaza, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor can be a bit noisy.”
peghead79, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room at the back if you can.”
Modern_13, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms at the back facing gardens. The front rooms are near a main road”
Y5109ZGlindab, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If possible get a room on the back which might be quieter?”
cjpvision, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5