We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Rodney Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Rodney Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 371: English reviews
Southampton
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having read some of the earlier reviews (after my husband had already booked!) I had been a little concerned about what to expect but I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. We found the room (24) to be clean and comfortable, there wasn't a lot of additional space but this wasn't an issue for us as we were only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachel1982
London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very nice-looking hotel - a lovely building and a great location. The one odd thing was that the room was very cold in the night - usually I find hotel rooms tend to be overheated, but I actually woke up because it was cold. It had a feel of a hotel that could be so much better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katelilybee
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katelilybee, Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am so pleased you like our location. It is hard not to fall in love with the Georgian architecture in Bristol I think, and we are so lucky to be on the beautiful terrace that we are. I am terribly sorry that you were cold during the night,...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here twice in the last few weeks visiting a daughter at university. Disappointingly there is not much choice if you are looking for a boutique style hotel in the Clifton area and this is probably the best, and with a few tweaks it could be a good boutique hotel experience but not quite there yet. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cathryn c
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cathryn c, Thank you for taking the time to review the Rodney. I am pleased to read that there were many areas of your stay that you enjoyed and that you found the Rodney to be a comfortable and convenient base for visiting your daughter. We always hope to be able to offer home from home comfort in familiar...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Rodney over a weekend and the first thing I noticed was the lack of parking at the front (think 8 spaces) Paid my £7 per night however it's pot luck if you get a spot again if you venture out again in your car. But, the hotel does have parking permits for the nearby area and were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jdrobets
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jdrobets, I am so pleased to read that you would stay with us again. We always love to welcome returning guests so please don’t hesitate to contact reception direct to make any future reservations so that we may allocate you to a room at the back of the hotel. As you mentioned, we do have 7 parking spaces directly...

Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a shame… I was really impressed with the hotel and happy to buy into their smart plan to encourage more direct loyalty by making it my go-to place to stay during my regular visits to Bristol, by booking direct to save 10%. It’s the sort of smart operation one really wants to encourage, where they make it possible to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abburgess
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear abburgess, Thank you for your feedback. We certainly want to encourage repeat customers so hearing about ways our guests feel we can improve is really important. I am sorry that you didn’t receive my email on the 28th October, and I apologise that I was not available to speak with you in person when you checked out. We would...

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel to visit our son who is studying at Bristol University. It's a one night stop on our way to salcome . There are limited parking spaces due to its city location but we were fine as we checked in quite early. We were located on the third floor which was quite a trek up the stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul K, Thank you for your feedback. I hope your son is enjoying his time here in Bristol and you enjoyed your onward trip to Salcombe. We are always more than happy to pre-allocate rooms on lower floors if requested and my team are always on hand to help carrying luggage. We appreciate that that last staircase can be...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We have never been to Bristol so keen to see the Clifton Bridge, the Georgian surroundings, SS Great Britain and catch a show at the Hippodrome. The bridge was just around the corner from the hotel, buses into the centre stopped opposite the hotel or a steady 20 minute walk got us there. The hotel was lovely and full of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spikeynorm
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spikeynorm, I’m so pleased we could accommodate you for your first visit to the city. Clifton is a beautiful area to be in and great as a base to explore from. We do have great transport links to the rest of the city from Clifton, which is really useful as it is a bit of a hill back up...

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel was in an excellent location for leisure and work visits. The suspension bridge is only 5 minutes walk away. I stayed in a single room on a work visit, which was slightly small and a little dated but was very clean. The food and drink were very good and the staff were always very friendly and polite. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David H, Thank you for taking the time to review the Rodney. I am so pleased you enjoyed our central location and it suited your needs. We do offer both single and double bedded rooms, the doubles do give our guest more space, and we are always happy to accommodate an upgrade for a reduced fee if we have...

Nottingham
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I spent a couple of nights at the Rodney and had a satisfactory stay. The hotel is located near a lot of restaurants and about 15 minutes from whiteladies road. There is parking for about 4/5 cars charged at £7 per night and you can also park in a side st, free after 9pm. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonnty
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonnty, Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased you enjoyed our central location and all the Clifton Village has to offer. We are able to offer space for 7 cars directly outside the front of the hotel and then 10 additional parking permits, as you said though the pay & display restrictions do end 9pm and then...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The Rodney hotel is a perfect choice. The hotel was clean , well presented, modern , great value for money . Oriana was wonderful and imazing. Impressed with her professionalism I will most definitely stay here again very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucia V
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucia V, Thank you so much for your lovely review, Oriana was delighted with her personal mention and to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly for any future visits and we will ensure you are allocated to a room of your choice. All the best, Amy

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#25 of 36 in Bristol
466 reviews
0.4 km away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#21 of 36 in Bristol
827 reviews
0.7 km away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#34 of 36 in Bristol
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#29 of 36 in Bristol
485 reviews
0.8 km away
The Washington
The Washington
#30 of 36 in Bristol
586 reviews
2.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rodney Hotel is located in the idyllic Clifton Village in Bristol. An elegant and charming hotel with stylish and comfortable room and excellent service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rodney Hotel

Address: 4 Rodney Place | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $91 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rodney Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Rodney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodney Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rodney Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Rodney Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid a higher floor if less mobile as lots of stairs and no lift!”
 of 5 bubbles rachel1982, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room at the back was lovely and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles MickeyandDora, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher is better”
 of 5 bubbles AlanD209, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Conniebob, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are ok quieter on the back.”
 of 5 bubbles gillians190, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay