We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avonside Guest House

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Avonside Guest House
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
Start your review of Avonside Guest House
 Click to rate
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a decent B&B, good value for money. The room and bathroom were clean. I only saw the landlord once, paid straight away and was left alone. I felt trusted and unwatched, total privacy. I liked the fact I could let myself in at night with the code on the door rather than waking someone up. I slept very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 59joanna
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking to time to write a nice review, we endeavor to offer, quiet good value accommodation and we have a lovely location and want everyone to enjoy the beautiful city at a low cost. Alison

Northern Ireland
Reviewed 3 March 2017

To begin with , we had to call a telephone number to gain access to the B and B (we had said what time we would arrive - early evening). Not ideal for those with no access to a cell phone (either due to a low battery or no UK landline). We were then taken to a room on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank romiNI
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to time to review my guest house, I welcome feed back and always use the information to improve future customers stay, as we are a 'good value guest house' we do not have a receptionist. Our booking agent is Hostel World and we do not budget to provide clean towels or linen every day. You paid...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Very polite and well mannered house and service in rooms. Exquisite views and location. Breakfast. Priced reasonably. Online booking essential. Tidy. Quiet. Basic facilities. Micro managed. Organised. No wheelchair access.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BZNOTBZ
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for giving such a balanced review, I think your description honestly depicts the guest house and reflects on the type and standard of accommodation we endeavor to provide. Please look us up again if you are traveling to Bristol. Alison

Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

My partner, young daughter and I stayed for two nights. The owner was very nice and friendly. We booked one room but we were lucky as our room had an adjoining room for our daughter. Travel cot was provided. Breakfast was good with plenty of food and hot drinks. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rower678
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our guest house, I am glad you had a nice stay and an enjoyable weekend, we have only recently fitted our fresh ground 'bean to cup' coffee facility which is free all day and it is proving to be very popular. It was lovely to meet you and your super...

Reviewed 24 October 2016

The guest house is very convenient for the centre of Bristol, with only a short 20 minute walk through the vibrant culture of Bristol's Prince's Wharf and Mud Dock area, to Colston Hall, the Bear Pit, Stoke's Croft and any number of other interesting, exciting, and varied places that the City offers these days. Avonside Guest House itself is well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
alison h, Manager at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, and I look forward to meeting you again should your travels bring you to Bristol in the future. Alison

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Needs a bit of refurb, Shower wouldnt get hot so had to have a cold shower in late september. Staff friendly and good service. Cleanliness in dinning area was poor, utensils & cultery was dirty on various occassions. Breakfast included in price , rooms were extremely cold at night , parking needs to be attended to as no parking outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luvinia1969
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Guest House, I am sorry that you found problems. As I dont know the name you booked under or which room you stayed in or on what days I have inspected each shower and heating system in the whole house and could not find a problem, the heating was put on...

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Perfect location for the city and the bars near the harbour, nice big shared room for me and my friends. Lovely hostess who was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. Didn't try out the breakfast. Shower was either too hot or too cold, only downside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver P
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your review, and taking time to share your experience, I will look into the shower which is a mixer system. Alison

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this place a few times had three or four different rooms, all the rooms are very outdated the beds are extremely uncomfortable the breakfast for me doesn't work it's a continental style breakfast cereal, toast, croissants what I don't get if Alison can get up really early to put the continental breakfast out why doesn't she do a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review my guest house, we have two standards of rooms as indicated on our booking sight as we continually run a refurbishment program of decorating rooms, I have just published the latest re furbished room photos on face book. You stated you last stayed in March and so as this was 6 months...

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Good budget B&b has a good location not far from the centre, parking was hard to find but for those who travel by train the station is only a short walk away. The room was clean and tidy would happily spend a few nights here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we aim to achieve the balance between cost and comfort and I am pleased you would stay again. Alison

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel over the weekend. Very basic & dated. I honestly felt like I was staying in a hotel room from the 1990s. Wardrobes. Beds. Carpets. Curtains. Everything was OLD! Shower was a nightmare to work....once it did it work it wouldn't stay warm...cold is an understatement, so kinda felt dirty stop after a shower. The TV kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barrettjake
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I welcome the opportunity to always improve the customer experience and am concerned that you have not had a good experience. When you phoned and asked for a double room I explained that due to the short notice, I only had one room left, it was very small and twin beds, was a 'standard' quality...

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 km away
Southville Guest House
Southville Guest House
#4 of 51 in Bristol
43 reviews
0.2 km away
The Riverview Guest House
The Riverview Guest House
#23 of 51 in Bristol
24 reviews
0.2 km away
Kyle Blue - Bristol Harbour Luxury Hostel Boat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
No photo provided
The Ashville
#20 of 51 in Bristol
49 reviews
0.6 km away
YHA Bristol
YHA Bristol
#5 of 30 in Bristol
293 reviews
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Avon Side is large Victorian Villa offering low cost, good quality accommodation. We are ideally located just 10 minute walk to Bristol's Historic Harbor side and tourist attractions as well as theaters and night life. One mile from train and bus station and the advantage of free weekend parking and discount week day parking. As we are a family business we can tailor your stay to your needs making sure you are as comfortable as possible and adapt to ensure a pleasant experience. Most of our rooms are en suite, we have a range of rooms from singles to large 5 person family rooms, a dining room and kitchenette is available all day with continental breakfast provided in the room rate. I have lived in Bristol all my life and have lots of local knowledge, Please ring me to ask any questions I will be happy to help. Alison ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avonside Guest House

Address: 106 Coronation Road | Southville, Bristol BS3 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $71 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Avonside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Avonside Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stairs were pretty narrow, not very accessible with large luggage. The share bathroom is small, and shared by many people.”
debbiet534, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The back rooms are quiet.”
Marcela12, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Get an En-suite Room”
simonl586, 15 Sep 2014 | Read review
“basically i had the last room she had and it was a lovely room and was at top of building ok only noise i had to deal with was people in there garden behind having a party which was not to bad apart from that pretty quiet”
mrmtstallard, 12 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ask Alison about rooms facing the road/ or the other side. I read somewhere that rooms facing the road may be a little noisier. If this is a genuine problem it is certainly avoidable.”
655archiek, 11 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hostelworld.com
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates