We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Berkeley Square Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Berkeley Square Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Berkeley Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 500: English reviews
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I stayed for 2 nights in Nov whilst attending a reunion with the boys - i.e. solo. Externally the hotel looks as if it's old school, but internally there's a 'boutique' makeover in public areas and less than average sized room (24) than expected, even in a converted town house. The location is ideal for the town centre and museum,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoeCBansteadUK
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JoeCBansteadUK, Thank you very much for your kind review of the Berkeley Square Hotel after your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time here and were satisfied with the service we provide. At the Berkeley Square we place a huge importance on customer service and always aim to offer a friendly...

Salisbury Wilts
Reviewed 30 October 2015

Very tired room, if everything that was provided in the room was teleported into a new room it would have been fine, very musty smell to the room as well. In general the place could have done with a clean and I do not agree with anyone charging for WIFI it should be included as part of the service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShadySteve
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ShadySteve, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Berkeley Square Hotel. I am sad to hear that you weren't fully satisfied with your stay here. We do acknowledge the fact that some of our rooms require updating and so we are continuously investing in refurbishing them. New soft furnishings are getting fitted in this month which should improve...

Uppingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Very central. Our bedroom was generally clean but tired,our shower trickled cold water and too much hot!I feel they need to be far more on the ball especially when serving drinks the staff member looked worried that we had asked her for service.Little things like making sure the cupboard is shut in reception area is not a lot to ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona J
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona J, Thank you very much for taking your time to review The Berkeley Square Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am glad you found our location to be convenient and the rooms clean. Our housekeeping team is working really hard to make sure we provide a high standard of cleanliness. Our house manager checks water temperatures on daily basis...

Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Great central location, interesting rooms, breakfast is average, you need to arrive early to get a parking space but once in your car is safe and secure undercover. I have stayed here many times over the years, and I have to say as with other comments that the decor could in some parts need a refresh now, but I am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Annabel T, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael W, Thank you very much for providing the feedback on your recent stay with us. Our parking is on ' first come first served basis' and we are unable to reserve spaces in advance. There is an alternative parking located not far from us and reception is more than happy to provide information and directions. As you are...

Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 25 October 2015

wi-fi was included on the online price and when arrived at the hotel the recetionist charged me 4 euros. she admited they know they have the prolem and said they have to solve it with the resellers. So why was i supposed to pay for it. they should have charged back hotels.com the room was small but acceptable if it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smrshild
Annabel T, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear smrshild, I am very sorry for the issue with the wifi. We do offer a complementary internet access to all of our guests who book with us directly or through our website. I will investigate why there is misleading information displayed on Hotels.com and make sure this gets resolved. I have passed your comment about the cleanliness of the...

Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Staff on reception and the dinning areas very helpful, overall feel once you leave the ground floor and ascend to your rooms, scored this hotel down. It looks and feels tired, reading other posts I see the management are in addressing. My single room was on the small side, activity along the corridors is not muffled in anyway and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clark b
Annabel T, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear clark b, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Berkeley Square Hotel. I am very happy you found our staff to be helpful and the room clean and functional. As you have mentioned in your review we are taking our guests' feedback very seriously and act on everyting that is brough...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Arrived at 8 pm on a Friday night and asked for a parking space which is in a garage on the other side of the square , entry gained via a code pad. Entered and all the spaces were taken, empty spaces but sign on wall with company name saying no parking, parked in front of one of the signs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank martinTricia_11
Annabel T, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear martinTricia_11, Thank you for reviewing The Berkeley Square Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that the function you were attending at The Square was excellent and everything went well. I am very sorry that you were upset about the parking, however, it is 'first come first serve basis'. I will speak to my reception team...

Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

I booked into this hotel on line using Booking.com. It was all very nice, conveniently located when visiting my Bristol office. However I was told that if I had booked direct on line they would have given me free wi-fi. Most of their competitors offer free wi-fi. As it happens I didn't need wi-go but it spoilt my stay. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyJoyce1
Annabel T, General Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TonyJoyce1, Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Berkeley Square Hotel. I am pleased to hear that the Berkeley Square convenient and comfy. My team and I work very hard to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. I am very sorry, however, to hear that not having wifi included in...

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We spent 2 nights here for a wedding. Overall impression was quirky and pleasant. However, we found the bar staff rude and condescending throughout our stay, we were told with hand gestures to stand at a point at the bar in order to save the barman leaving his corner. No gluten free bread or cereal available at breakfast despite informing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank madeline765
Annabel T, General Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ‘madeline765’, I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at the Berkeley Square Hotel. It is always disappointing to hear that our guests did not enjoy their stay with us but we do appreciate all feedback, and use it to improve the services and products we offer to our guests. Kind regards Annabel

Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Very poor hotel! Stains on bedding and floor, tiny bathroom, uncomfortable bed. We were not allowed to use the facilities of the bar in the evening due to a wedding party monopolising the area. Decent breakfast, but that really was the only high point. Would definitely NOT stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joolz13
Annabel T, General Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ‘Joolz13’, I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the Berkeley Square Hotel. We have recently placed orders for new bedding, carpets and curtains in our rooms to improve the quality of furnishings we have on offer. We are also working on a refurbishment plan for our bathrooms in the coming weeks. Due...

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.6 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#26 of 37 in Bristol
481 reviews
0.9 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
396 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Washington
The Washington
#28 of 37 in Bristol
613 reviews
0.9 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
3,347 reviews
0.6 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in an elegant Georgian square in Bristol city centre, the Berkeley Square Hotel is the ideal place for your stay in Bristol. As Bristol's first art hotel, it oozes boutique charm and offers comfortable accommodation and first class service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Berkeley Square Hotel

Address: 15 Berkeley Square, Bristol BS8 1HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $97 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Berkeley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Square Bristol
Hotel Berkeley Square
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Berkeley Square Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
hong kong
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Berkeley Square Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The basement rooms (lower deck) can be quite noisy until 11pm - I always return late, so never an issue for me.”
 of 5 bubbles christopherridley81, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Under no circumstances agree for rooms in the basement! They should never exist!”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The suites are worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles mdsurferchick, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Better rooms overlook the Square”
 of 5 bubbles Alchemist1966, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My friend's room was 32 and that was a good layout.”
 of 5 bubbles CulturalExplorer7, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5