We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Berkeley Square Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Berkeley Square Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Berkeley Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 503: English reviews
Bryan, Ohio
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

I'm writing this review from an American perspective. Hotel is in a great location near clubs and pubs. Booked online, so a £4 charge for wifi despite the free wifi ad in room. Limited parking in an enclosed garage on weekends, I have no idea what they do during the week, roadside parking is steep. A single room is just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matthew S, Thank you very much for taking your time to review us on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Berkeley Square Hotel. I am glad to hear you were happy with our location, your room and the facilities provided. We offer free wifi to all the guests who book with us directly or through our website...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Great décor, staff were extremely friendly and very helpful, room was extremely nice and in excellent surroundings. I would highly recommend the hotel and look forward to returning. The complementary sherry was a particular highlight!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJGAMMAGE
Berkeley_Manager, Front Office Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JJGAMMAGE, Thank you very much for you review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much - our staff work hard to provide excellent service so they will be so pleased to hear your feedback. We have thought carefully about the artwork displayed in the hotel and our furnishings to provide a welcoming environment for our...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 11 January 2016

I use to stay here when I have collaborations or other tasks at the University. The location is quiet in interesting suroundings, but even so close to good restaurants and shops. The horrible lift should be renewed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lars W
Berkeley_Manager, Front Office Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lars W, Thank you very much for reviewing us. We pride ourselves on our prime location in a picturesque square metres away from the bustling centre of Bristol. I'm sorry you found our lift to be lacking - due to our listed building status it is more difficult for us to make big structural changes however this is something...

Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Positives: *Fantastic location - walk to Browns for a cocktail in 2 minutes! *Lovely building on a historic square. *Comfortable beds. *Breakfast fine - both continental and cooked. *Staff friendly. *Third floor room was quiet - no disturbance from the bar/club next door. *Secure parking available (via the hotel for £7) just round the corner. Negatives: *Check-in. We had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
Berkeley_Manager, Front Office Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca D, Thank you very much for reviewing us, we appreciate all feedback we receive as this helps us to improve for our future guests. I'm so glad that you were happy with the majority of your stay - we are proud of our central, picturesque location and we choose our beds carefully to give our guests the most...

Reviewed 30 December 2015

From the welcome at reception to departure time this slightly quirky hotel delivers a joyous stay. We have been here several times now and have not been disappointed. The beds are some of the most comfortable I have slept in. Each room comes with a sample of Bristol Cream sherry and a bowl of fruit. Our room was equipped with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Berkeley_Manager, Front Office Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter B, I'm delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your several stays with us. I'm so glad that you find our beds comfortable. We provide a complimentary taster of Bristol Cream sherry to welcome guests to the area, so I'm glad that you enjoyed this. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and hopefully...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2015

Hotel looks elegant outside but the quality of the decoration and the state of the rooms does not match. Faded and stained carpet, cracked tiling and mouldy showerheads in the bathroom, 80s furniture. The hotel had nice touches - lovely fluffy towels and complementary sherry in the rooms. Unfortunately the overall standard doesn't live up to these boutique extras. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoseSLR
Berkeley_Manager, Front Office Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RoseSLR, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate all feedback we receive, and use any criticism constructively to improve for future guests. I'm so glad that you liked our hospitality tray and fluffy towels. We select our complimentary items carefully to provide a welcoming experience for our guests and it is always great to hear...

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2015

Welcomed by friendly helpful staff. A good sized double bedroom which was very well equiped overlooking the attractive square. As I was going for an operation in BRI, the staff went out of their way to organise parking for our two day stay. Hotel well located and we will definitely stay there again when in Bristol.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
Berkeley_Manager, Front Office Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard A, Thank you for reviewing us. I'm glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful - our teams work hard to ensure our guests have a comfortable, enjoyable stay so they will be pleased to receive this feedback. I'm also happy to hear that you found your room to your liking - we put a lot...

Bristol
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Stayed here for one night after my work Christmas meal in the Square Club (the hotel's restaurant but also private members club - will do separate review). On arrival I was greeted by a lovely friendly receptionist who ensured I had everything I needed for my stay. I stayed in a lower deck double room which is in the basement...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BristolShortcake
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BristolShortcake, We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and decided to review us on Trip Advisor. I am very happy you found our reception staff to be friendly and efficient. They all work very hard to ensure all our guests' needs are met. I am glad you liked our hospitality tray and the special Christmas...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2015

I arrived after driving a number of hours, no greeting from either of the two receptionists as I arrived with my hazard lights on my car outside to enquire where I should park! I was told I had to register before I parked, I told them my glasses were in my bags in the car and couldn't see, please could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Corinne671
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Corinne671, I am very saddened to hear your stay with us was not a pleasurable experience. I am terribly sorry for the unwelcoming impression of the reception team. I can assure you I will address this with them. In regards to the parking, I am afraid for security reasons we do need to make sure you are our guest...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Hotel is located in a beautiful square.Perfect for easy access to museum, art galleries, concert venue, shops and restaurants The reception staff are friendly, courteous and helpful. Room was quiet, comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast included. Garage parking available on a first come first served basis ( £7 per day ).Meter parking in square. A good place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank retrospective2015
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear retrospective2015, Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are extremelly pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass all your lovely comments onto my teams who will be thrilled to hear them. We hope to welcome you to the Berkeley Square Hotel some time soon. Best wishes, Anna

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.6 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
482 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
1,127 reviews
0.9 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Washington
The Washington
#29 of 37 in Bristol
616 reviews
0.6 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.9 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in an elegant Georgian square in Bristol city centre, the Berkeley Square Hotel is the ideal place for your stay in Bristol. As Bristol's first art hotel, it oozes boutique charm and offers comfortable accommodation and first class service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Berkeley Square Hotel

Address: 15 Berkeley Square, Bristol BS8 1HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $97 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Berkeley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Square Bristol
Hotel Berkeley Square
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Berkeley Square Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
hong kong
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Berkeley Square Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 9 has a noisy radiator and the toilet is too close to the towel rail - I burnt my shoulder.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidTriton, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If a function is on at the hotel the Clifton Suites are the answer being a few yards away.”
 of 5 bubbles 405peter, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The basement rooms (lower deck) can be quite noisy until 11pm - I always return late, so never an issue for me.”
 of 5 bubbles christopherridley81, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Under no circumstances agree for rooms in the basement! They should never exist!”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The suites are worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles mdsurferchick, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5