We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The Berkeley Square Hotel

15 Berkeley Square Clifton, Bristol BS8 1HB England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (333)
Room & Suite (170)
Dining (23)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 26/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 26/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#34 of 47 hotels in Bristol
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Located in Clifton in the heart of Bristol, The Berkeley Square Hotel offers a warm welcome and is the perfect place to be able to explore the city. Just a few minutes away from the iconic Clifton Suspension Bridge, Bristol Museum and Art Gallery, the University of Bristol and all of Bristol’s unique central attractions, book your room now to enjoy the fabulous Berkeley Square. All of our rooms come with complimentary tea, coffee, fresh fruit and delicious biscuits to really treat yourself during your stay. The Berkeley is also home to the award winning restaurant, The Square, and houses a delightful speakeasy style cocktail bar with a hidden terrace garden. The Berkeley Suites are located just around the corner from the hotel and are a perfect luxury escape from the bustling city centre. The Berkeley Hotel is offering guests the option to check in and out online so that all you need to do is collect your key, minimising the time you spend at reception. Furthermore their 24 hour reception team is always on hand to help and complimentary wi-fi throughout your stay, make The Berkeley Square Hotel part of your visit to the West Country’s most exciting city!
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Car park
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
906Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 275
  • 239
  • 177
  • 132
  • 83
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Samantha M wrote a review 27 Jan
Buxhall, United Kingdom1 contribution
If I saw this title, I’d think , that person is being paid. In fact I have no connection at all and I’ve never written a review on trip advisor before. I’ve been to lots of nice places, and I don’t pretend to be good at cooking, but this place is truely special, and that’s why I decided to leave a review. Came across it by chance, by pressing ‘pet friendly’ on Booking.com. Such a lovely little square in Bristol with a central garden. Hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. Room was characterful and very comfortable. The food for me was the absolute highlight. Seriously, anyone that can make me wake up during the night with my taste buds still tingling (in a good way!) is seriously talented. I was given two rolls of homemade bread to start followed by carrot & cardamom veloute with pumpkin seed praline. Main course was Gochwang pork belly with citrus braised octopus, broccoli, black beans (gf) with a seaweed wafer. The octopus literally melted in your mouth - now that is a sign of true skill. Maddie and Amy were amazingly attentive, despite juggling a table of nine. So beautifully atmospheric, and I believe they also do a bar menu . Go, just go - if you don’t, you’re missing out. Just wish I lived closer !!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
JonoTT wrote a review 24 Jan
4 contributions
I really enjoyed my stay at the Berkeley. The staff were friendly, my room was clean and the location was fantastic. There was so much is walking distance and the staff were really helpful with their recommendations.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Response from Lucy Pitman, General Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Good morning Jono, Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am delighted to hear yo had a lovely stay here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon. Kindest regads, Lucy
Read more
Matt L wrote a review 22 Jan
7 contributions1 helpful vote
So after having surgery in 2019 and 2020 Covid hit the world and we were all stuck inside. In January 2022 I decided whilst going through Chemo Treatment to get away for a few days. I wrote to the hotel Prior to explain about my surgeries and the fact we had been locked away and if there was anything they could do to make our stay that extra bit special. Everything in the hotel was SHUT nothing to Drink nothing to Eat just basically NOTHING. As far as the room goes well I will upload some pictures so you can see. Dead insects along window sill, attic door off above bathroom felt like we were being watched, mould in bathroom, tap missing on and on and on. This is rated 4 star but a 2 star Travelodge is FAR more cleaner and cheaper. Very Very disappointed and considering im a Vlogger this will not go down well on my socials. Literally 2 mins down road there is Travelodge you will save yourself alot of money and stress on trying to find the hotel. Lady behind reception was lovely but that was the only thing it had going for it. AWFUL WHAT A SHAME NOW BACK HOME VULNERABLE AND DEPRESSED AFTER MY 2 NIGHT RELAXING STAY WHICH IT CERTAINLY WAS NOT!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Lucy Pitman, General Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Good Morning Matt, I am terribly sorry to hear that you didn't have a great stay with us. Sadly, the section where you entered the information about your surgeries doesn't pull through onto the booking on our system from Booking.com, so I can only apologise that it was missed. As for the bar and restaurant being closed, this was communicated prior to your arrival, where you were given the option to cancel if you wished. I do apologise for the cleanliness and this is something we are addressing as a matter of priority. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment, so I really do hope you will return once this is complete. I have sent you an email following up on this matter. Kindest regards, Lucy
Read more
Andrew N wrote a review 1 Jan
Tadley, United Kingdom898 contributions386 helpful votes
Having booked this hotel online, I was amazed and disappointed to learn on checkin that they had a totally incorrect rate assigned to me. It took fully 10 min to sort out with a queue growing behind. Further conversations with the staff were similarly confused. The room itself was fine, though tucked away in a corner. Breakfast was similarly fine, but nothing out of the ordinary.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Response from Amy Harding, General Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear AndrewN424, I am terribly sorry for the admin error you experienced on arrival. I would very much like to look in to this issue myself to make sure there isn't a bigger issue at play here with our booking system, would you be able to send me your booking information so I can have a look? My email address is amy.harding@cliftonhotels.com . Any reservations made online automatically appear on our system and we do not play any part in modifying the rates, so this is a concerning issue. I expect my team to be confused as such an issue should not arise, but I apologise that it took so long for them to find a resolution, I will check which team members you dealt with and offer additional training on such a situation. All the best, Amy
Read more
Daniel wrote a review Dec 2021
Brighton, United Kingdom186 contributions144 helpful votes
This hotel could be really good , but the room was in a very poor condition with black mould in the bathroom, a window that didn’t fully shut and the bed had a cotton sheet and one thin brown blanket (like i would imagine a prison might have). On the second day the cleaners didn’t replenish the tea, milk or toiletries. When i asked the receptionist for more - she got in an enormous flap and took about 15 minutes to find any. None of the cleaners wore face masks and the other staff only now and again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Rooms at the backs can be affected by noise from parties/dj in the garden
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Lucy Pitman, General Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel
Responded 21 Dec 2021
Dear Danco, Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry that you didn't have a good stay with us. We are currently finalising plans for a refurbishment which is really exciting. We appreciate your feedback about the bedding as we are currently looking into changing it, so that is really helpful. I am sorry that your room wasn't cleaned on the second day, I will bring this up with the housekeeping manager. I have reiterated the importance of masks to the team when in public areas. Kindest Regards, Lucy
Read more
USD 70 - USD 149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
berkeley square bristol, hotel berkeley square
United KingdomEnglandBristol
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Berkeley Square Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Wills Memorial Building (0.2 km), Cabot Tower (0.2 km), and Brandon Hill Nature Park (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moltobuono, The Botanist Bristol, and The Coconut Tree Bristol Clifton Triangle.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Mary Redcliffe Church (1.4 km), New Room (1.2 km), and Cabot Tower (0.2 km).