We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Berkeley Square Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Berkeley Square Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 474: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The exterior of the hotel in a lovely square disguises what is a very average hotel. The room was tiny and in need of a good upgrade. Whilst the staff were friendly the bar was down in what felt like a cellar! The location though is fab.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross H
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for several nights on a work trip, the bed was amazingly comfy and everything was clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful wi the breakfast being particularly good - there's cereal and fruit etc that you can help yourself to and then hot food you can order from the menu. An added bonus was a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah B
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah B, Thank you for your lovely review! I'm glad to hear you found the room to be clean and comfortable. Our added extras in the rooms (like the sherry) set us apart from other hotels in the area and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed them. We're very proud of our central location and I hope you managed...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arrived around 5.30pm to an empty reception and was finally processed with questions and answers barked at me: "Do you want breakfast?" "No" - the answer to my question asking was there parking available The room itself was disappointing - for a so called "Executive Room" : - a stain on the bedspread - a hole in the desk repaired...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BAManEdinburgh
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BAManEdinburgh Thank you for your detailed feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you did not find that the Berkeley Square met the needs of your stay. As you mentioned in your review we did talk about the issues you experienced on the phone and I am very saddened and surprised to hear that you felt that I...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I arrived at the hotel last night (30th Nov) for one night. Not a good start as both receptionists on the phone and no acknowledgement. Receptionist b becomes free but then answers the phone again immediately. Receptionist a deals with me but then stops to answer the phone passing me back to receptionist b. I asked if that was policy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsMac2000
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MrsMac2000, Thank you for your feedback. I will bring up with my reception team that the guest in front of them is the priority, not the phone. I apologise if this came across as impolite. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the room and breakfast, our housekeeping and breakfast team work very hard to maintain the high standards of...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Checking staff were polite and efficient. I had a high floor room, and didn't notice any exterior noise. The room was pleasant, though needed a bit of maintenance and a deep clean of the window surrounds etc. Good value for money, though parking was a frustration and the noise from the plumbing and squeaky floors might annoy some. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dwainwright
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dwainwright, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that you found the room to be pleasant. I will speak to my housekeeping manager about keeping a closer eye on the window surroundings and their cleanliness. With regards to the parking, our garage is allocated on a first come first serve basis and when there are spaces available, guests are...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of my favourite hotels. Located in the buzzy university area of Bristol, but set back on a quiet garden square. The rooms I have stayed in aren't huge, but they are stylish, very comfortable and spotless. But what marks this hotel out are the little luxurious touches - a mini complementary decanter of Bristol Cream Sherry in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EdinburghRad
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EdinburghRad, Thank you for your lovely review! I'm so glad to hear that we are one of your favourite hotels. The extras in the rooms are replenished daily with care by our housekeeping team and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed them. Our reception team always go the extra mile to accommodate the guests and I'm glad...

Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 1 week ago

There are some friendly people welcoming you at the Berkley Square. Then the room, though in the basement, is surprisingly large. Sherry "to be sipped", fruits "to be eaten" and tea "to be prepared" are waiting in the room... The hotel is very central, close to university and Clifton Bridge

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter B, Thank you for your review. I'm glad the team were friendly and welcoming to you during your stay. Our Lower Deck Double rooms are larger than one would think! I'm happy to hear you enjoy the extras provided in the room which our housekeeping team replenish with care everyday. We hope to see you again in Bristol...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in Bristol for two nights while visiting some friends and chose this hotel based on location. The staff were very welcoming and friendly on arrival (thank you to Ivana and Kayleigh) and overall I had an excellent stay. The room was clean and cosy and the free sherry was delicious. The only thing Id suggest is the option...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holbr1989
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Holbr1989, Thank you for your review! I am glad to hear our staff were friendly and welcoming upon arrival. Ivana and Kayleigh are excellent members of the team and always make guests feel at home. I'm happy to hear the room was cosy and to a good standard of cleanliness, our housekeeping team do a great job of keeping...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The title says it all - I could want nothing more than a small, comfortable and friendly hotel for a 3 day visit to Bristol - just next to the University, and everything else within easy reach on foot. Thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redicreta
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Redicreta, Thank you for your lovely review! The hotel is in an ideal location for anyone visiting the University and who wants to stay in the picturesque area of Clifton. I hope you managed to enjoy the sights the area has to offer during your stay. I'm happy to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and...

Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is not a good start to arrive at a hotel to be told your booking starts the next day. Worried about possible developing dementia I was relieved to be able to retrieve the original E mail from the hotel confirming I was correct. Fortunately a room was found. Ten minutes later I was back at reception to mention the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David H, Thank you for your review. I apologise for any inconvenience caused for the mix up with your booking. I've caught up with the team to make sure this sort of problem doesn't happen again. Kayleigh is an excellent member of staff who I'm glad could quickly rectify the situation. I'm happy to hear your stay with us...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.6 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#26 of 37 in Bristol
466 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 37 in Bristol
1,078 reviews
0.6 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#5 of 37 in Bristol
3,247 reviews
0.9 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
384 reviews
0.5 km away
The Washington
The Washington
#31 of 37 in Bristol
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in an elegant Georgian square in Bristol city centre, the Berkeley Square Hotel is the ideal place for your stay in Bristol. As Bristol's first art hotel, it oozes boutique charm and offers comfortable accommodation and first class service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Berkeley Square Hotel

Address: 15 Berkeley Square, Bristol BS8 1HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $94 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Berkeley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Square Bristol
Hotel Berkeley Square
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Berkeley Square Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
hong kong
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Berkeley Square Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the Square, the view of the university buildings was spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles Holbr1989, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quiet for an inner city hotel but not truly quiet, Parking available but limited, Bring confirmation of your booking in case of problems.”
 of 5 bubbles davidhH1387JQ, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 a great single room!”
 of 5 bubbles 18gavink, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Staff will advise you on an individual basis”
 of 5 bubbles irenecr123, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We used the single rooms which were very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 146katieg, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay