We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rock'n'Bowl Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 569: English reviews
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Great staff . free wifi . modern hostel with all the amenities required with large relaxing areas for TV ,games or quietness. very easy to book and to check into. Magnetic cards to allow access through all the doors from floor to floor . Bus stops 2 minutes walk

Thank Mealiff
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mealiff, that's great, all our staff is delighted by your words! We are happy you appreciated our safety system as well, we hope to see you soon! Cheers, Alfredo Esposito Hostel Manager

Reviewed 23 August 2016

I was happy to be there.The hostel looking so nice, I loved the graffitis. It is in the centre of Bristol so easy to acces it. The staff was friendly, smily and helpful. Everything was clean and the wifi worked correctly. I was in a 20 bedrommed room but I haven't got any problem with my room mates, they didn't...

Thank Regina M
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Hostel from hell. This is definitely the worst hostel Ive ever stayed in. Music from the bar below is extremely loud and makes the floor tremble until 3:00am. Staff is rude and absolutely dont care whether you have any complaints. No hot water in the bathroom sink and scorching hot water in the showers. Not enough showers in the hostel....

1Thank lunettesvertes
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Lunettes, I am sorry for your experience, our staff is renowned for being always nice and friendly, so I apologize if you felt being treated rude. Altough we cannot direct our guests behaviour, the hostel is equipped with CCTV, 24 hours receptionist and security over the weekend to guarantee 100% safety. We are sorry about the volume, but that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I appreciate the friendly staff's rearrangement for my schedule. However, the experience was too bad. I couldn't sleep at all because of the noise from the bar downstairs. I don't think it's a nice hostel at all unfortunately. First of all, I think having a bar in open space which all bedrooms can hear the noise is a stupidest idea...

2Thank elton968520
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Bristol has many accommodation options to offer, but among all, I found rock'n'bowl the best one. The staff, 24 hour reception, cleanliness and so obvious travelers from around the world. It's fun place to experience. I m amazed to see such a motel at very convenient prices. Plus, the bowling alley and deals for drinks and food. I lived there...

Thank NaveedAnjum
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Stay in the rock n bowl motel for a few days. Really enjoyed. It is a great choice if you are looking for a cheap and comfortable stay in the Bristol city centre. The place is very chilled out and the atmosphere is much better than I expected. Definitely recommended.

Thank Rafal C
Reviewed 9 July 2016

The room was a comfortable mixed dorm with optional secured storage space. The highlights of the hostel was the discounts guests received off food and drink and the fact you could end the night in style by playing a few games of bowling. The only negative was I thought electric shaver outlets could have been provided in the washrooms.

Thank Archie W
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Archie, thank you very much for your review and thank you to appreciate our complex! We don't have electric shavers in the washroom for safety reasons, we hope it didn't bother you too much. We are happy you liked our food and we hope to see you soon, Alfredo Esposito Hostel Manager

Reviewed 8 July 2016

It has good facilities but is absolutely huge (aka tonnes of people!) - the atmosphere isn't very homely. It's nice enough as a place to stay just perhaps not the place to go if you're hoping to meet people.

Thank Mary K
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mary, thank you to take time for a review! We are often fully booked and there is a always a good chance to meet a lot of people, we are sure you will be luckier the next time! Thank you again and see you soon, Alfredo Esposito Hostel Manager

Reviewed 7 July 2016

Nice central hostel with good facilities and helpful staff...downstairs bar and bowling alleyalso 2 mins from shoppiing area and close to bars and clubs..perfect for a short city trip I highly rccommend.

Thank Vincent R
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Vincent, thank you for your feedback! We are happy you fully appreciated our complex and we are glad to see you soon! Alfredo Esposito Hostel Manager

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Staff were friendly and the beds were comfortable- great location. However there were no lockers to store your belongings and I was often worried on my trip that people could just access my possessions when I wasn't in the room. There is hardly any space to get ready, a lack of mirrors around the shower area and only plug sockets...

1Thank Michael T
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Michael, thanks for your review! We got scented air sanitizer all around the hostel so we are sorry you had a bad experience with the air conditioning system. We have lockers and a safe at reception (24 under cctv) where to store valuables, the next time you come here please feel free to leave your belongings here. Thank you...

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (66)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Room/Suite (3)
Bathroom (2)
Family/Play Areas (3)
Dining (3)
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (36)
Dining (9)
Room/Suite (4)
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.7 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,419 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
1,138 reviews
0.3 km away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Bristol, Rock'n'Bowl features a 24-hour front desk, common areas with free Wi-Fi, flat TVs, a tennis table and a big courtyard. Guests benefit from several discounts at The Lanes, the on-site bowling alley and night club venue, with a special selection of beers, cocktails, a karaoke facilities, pool tables and the famous Ray's Pizza, made with daily fresh dough, buffalo mozzarella and imported Italian ingredients. A nice and healthy breakfast which includes locally roasted fresh coffee, tea, milk, jam, orange juice, toast and cereals, is included with each reservation. The on-site complex, the historical THE LANES, has club nights with many important bands and djs so please be aware that there will be noise disruption on Friday and Saturday nights in particular until about 03:00. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Address: 22 Nelson Street, Bristol BS1 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $23 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock'n'Bowl Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Rock'n'Bowl Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock `n Bowl Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rock'n'Bowl Motel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Rock'n'Bowl Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure your room is not on the ground floor as there is a club in the basement!”
 of 5 bubbles Fbonta, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not choose the biggest room, it is very loud because of the common room next to it.”
 of 5 bubbles 520rachell, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My room was a nice six-bed dorm. I don´t know the other dorms in the house.”
 of 5 bubbles Jensgud, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the dormitory is the best”
 of 5 bubbles strade79, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Cheapest Bed sleep in the dorm”
 of 5 bubbles andrewedwards00, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5