We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Piha Beachstay Accommodation

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Piha Beachstay Accommodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Piha Beachstay Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Showing 95: English reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

I'm actually sad that i only spent a night there. Situated an hour's drive outside of auckland, it feels like a totally different world. The kitchen and the communal area are simply wonderful, the bathrooms are spacious and clean and the dormroom was great. I would def go there again and stay longer this time. It doesn't feel like a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Elisabeth T
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 25 December 2015

You won't find a better place to stay for the price. The whole place is clean, spacious, and comfortable. Amazing view! It's a short walk to the beach. Staff were excellent and friendly. It's everything you need. Would definetely stay here again. Piha is about an hour drive from the Auckland airport.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cjesutha
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 November 2015

We booked into the private double room with an en-suite bathroom. We were very happy with the outlook of the room (it was at the end of the hallway), the cleanliness and the furnishings. We had our own deck and a nice view out of the windows. The weekend we were there, it was being staffed by a German couple....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane P
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 November 2015

The location and the building itself is just great and the host or likewise the WOOFers were were really nice and helpful. Compared to the surroundings (and in general) the prize is really worth it. I was not able to find something comparable closeby. Plenty of nice hikes around as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niko S
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We love this place near Piha beach . The place is beautiful nice kitchen full of light bedroom clean, comfortable bed, the hote was perfect with kindness. We appreciate the oudoor too with comfortable chair and a nice view on the forest.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kallie100
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 October 2015

The accommodation and location are really nice, but we felt unable to use the shared kitchen & living facilities due to the TV. It was constantly on while we were there - all afternoon and evening. Very loud volume and very unsuitable for kids due to the types of films being watched - bad language & violence. Obviously people are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debnz2015
PihaAccommodation, Owner at Piha Beachstay Accommodation, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. This feedback is valuable to improving our service. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay due to the loud TV and I agree that this is unacceptable. We actually do have a no noise policy after 11pm.. It is difficult to enforce and I do rely on peoples own consideration for...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 October 2015

The place is clean, people are friendly and the location and surroundings are wonderful. Very well equipped kitchen. Good indoor-outdoor flow, you can get out in to the garden straight from your room. Highly Recommended. Thanks. Derek M.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank memenz123
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 October 2015

A thoroughly disappointing stay. I too was at the Piha Beachstay the weekend of their power outage however the problem wasn’t the outage itself, but the poor attitude from staff toward guests and blatant disregard for looking after those onsite. Following the outage candles were lit and this was about all. When asking for information on how to best treat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachaelWalker
PihaBeachstay, Owner at Piha Beachstay Accommodation, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect and you felt the need to rate your stay so poorly. I also note that we received 3 "terrible" reviews from your group regarding this visit. I feel it necessary to respond and outline the facts for other guests reading these reviews. Firstly, yes there was a major power outage...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We stayed here several months ago on what we expected to be a relaxing weekend away for a small group. Unfortunately, just after dinner the power to the area was cut and we therefore didn't have lighting, heating or running water until the following day. Whilst not the staff's fault that there was an outage, the way in which it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank csjackson2015
PihaBeachstay, Owner at Piha Beachstay Accommodation, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect and you felt the need to rate your stay so poorly. I also note that we received 3 "terrible" reviews from your group regarding this visit. I feel it necessary to respond and outline the facts for other guests reading these reviews. Firstly, yes there was a major power outage...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We were super excited to stay here as we were in much need of a weekend away. The power went out which obviously the accommodation couldn't help BUT they had no back-up systems so there was no power our entire stay, there was no running water and no steps in place for drinking water (water coolers etc). The staff behaved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allieharrison23
PihaBeachstay, Owner at Piha Beachstay Accommodation, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect and you felt the need to rate your stay so poorly. I also note that we received 3 "terrible" reviews from your group regarding this visit. I feel it necessary to respond and outline the facts for other guests reading these reviews. Firstly, yes there was a major power outage...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piha
8.1 km away
Auckland's Waitakere Estate, Heritage Boutique Collection
27.9 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
1,056 reviews
27.4 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Lyons Rock Bed and Breakfast
6.7 km away
Bethells Beach Cottages
Bethells Beach Cottages
#1 of 2 in Te Henga (Bethells Beach)
117 reviews
3.4 km away
Lone Kauri Lodge
Lone Kauri Lodge
#1 of 2 in Karekare
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique guest lodge at Piha Beach. Great location, close to everything in Piha. Bunkrooms, private rooms and en-suite bathrooms. Off street parking, surfing swimming, bushwalks sunsents and sunshine. Often the best things in life are free! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Piha Beachstay Accommodation

Address: 38 Glenesk Road | Piha Beach, Piha 0772, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Piha
Price Range: $35 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Piha Beachstay Accommodation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Piha Beachstay Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Piha Beachstay Accommodation staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Piha Beachstay Accommodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The dorm is great as there's such an amazing common room to hang out in! All the rooms also have deck access so nobody misses out”
 of 5 bubbles philgale91, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Double rooms are at end away from dorm room, though the place was so quiet at night I'd have been just as happy in the dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a twin which could actually sleep four. Ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles inspectormermaid, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“go with rooms that open to the back, not to the side.”
 of 5 bubbles pip_sarah, 14 May 2016 | Read review
“twin room had perfect veiws”
 of 5 bubbles 691drc, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay