We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wetton
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We stayed here for the second time in November. Delightful comfortable old vicarage. Cakes and tea on arrival. Nicky the host is very welcoming and happy to advise on walks, pubs, places to visit. Everything is very clean. Excellent breakfasts. Fantastic walks. We will be back later in the year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5SJN
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi and thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us. It is great that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed meeting you. Ive just been out doing some new walks to put in the B&B in the sunshine and wind and can't wait for Spring to come. Would be great to see...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Old Vicarage- a beautiful location as there are a variety of lovely walks from the door and a pub serving good food at the end of the drive. Nicky was a great host - friendly, welcoming and very helpful, booking us places to eat in advance. The room was lovely and breakfasts delicious with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1806Diane
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Diane Thanks for taking the time to write a review and I am SO glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have just finished our latest batch of Marmalade so hopefully 2017 will be a good vintage! Thanks also for recommending us that is always the best way for people to hear about us. Many of our guests from the...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

My wife and I had a lovely couple of nights at Wetton vicarage. Nicky was very accommodating and friendly. Fantastic breakfast and homemade cakes and jams. A lovely stay and would thoroughly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Nick Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review for The Old Vicarage Country House. I am so glad that you both enjoyed your stay and would recommend us as after all that is how we get to meet many of our guests. It is a beautiful but chilly day here today and we hope to see...

Juan-les-Pins, France
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Room was really cosy and clean, the bathroom a tight squeeze! We only stayed one night but squeezed in a long walk followed by dinner in a village pub a few miles away. It's worth coming here for the breakfasts alone! Homemade jams.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolineEstie
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Caroline Hi and thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for The Old Vicarage Country House. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and sorry it wasn't any longer but great that you managed to get a walk in too as the countryside here is so beautiful. Our en-suite bathrooms are all of different...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Lovely room ( although en suite a little snug) with views across fields. Excellent welcome with tea and homemade cake in garden.Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Next to village pub for good beer and meals and fabulous walks on the doorstep. Not to be missed as nothing too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nelly202
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi and thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you made use of some of the walks straight from our door - including the 2 minute walk to the pub in the village! Our rooms and en-suites are all quite individual and varying...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

My husband and I had a most memorable stay here for all the right reasons. Set in a very picturesque location, The Old Vicarage is filled with echoes of a bygone age, with the bonus of all modern comforts. It has been exceptionally well restored with sensitivity and respect to the origins of the house, and has been furnished with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _janayafest
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Jan Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed meeting you both. We have just been restoring the original deeds from 1842 from The Chatsworth Estate so am really pleased that you enjoyed the restoration of the house (which is...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

The old vicarage country house was absolutely beautiful as we drove up to it. Inside was as gorgeous as it was outside. Fantastic, warm and welcoming host Nicola, food was lovely, and the home made cake was a favourite for my girlfriend. With a lovely pub at the end of the drive it was a real pleasure. With gorgeous country...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slickrick085
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi guys Great to hear from you and thanks SO much for taking the time to write a review for us - even greater thanks for your kind words! It means everything to us that our guests enjoy their stay as that is, after all, why we are here! Just off for a walk now into the hills! We look...

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We stayed here between Christmas and new year. The house is lovely and full of character in a quiet location. There are walks you can do from the house. There is also a good local pub a few minutes walk away. Breakfast was fine and Nicky the owner is friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G L
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Gary Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review for The Old Vicarage. We do appreciate it! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Take care and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Nicky

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Stayed here in October 2016. The only one down side was I LOVE a bath and unfortunately it doesn't have one but apart from that a perfect stay. Breakfast was delicious, lovely room and super comfy bed! I would definitely recommend The Old Vicarage and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, in fact I'm hoping to stay in The LittleVicarage...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cherylk642016
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Cheryl Hi and thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for The Old Vicarage Country House. We are SO sorry that we don't have a bath! We have looked in to it but its just not feasible at this stage due to the house plumbing system so we do have FAB showers! Was great to see...

Reviewed 16 February 2017

A lovely, old vicarage in a beautiful corner of the Derbyshire dales..... We stayed here for a weekend in late 2016 and have returned for more. The house is gorgeous, a beautifully furnished vicarage in Wetton, a tiny out of the way village with a hearty pub, a church and and an eccentric communal tea shop. Around it is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Nick Hi and thanks so much for your great review of The Old Vicarage Country House. You can certainly put pen to paper - I may have to recruit you to write a word or two when we do a new website! Anyway I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed meeting you. I...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetton
5.7 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
5.3 km away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
856 reviews
17.0 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
281 reviews
3.9 km away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
804 reviews
2.1 km away
Stanshope Hall
Stanshope Hall
#79 of 165 in Peak District National Park
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautiful Country House is set in over an acre of secluded gardens in the heart of the peak District National Park. Originally built by The Chatsworth Estate, The Old Vicarage has been lovingly restored and offers a home from home full of character and charm,in the pretty stone village of Wetton. With literally dozens of walks and cycle rides straight from the door and a traditional pub only 2 minutes walk, it is a great base to explore this picturesque area. Wake up to the aroma of Nicky's freshly baked breads served with organic home made jams and a tasty freshly grilled breakfast. We are also ideally located for exploring the pretty marker towns of Ashbourne, Bakewell and Buxton and the many National Trust properties in the area as well as Chatsworth House and Alton Towers. As featured in August Edition of Countryfile Magazine!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Wetton | Ashbourne, Wetton, Peak District National Park DE6 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Wetton
Price Range: $52 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tranquility, olde worldy charm, very well laid out. Book in advance though as this gold mine will sell out promptly in future!”
paulbV4719IF, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are very pleasant, clean and beautifully furnished.”
elizabethbW7297ZL, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good and have lovely views”
christineg580, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was quiet/peaceful, located at the front of the Vicarage and private drive.”
73carolp, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“One room has an ensuite bathroom with bath, two have smaller shower ensuites. There is a king size bed option too.”
TravelTrishWA, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5