Bruce Rock Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bruce Rock Hotel

30 Johnson St, Bruce Rock, Western Australia 6418 Australia
Traveller (5)
Toilet
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

2.5
#1 of 1 small hotel in Bruce Rock
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Bruce Rock Hotel Open Monday - Wednesday 3pm till close, Thursday - Sunday 11.30am till close. Based in the heart of the town, along the beautiful main street, our small country town hotel will keep you happy. From the friendly locals and staff to the amazing food and bar service, your stay here will be one that you will enjoy. Restaurant is open for Lunch Thursday through Sunday from 12pm to 2 pm and dinner is open from 5pm to 8pm daily. We have 6 En-suite Motel Rooms with free parking and a short distance walk from our Bar and Restaurant. Our Staff and Management aim to maintain and ensure that your stay here is enjoyable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Highchairs available
Meeting rooms
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Room features
Air conditioning
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
14Reviews0Q+A1Room tip

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
  • 3
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
tikitraveler999 wrote a review Oct 2010
Perth, Australia4 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It is just a place to stay overnight when traveling between towns, it is cold in winter and the little bar heater does not work well enough to keep the room warm. The management own a shop adjacent to the rooms (5 meters away)and there is a inherent lack of privacy there (country stares at city folk). Drive the extra hour and stay somewhere at a town nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2010
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julie K, Owner at Bruce Rock Hotel
Responded 19 June 2018
In response to the above review - looking at the photos provided and the reference to the shop adjacent to the rooms, this is not actually The Bruce Rock Hotel - the rooms have never looked like this and we do not have a shop. It is likely that this is another business.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judy K wrote a review Oct 2011
13 contributions11 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Has recent paint job but that's about all. Beds are old and baggy.
Quiet though because out the back of the pub. No room service and I reckon I could have stayed another night and no one would know.
Better digs than the bed and brekky up the road.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanne G wrote a review Mar 2017
Perth, Australia59 contributions22 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Called into the Bruce Rock Hotel for a drink or two.
Was hassled badly by mosquitos.
They where landing in our drinks, flying around us and even landed a few bites.
Decided to try again for dinner, even more Mosquitos, table top had 4 or 5 dead one's on it.
Had the steak sandwich, salad and chips, which we halved, steak rock hard and cold, chips salty as.
Hubby had the burger which we also halved, his was hot but my half fell apart worse burger to date.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maynooth wrote a review July 2021
Perth, Australia39 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I had surf and turf and my wife had a baby parmi.
The steak was absolutely perfect, and they were very generous with the prawns. I thoroughly enjoyed my meal and would definitely return.
My wife said that the baby parmi was really good and, because she has a smaller appetite, she was delighted that the offered the smaller option.
The staff were also delightful.
This is assuredly a country pub, and a very good example of the genre.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary F wrote a review May 2022
Halls Creek, Australia66 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
New owners. Called in on Tuesday 10th May 22, just after midday to get some booze. Welcoming staff and I decided to get some lunch. Ordered the special garlic prawns, and they were delicious, accompanied with tasty rice and a very nice salad. Had a good chat and I will be be calling in when travelling thru. Very soon barista coffee will be available. Great to experience old fashion hospitality and friendliness in a pub. I will be making the pub a point of call.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Noel F wrote a review Dec 2022
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
With local changes there is always good that comes from it.
Change in management
Change in the menu & good quality freshly cooked meals.
Great when someone cares about the food they cook & ensure those dining are happy when they leave.

If your in the area, passing through or staying overnight drop in & check out the menu.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ross M wrote a review July 2021
Perth, Australia1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is the biggest dump I have been to in a long time. My Colleague and I stopped for dinner while on a work trip in the area. There is a sign behind the bar which says something like "respect our staff if you want us to respect you". Alarm bells should have sounded when I read this, as clients we got very poor service and witnessed another client abused because of the brand of smokes he wanted to buy. This place needs new ownership/management as such attitudes will not attract visitors to the Town, where many businesses are doing a great job.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mimosabella wrote a review Dec 2014
2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Great town but that accommodation is disgusting.
We did not expect anything flash but this place was a shocker..From the spiders, webs and dirty old earplugs over the floor it went from bad to worse. We had to fix the bathroom door ourselves as it wouldn't close, had to ask for the bed to be made and a top sheet for the bed.
We were told that's how they make the beds..
How many sweaty bodies have been under those doonas? Seeing as the air con didn't work and it was 42 degrees we couldn't wait to get out of there! If I could give it no stars I would have.
Wouldn't be surprised if the place had bed bugs
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve G wrote a review Oct 2013
Perth, Australia332 contributions40 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were booked in for 1 night before heading back to Perth. We entered the Hotel at around 4pm and could not find anyone around to check us in, we ventured to the front bar to find someone and still no one around. The place looked dirty and the smell was terrible. Very old beer and almost urine type smell. The place looked very run down. My travelling companion and I looked at each other and instantly decided to not stay and drive back to Perth that afternoon. It's a pity as you can get some lovely regional hotel/pubs around the regions of WA.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harry H wrote a review Apr 2016
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not expect anything fancy with the accommodation and you'll be fine. A basic room with tv and alarm clock & a noisy refrigerator will greet you. Tea coffee sugar & milk is supplied but if you run out you'll have to go into the Hotel to request some as during my 5 nights stay my room wasn't cleaned my bed wasn't made nor my towels changed. A run down room with plenty of mosquitoes to keep you awake all night. The bar staff are friendly enough all of whom are on working holidays & the meals are reasonably priced & a decent serving but if your planning on staying I'd in Bruce Rock be prepared for a substandard room?
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
MaeandPeter wrote a tip Sept 2016
Perth, Australia18 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Motel rooms if like the one we got are not up to scratch."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bruce Rock area.
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaBruce Rock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BRUCE ROCK HOTEL: Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bruce Rock Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bruce Rock Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bruce Rock Mosaic Pathway (0.1 km), Bruce's Rock (6.9 km), and Bruce Rock Federation Amphitheatre (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bruce Rock Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Bruce Rock Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bruce Rock Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Bruce Rock Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bruce Rock Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brews Rock Cafe, Woodstock Colonial Cafe, and Campbell Schilling.
Is Bruce Rock Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Bruce Rock.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bruce Rock Hotel?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.