We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Moon Water Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Moon Water Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Moon Water Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 39: English reviews
Cairns
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Although the view is spectacular, the noise of the highway right next to the room is overbearing..even with all the windows closed. As another review says, you can see the view from the restaurant or even the car park.By far the worst but most expensive place we have stayed whilst on the island. I would not recommend staying here...find somewhere... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Avrilla
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this review

I am so sorry the noise from the highway kept you awake. There are definitely rooms that are quieter than others, in particular, the lower level rooms as they are guarded from the road noise. We do our best to offer a suggestion of suitable rooms when we chat with our booking guests. Again, I am sorry your stay was... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2016

The view from the room WAS spectacular. Yet that is where the satisfaction finished. Filthy carpets andnot well equipt. We tried to change rooms to another room with clean carpets yet alternate room was also dirty. There was a coffee machine yet not coffee, There were teabags yet no kettle, there was a TV yet only one comfey chair to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tony T
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this review

As always, we appreciate all reviews. We did our best to explain the carpets were being replaced...they were recently steam cleaned and the room was indeed clean. Very sorry that we missed filling the coffee supplies with coffee; I trust the fresh cream in the fridge and the sugar choices and tea selections were acceptable. We did our best to... More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. This lodge is what I would classify as a Boutique hotel. There are currently 11 rooms available that range from 400 sf rooms with queen or king beds to loft style suites. All of the rooms face east and overlook Finlayson Arm. The lodge is 5 or 600 feet above sea... More 

Helpful?
Thank HXL
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this review

What an amazing review; thank you so much for taking the time to write it! More 

canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2016

My husband and I have stayed at the Moon Water Lodge twice now. It is such a beautiful location. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean. Beds are extremely comfie and the view from the private balcony is breakthtaking.

Helpful?
Thank Mxmum117
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this review

I am so happy you had a great experience. Thanks for taking the time to write this great review. More 

1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a spontaneous trip It was a great stay. Beautiful view, amazing layout, great efficient owners! The soaker tub was also amazing and very relaxing Loved my stay we will definitely be back! Hopefully soon!

Helpful?
Thank Kimberli M
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this review

Spontaneous trips are so fun! Thanks for including us in your get away and for taking the time to write this review. More 

Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2016

My father passed away in January and I flew back to P.E.I. for the funeral. My husband decided to book us a room at the Moon Water Lodge so that I would not have the added extra travel back to Nanaimo after such a long flight and emotional journey. He had already checked in and had sushi and a bottle... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Stunning view, the soaker tub is right in front of the window overlooking the inlet. The moon shines bright through the whole place. Romantic, clean, perfect loft bedroom. They even have smart TVs. The restaurant next door is phenomenal with a range of choices and the same great view.

Helpful?
Thank Olivia R
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for a night at the lodge for our anniversary/Valentine's day. Views were fantastic, staff super friendly and the food was excellent! Room could of been a bit cleaner for that price, (dust bunnies/crumbs were left forgotten on the bar) not a deal breaker for us, I clean houses so I may be pickyer then most!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kayla B
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2016

We arrived late in the evening in the rain. We were able to to get a room at a reasonable rate and the check in was simple and friendly at the restaurant next door. The room was a very good size with a fabulous view, it was warm and clean with plenty of towels for the hot tub. The restaurant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pierregy
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Great views of the Saanich inlet, which were particularly beautiful at sunrise. Room was clean and very comfortable. We did not use the tub, but it looked amazing. Fireplace made the room cozy and homey. Owners were fantastic and went very much out of their way to ensure a great stay! Restaurant next door was convenient and very good (also... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Laura K

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahat
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 53 in Victoria
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 53 in Victoria
936 reviews
Malahat Bungalows Motel
#2 of 2 in Malahat
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NEW OWNERS APRIL 2014! We are a west-coast style, boutique hotel, located near the top of the historic, Malahat Drive on Vancouver Island. Overlooking the Saanich Inlet, you will be taken a world away from the routine of day to day life. Beautiful British Columbia encapsulated; mountains, ocean, birds, orcas, trees, all right outside your window. Drink in the sunrise along with your morning coffee; then settle in for the evening and watch, as the moon rises in the night sky and its reflection is mirrored by the calm waters below. Each room boasts a large, two person soaker tub, with nothing between you and the great outdoors except a large, picture window! Turn on the gas fireplace, pour yourself a drink and take some time to relax, rejuvenate and restore! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moon Water Lodge

Address: 265 Trans-Canada Highway, Malahat, British Columbia V0R 2L0, Canada (Formerly Malahat Mountain Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Malahat
Price Range: $201 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moon Water Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malahat Mountain Hotel Malahat
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moon Water Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Berwick, Nova Scotia, Canada
Vancouver Island, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Moon Water Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 10 is noisy. Could here the people above walking around and filling the bath tub. I think a top room would be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles sydney081, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had room 10. If it was not for the fan on the portable air conditioner we would have heard traffic noise . The view was awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles debra54, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms by the highway so in terms of noise nothing good.”
 of 5 bubbles Avrilla, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“The top floor are loft suites. The south corner rooms look like they can get hot in the summer. The middle rooms are best for me.”
 of 5 bubbles HXL, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a magnificent view!”
 of 5 bubbles 848WendyF, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay