Villa Eyrie Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Villa Eyrie Resort

600 Ebadora Lane, Malahat, British Columbia V0R 2L0 Canada
Traveller (315)
Room & Suite (136)
Dining (38)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 resort in Malahat
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Rated as having one of the best views in all of Canada, the Villa Eyrie Resort is a tranquil mountaintop hotel that's only 30 minutes from Victoria, British Columbia. With panoramic views of Saanich Inlet and Finlayson Arm, this luxurious 36-room resort offers exquisite fine dining at Alpina Restaurant as well as a sophisticated wine program focusing on the best of the province. Also on property is the full-service Tuscan Spa and an indoor pool while every room is somewhat unique in design, with most featuring spacious balconies, in-room fireplaces, soaker tubs and plenty more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Valet parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
326Reviews8Q+A88Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 226
  • 43
  • 32
  • 13
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
canuckfamily5 wrote a review Aug 2020
Sooke, Canada56 contributions74 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I really went back and forth with what to rate this hotel. Initially I was going to give it only two stars for the reasons I will list below but the manager really came through for us so I had to give it a higher rating because of that. To start on a positive, this hotel is beautiful. The grounds, the rooms and especially the views are breathtaking. I have been all over the world and this hotel takes the number one spot for views. The staff were all really great especially Jeff in the restaurant who talked me down from a bit of a panic when I got an emergency phone call from home. Our waitress was also wonderful but I did not get her name. The biggest issue we had with our room was that the air conditioning did not work. It was on, it was pumping out semi-cool air but the room is so big and the bed so far away from the aircon unit that nothing was reaching us. The room was 31.5C when we got there and 6 hours later it was still 28 degrees. We even had someone come and look at it and he pushed a button and said it would get cooler but it never did. It made for a very long, very uncomfortable sleep on what was the hottest day of the year. We didn't have much a view from our room but we were forced to close all the curtains to keep the sun out and try to cool it down a bit. That forced us to sit in dark gloomy room with nothing to look at but closed curtains. This morning the room was down to 25C but still really muggy and I think that temp was due more to the cooler outside air than anything the air conditioning was doing. We asked if they had any fans and they said they did not. My other issue is that they are still charging a "resort" fee. They said that fee includes the pool, parking and wifi. The pool is closed due to Covid, the wifi wasn't working in my room at all and the parking is advertised at free on both their website and all the hotel booking websites. It seems a bit deceptive and unfair to charge a resort fee for things that are generally free at most other hotels. Especially considering the pool is closed. I do want to acknowledge the manger that we spoke with (I can't remember her name) was very understanding and not only removed the resort fee but gave us a deep discount on the price of the room. I was not expecting that and found it to be a very generous gesture. And its for that reason that I will rate this hotel higher than I would have. I also want to say the the restaurant and its staff were excellent and the food was exceptional. Its the first restaurant I've been to that was able to cook my steak exactly the way I like it. We will definitely go to the restaurant agan and may even stay at the hotel again but probably go in the spring or fall when its cooler and air conditioning won't be necessary. This was an anniversary/birthday celebration for my husband and I. If it wasn't for the uncomfortably hot room it would would have been an enjoyable night away from the kids but unfortunately it wasn't.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Villa Eyrie Resort
Responded 19 Dec 2020
Thank you canuckfamily5 for your review! We apologize for the issues with the air conditioner in your room and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LeilaniL wrote a review Sept 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a classic room for Sep 25 -27 2020 to visit family in the area. Our room did not have a view, but we were fine with that. I love that each villa has its own entrance so there is no mingling with others during this pandemic. It was spotlessly clean. I brought my own sanitizer but only used it on the door handles and light switches for my own piece of mind. The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious.

We ate breakfast in the dining room twice and as we were early, very few others were there. The eggs benedict are to die for and we had the best table in the house with a fantastic view. Could have stared out there for hours. We also went to the dining room for dessert on Saturday night and thouroughly enjoyed it. The staff everywhere were top notch. Can't say enough about them.

Be sure to tip the staff generously as they provide excellent service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room so were in the villas furthest away from the common areas. Very happy...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Villa Eyrie Resort
Responded 18 Dec 2020
Thank you LeilaniAndGreg for your wonderful 5-star review! We are very happy to hear about your experience and we have shared your kind words with the Villa Eyrie team. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CharlieNanooseBay wrote a review Jan 2022
Nanoose Bay70 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can't believe I've lived on Vancouver Island most my life and didn't know this Jem of a resort was so close!

We were fortunate enough to stay in one of the Villa Cielo Suites. It was absolutely gorgeous!! The view is spectacular, above the clouds looking out over the straight. The room was very spacious and updated. It reminded me of a Tuscan retreat. We stayed for 3 nights and after the 2nd night we woke to snow. It made us a little nervous leaving the resort (as our suite was at the top of the mountain, a little drive away from the restaurant/spa and main reception) so we called for room service, hoping that they would be able to reach us and they brought up a lovely breakfast from the restaurant. We enjoyed having a snow day as we are always on the go! Little downfall was the cable - not many channels to chose from, especially when snowed in, lol.

They really thought of their clients, right down to having binoculars to watch the beautiful eagles flying above.
Thank you for doing your part in saving thousands of kilograms of plastic by using refillable dispensing units in the shower for shampoo, conditioner and body wash!

The restaurant was lovely. We had breakfast twice there and enjoyed it both times! The view from the restaurant is just as nice as the one from our suite.

The front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming upon check in and check out. The housekeeping staff were very thoughtful and stopped vacuuming when we entered the resort. The housekeeping staff gets a big shout out for keeping the suites and resort clean and tidy!!

I would stay again and recommend this resort to everyone! It's a beautiful place to stay and needs to be recognized for such a pleasant resort.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Villa Eyrie Resort
Responded 27 Jan 2022
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with others! It truly is a winter wonderland when it snows at the resort and the views from Villa Cielo are magnificent! Thank you for recognizing the environmental efforts we have in place and for your shout-out to our hardworking housekeeping team! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ddk wrote a review Oct 2020
Dundas, Canada6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I originally booked a suite in March for a three day getaway from home (Ontario). COVID-19 resulted in our flights being cancelled and so we rebooked for October. The villa is promoted as a 5 star luxury boutique hotel. We did not experience 5 star service or amenities. We were told upon checkin that there wouldn’t be any housekeeping services or room service due to Covid. If there was something we needed, we could ask for it and we could go down to reception to pick it up. If we wanted linens or towels or if we wanted dishes removed from our suite, we were to leave them outside our room and call reception to let them know. Our glass table had crumbs and wine glass rings on it and our tiny tray had crumbs on it. We gathered all dishes and placed them on the floor outside our room and requested replenishments. We told reception when and how long we would be out and were told they would look after our request. Upon our return, there were fresh dishes on our coffee table as requested, but neither the table nor the tray had been wiped clean of crumbs or spots. The hardwood floors need sweeping and the bathroom and one bedroom need tissues. Neither bedroom has a mirror in it. The larger bedroom has an armoire with no shelves or bar with hangers so there is no where to unpack your clothes. The restaurant is stripped of all linens and centrepieces (flowers, candles). We understand Covid safety practices necessitate changes and great care in sanitizing practices; however, there are many small, inexpensive ways to offer and deliver a 5 star experience. Examples: Take a moment to sanitize the table in our suite and leave the plate with a piece of fruit or package of spiced nuts or a package of local, gourmet chocolate or baked treat or bottle of Perrier or SOMETHING as a token for the lost luxuries. We paid the full, 5 star price and got 3 star service and amenities.
The breakfast was delicious and up to 5 star standard but the coffee was not. We will NOT recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Villa Eyrie Resort
Responded 18 Dec 2020
Thank you dvalley for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear about the deficiencies you mentioned and we will do our best to improve ourselves in those areas. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your delicious breakfast and we hope you will return to give the resort another try in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mariah M wrote a review Sept 2020
7 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We got married back in March and due to covid were not able to have a honeymoon. We were so looking forward to this 3 night stay as our "staycation" honeymoon as the pictures of the resort look so luxurious and beautiful! We counted down the days where we could finally relax & explore this beautiful resort. Apon arrival staff was welcoming and friendly. I had splurged a bit and got the charcuterie add-on for us & was slightly disappointed in the stale bread and it just didn't look like the pictures. The room was "tidy" although for a luxury resort there was some long hairs on the couch cushion and some hairs and dust on the trim in the bathroom. Unfortunately (through no fault of the hotel) our WHOLE 4 day 3 night stay was clouded by thick wildfire smoke... I mention this because I specifically paid a extra to upgrade to a room with a view! I feel like what makes the hotel so special is the breathtaking view! I was so looking forward to getting some footage for my YouTube channel and some amazing pictures but I could hardly see past the parking lot! I was also confused about the "resort fee" applied to our bill as there was no turndown service & the pool wasn't open (due to covid). It was a totally unexpected cost. We dined at the Alpine restaurant once and the service was top notch and food was brought to us fast, I did find it slightly pricey, but again, I feel like part of the luxury of the place is the view (which was not there).

All in all I have no problem dishing out a little extra for an exceptional place. I was hoping this would be the first of an annual trip for us but was slightly disappointed. I understand covid is taking its toll on businesses so I tried to be understanding of the situation but it just felt like we spent alot of money & didn't get alot in return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Villa Eyrie Resort
Responded 18 Dec 2020
Thank you 316mariahm for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to hear you found the staff welcoming and friendly throughout the resort. We hope to welcome you back to the resort when you can enjoy the beautiful view!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane E wrote a review Jan 2021
Jerusalem5 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Villa Eyrie for 2 nights in December, in a junior suite to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our accommodation was a huge disappointment.

The suite had a six sided area for the bed, open to a sitting area with a sofa and 2 chairs and a TV. A two person tub, accessed by 3 stairs, was set in a nook beside a closet.

The sleeping area had a king bed, but was designed for a smaller bed. As a result, the bed was pushed against one end of the wall and there was only room for one bedside table. There was a TV on one wall, but it was parallel to the bed. A very odd, cobbled together arrangement.

Similarly in the living area, the TV and the one floor lamp, were placed at an end wall, with the sofa facing in another direction.

There were 2 baseboard heaters and a gas fireplace in the suite - only one baseboard heater was working.

In the bathroom, a shampoo/conditioner/body wash dispenser in the shower has replaced individual bottles. The body wash compartment was empty and there was only half a roll of toilet paper left when we checked in and no additional roll. There is only one towel bar in the entire bathroom; no hooks or additional towel bars to dry your towels. The plugs in the sinks did not stay closed. My husband, to keep water in the sink while he shaved, had to get on his knees and tighten the unit from under the sink. It was an easy adjustment but not one a guest should be required to make.

There was a closet with rods and hangers but no drawers or shelves or dressers to place your clothes - guests are left to live out of their suitcases in this "luxury" resort.

Our dining experience was more positive; the food was excellent. The attention to basic hygiene however, was lacking. When I used the washroom during dinner, the washroom was out of hand towels and the garbage bin was completely full. I let the staff know about the hand towels and when my husband later used the washroom, the hand towels had been replenished but the garbage bin remained full to the brim.

I sent a detailed email to the Villa Eyrie after our visit and spoke with their customer service representative. The staff person was very pleasant and acknowledged that our stay had fallen short of their standards and agreed that the furniture and tv placement in our unit did not make sense. She offered us a complimentary night at the Villa in a different room but we have declined this offer.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Villa Eyrie Resort
Responded 21 Jan 2021
Dear Ms. Erickson, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us as well as others. As per our conversations, should you have let us know about your disappointments with the room while you were here, we could have had the opportunity to rectify the situation immediately by offering another room category that was more suitable to your needs. As all of our rooms are unique, with not one room being the same as the other and so vastly different with decor, we are confident we would have had a room that met your expectations. This is the first complaint we have ever heard about the room you stayed in, in fact, it's one most guests request and come back for. It saddens our entire team that you did not enjoy your time with us at the Villa Eyrie Resort. We pride ourselves in offering the highest level of service to all of our guests but we also understand we may not be a property for everyone. All the best in your future travels. The Villa Eyrie team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nvman wrote a review Apr 2022
North Vancouver, Canada26 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Villa Eyrie is located in a secluded area but with quick access to the highway so it makes it easy to explore the southern end of Vancouver Island.

We had a pleasant surprise on how beautiful is the resort. The room is very clean and comfortable, the food in the restaurant is good and the view is spectacular. But what most impressed us of all, were the A + guest services.

When we arrived, we didn’t realize that we needed to climb about 40 steps to get to our room, when we voiced our concern with Samantha, she immediately solved our problem without doubt by moving us to a room where there were no stairs. We were very grateful for her understanding. And it was not just Samantha but all the front desk staff that helped with us with a few other small things.

The rooms are spotlessly clean. The bar fridges are located in cabinets or a closet so you don’t hear that annoying hum. The bathroom fan is on a switch so you can turn it off at night. They provide a Nespresso coffee maker and a high quality tea with real creamers, not the artificial stuff. Extra supplies are available at the front desk.

The restaurant is good and has an excellent view. The service is generally very good. We only had one time where the service was less than what we expected. I think it was just the one server that was not very attentive to details.

We will certainly be back and will recommend Villa Eyrie to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Enquire about accessibility if someone has limited mobility.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Villa Eyrie Resort
Responded 18 May 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers and we will be sure to share your sentiments with Samantha and the rest of the Villa Eyrie Resort team. We are delighted to hear we were able to find a solution to your concerns during your stay. We pride ourselves on providing impeccably clean accommodations and quality guest services and we are so pleased you enjoyed both. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for recommending us to your friends and family.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johannamva wrote a review July 2022
Vancouver, Canada69 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a delightful 2 nights stay in a spacious 2 bedroom suite with impressive housekeeping in the Cielo building .
When we entered our room we were overwhelmed by the spectacular view from our very large picture windows,furnished Tuscan style with a huge comfortable bed.
We were a group of 3 and I was concerned about the one bathroom, however it was spacious with a tub, walk in shower and door on the toilet room, plenty of counter and shelving space with two counter sinks.
I would like to mention that there is no elevator,instead 2or 3 flights of stairs ,not an issue for us.
Good coffee and real cream supplied for the Nespresso machine. The small fridge was large enough for your own snacks and was stocked with small bottles of water.
There is also a large walk in closet ...plenty of room for luggage.
The hotel location is remote ...a positve aspect... one should be aware that the Alpina restaurant at the resort is the only nearby restaurant option.
We had a lovely dinner at the Alpina, we also ventured out to dine elsewhere as we explored this beautiful area of B.C.
We highly reccomend a visit to the world class Malahat Skywallk which is a 10 minute drive from the Vila.
The only negative for us was a soundproofing issue, the floors are wooden so we could hear the guests above us walking around, unfortunately they were a restless pair wearing higheels..
A note to management we felt that a 10 am check out was too early.
Our friends will be booking with you!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Villa Eyrie Resort
Responded 11 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and the area. Villa Cielo is truly an exceptional experience and we are happy you had a great stay! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra-Sophia wrote a review June 2020
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada77 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to COVID 19 crisis, we were delighted to learn that this wonderful hotel had just re-opened in time for us to celebrate a special wedding anniversary. Plus with a special price being offered for May re-opening, it was amazing value and a huge treat. On arrival, the hotel had worked hard to ensure social distancing signage was everywhere. The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming. The restaurant staff explained that their normal 120 seated space was now limited to 50, including staff. Our junior suite was delightful. Very clean, everything seemed brand new with bathrobes and other facilities. Complimentary soft drinks were available in the fridge and we loved the Nespresso coffee. There were great touches like the use of binoculars to observe the Eagles and birds of prey outside. Our servers (we especially appreciated the care and advice given to us by KK - sorry forgot his name) in the restaurant were wearing masks and working hard to stay as socially distant whilst trying to serve our plates and drinks. The food was delicious and of course, the view from the restaurant is awesome overlooking the Finlayson Arm inlet. The weather was great and we had time to visit the nearby lake for a walk and swim. The next morning, we enjoyed breakfast in a practically empty restaurant. Due to COVID 19 the spa and pool were understandably closed. We hope we can return at a later date once this crisis eases further to enjoy the full range of facilities. A perfect place for a special, romantic celebration. Well done staff at Villa Eyrie.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms have good views. The Villa Cielo is a long way from the restaurant up a steep hill.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Villa Eyrie Resort
Responded 19 Dec 2020
Thank you Richard A for your fantastic 5-star review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback on our COVID-19 health protocols. The Tuscan Spa has since reopened for treatments at this time. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JER58 wrote a review June 2021
Blaine20 contributions18 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The views were spectacular, the food at the restaurant was superb and service there was great But the hotel service was mediocre at best.

We were in the top rooms in Villa Cielo. High up in the mountains the view was astounding. Watching the eagles and other birds flying below you was amazingly peaceful.

But the hotel seems to be on a downhill slide. They need a manager that understands when you charge $500 a night guests expect perfection.

The suite would have been superb if a little more care was taken. Scuffed up furniture, stuffing popping out of one of the chairs, an unfinished piece of 2 x6 holding part of the bed up. And cheap toilet paper.

Some of the staff were quite snooty, not truly welcoming. I felt like I was intruding when I had questions and they were doing me a favour by deigning to talk to me, giving me confusing directions and snippy answers to justified questions.

Also - be warned if you have an electric car. They don’t have a proper charger available. Take care to be fully charged and able to get back to Victoria as the only charger they have gives about 3 km an hour and there are others that will need to charge as well. Luckily we were there for 3 days so we managed (between letting others charge) to get enough to get back to town.

Not super impressed. Will go back to the restaurant for the food, service and view but won’t stay there again at those prices with the staff attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Villa Eyrie Resort
Responded 10 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience and valuable feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the views and birds during your stay with us. We take feedback such as you have described very seriously and I would love to learn more about the interactions you had with our team. We pride ourselves on the hospitality service we provide and your experience is certainly not our standard. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at sjohnson@villaeyrie.com The furnishing and fixtures in Villa Cielo are tique which are harder to find these days so sometimes it takes us a while to replace or fix the deficiencies in that building. We are hoping to have an electric vehicle charge station on the property soon and we hope you will give us another chance to show you we can provide you with a truly amazing experience!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Guest S
1 helpful vote
Dear Catherine, We do not offer extensive trails within the resort grounds, but our guests are of course welcome to explore our property with the marked pathways and lighting that is provided. Our surrounding areas of Victoria & Cowichan Valley offer wonderful hiking possibilities, with the closest attraction being Goldstream Provincial Park which backs onto Mount Finlayson. There are many other wonderful options that extend North into the townships of Mill Bay and Duncan, which are about 15-25 minutes from our location if driving. We hope this has assisted you! Kind regards, Guest Services Team
Answer from Rita H
15 contributions7 helpful votes
Hello - my memory is that the ground level rooms have decks and the others have balconies all overlooking the inlet view and mountains.
JTSHOS asked a question June 2018
Indianapolis, Indiana85 contributions10 helpful votes
What options are their for transportation from Victoria without a car?
Answer from Roohi D
Vancouver, Canada52 contributions40 helpful votes
There isnt any transportation like a bus, to/from this place. We did not have a car, but they were very accomodating in dropping/picking us up. Its best to talk directly with the resort and check if they can help you out.
snoel2016 asked a question Sept 2017
Oroville, California14 contributions2 helpful votes
Do you have to take a ferry to get to victoria
Answer from Shiv G
Vancouver, Canada313 contributions65 helpful votes
Yes
Answer from Marianne V
1 contribution
Dear Scott; Thank you for your inquiry! It would be our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. We do have two-bedroom suites that can accommodate families. There is not extra charge for children. Please feel free to contact us at 1.250.856.0188. Kind regards, Marianne
Deana L wrote a tip Mar 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Peaceful and remote location surrounded by natural beauty. "
Read full review
jill p wrote a tip Feb 2024
Duncan, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make reservations to eat in the restaurant, the food is great so it can be quite busy"
Read full review
theytravel wrote a tip Dec 2023
victoria bc22 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The road up is a mountain road. Drivers should be aware."
Read full review
Chris E wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Carefully read everything before hand to make sure you are aware of all hidden fees etc.."
Read full review
Jenny M wrote a tip Sept 2023
Kenmore, Washington33 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There was a drought and the temperatures were high. I will check this before coming to Vancouver island again maybe earlier in the summer or"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Malahat area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$344 - AU$502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandCowichan Valley Regional DistrictMalahat
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILLA EYRIE RESORT: 2024 Prices & Reviews (Malahat, Canada) - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Eyrie Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Eyrie Resort?
Nearby attractions include The Butchart Gardens (5.9 km), Victoria Butterfly Gardens (7.8 km), and Malahat Skywalk (1.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Eyrie Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Villa Eyrie Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Eyrie Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Eyrie Resort?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Eyrie Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens, Cafe Zanzibar, and The Blue Poppy Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa Eyrie Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Villa Eyrie Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Villa Eyrie Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Villa Eyrie Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hatley Park National Historic Site (15.8 km) and Craigflower Manor and Schoolhouse (15.6 km).
Does Villa Eyrie Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars